We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crowded” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Condor's Cross

Condor's Cross
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.00*
and up
Bus from Puno to Chivay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were so lucky to see some Condors! Some were waiting on a big rock to fly off, some others even sailed along the street. All the tourist buses go there, so cleary it was quite crowded.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petra Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    89
    37
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Condors! What More Can You Say??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Are there many sights in this world that compare to the amazing experience of watching these majestic birds rise gracefully from the Colca Canyon, circling and soaring sometimes mere meters from the canyon edge?

We first arrived at Condor Cross at about 4:00 in the afternoon. The condors were soaring in the distance and eventually worked their way down into the canyon, still at quite a distance so we didn't get any real close up views. But we had the entire place to ourselves… not another soul around. It was really special.

After staying the night in Cabanaconde at the Kuntur Wassi hotel (recommended), we walked to a viewpoint for an early morning peek at the canyon. Afterwards, we raced back to Condor Cross to see the condors spiraling up from the canyon. We arrived just in time to see the condors circling at about eye level. It was incredible! About 15 minutes later, they circled out of site and all that was left was about 300 other tourists and 20 or so busses. What a change from the night before! I highly recommend getting there early in the morning to get the most viewing time for the condors, and if you want to have the place to yourself to enjoy the majesty of the canyon, go the night before.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjarmstr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to see condors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

There are some trails along the rim that start here and you can walk around. The scenery is breathtaking. The best time to see condors is when it is warm enough for there to be some thermals in the canyon - if anyone says 8am-10am and they haven't checked the weather, don't believe them. The day we went it was very cloudy in the morning and the condors stayed home until noon when it got warm. Then we saw 8 of them.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 3drules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Early birds see the condors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Yes you have to get up early. Yes the road is rough. But it is a beautiful landscape you travel through and all adds to the anticipation when you get there. We saw 8 condors in about an hour and a half. They are amazing to watch as they wind their way up from the valley to where you are watching. Awesome sight. This is a nice start to what will likely be a long day but nothing good happens easily!

Helpful?
Thank Mattmcgrath41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolute Beauty & Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This view point is an excellent place to submerse yourself in the natural beauty of the Colca Canyon. While it is far from everything, it is well worth the trip. I would suggest staying in Cabanaconde so you don't get rushed there and back by your tour guide/bus. The mornings are usually thronged with other tourists, but the late afternoons are not too bad and also provide excellent views. Since most tour buses/guides come in the morning, the afternoons will be less crowded. Going in the afternoon will probably require a stay in Cabanaconde, which is great. This is not the only place to see condors, but it is certainly the most likely since their nests are closer to here.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aquistbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Condor's Cross also viewed

 
Cabanaconde, Colca Canyon
 

Been to Condor's Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing