We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind and friendly people”
Review of Pachamama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pachamama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked hotel well in advance and had reservations confirmed and a very kind guy Alexandro came to meet us at the station. BUT, on the way to the hotel he has told us that we could not get our rooms because they had some problems and end up overbooked (the owner was away at the moment). The rooms we got instead were really disappointing, not very clean and with shared bathrooms...Next day I told Alexandro that we were unhappy with the accommodation and that we will be moving to another hotel, he took the criticism very well and with lots of understanding and apology. We found another hotel very near by, the hotel was clean so we took the rooms, but sadly had no atmosphere at all. So each day we went back to Pachamama for meals, fun, advices and that became our base. Pachamama includes a very nice and cozy restaurant with great freshly made food, stone oven baked pizzas...

For every advice or when we were organizing our trips around Colca Canyon we would each time go back to Pachamama and Mirko would kindly and friendly offer us advice and organize transport, negotiating with the local guy (he didn't need to do that since we were not their guests and it obviously consumed his time). We had very good time with those guys and Mirko's family and all about the rooms was long forgotten. They made our trip to Cobanaconde and wonderful places we visited around unforgettable!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Vanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We had a double room with private bathroom. It was basic but that reflects the very reasonable price. The room was clean and comfortable, just what we needed after a hard trek into the canyon. We found the owner very helpful especially with the advice he gave us about trekking, seeing the condors and buses. The best bit was the restaurant which was packed but had a great atmosphere. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hostel is ok but nothing special. We paid 40 soles for a basic room with shared bathroom. Room and bathroom were quite clean. The hostel doesn't provide towels, that's a pity. The hostel does provide a hiking map you should defenately use if you want to get lost. Furthermore the hostel is owned by a very friendly guy and it has a very cosy restaurant, that doesn't come very cheap (we paid 80 soles for dinner and a beer) but which has a great atmosphere..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an amazing hostel. I stayed here for 3 nights and would have loved to have stayed more. Luy the owner was very hospitable, and extremely knowledgeable and helpful regarding the hiking in the area. The food was amazing, the pizzas definietly lived up to their reputation and the breakfast was good too. The rooms are basic but have all you need. Yes it is under construction but unless your sitting in your room during the day you shouldn,t notice it.
The communal kitchen is pretty average but its cheap to eat out at the restaurants in town and you,d be missing out if you didn,t have dinner in Pachamamas restaurant.
Get off the tours and go experience what Peru really has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a truly wonderful hostel - a home away from home. Yes, the hostel is currently under renovation, but my room was perfectly cozy. Simple but very clean, and the showers were hot. The staff are truly hospitable and kind; I felt like I was being welcomed into the family. We ate a candelit dinner in their cozy restauarant and enjoyed a simple, hearty meal. The wood-fired pizza was delicious and flavorful. The owner sat down with us after dinner and gave us invaluable, detailed information about trekking into the Colca Canyon on our own. He is incredibly helpful and totally awesome, just like everyone else at Pachamama. Sure, this isn´t the most luxurious hostel I've ever stayed at - but it feels like home and is a true, authentic South American traveling experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerrizle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

we did a reservation in advance, it got confirmed. However, the guy messed it up. He then offered us another room- wet, dirty and overpriced. We decided to go to another place, which turned out to be by far the better option. There are several better places in Cabanaconde.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarahemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pachamamaCabanaconde, Manager at Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

I apologize that we couldnt keep your booking ...we must mention that Pachamama is in renovation and soon we are having new rooms.
For sure there are plenty of good hostels in Cabanaconde such as Kuntur Wasi, Posada del Conde,etc .., but you can not say "stay away" if you didnt stay at Pachamama...Pachamama is a backpacker hostel and prices are 15 sols for a dorm with a breakfast(crepe, egg,breads, local mermelade,tea or coffe as much as you want) and for a double 40 sols for a matrimonial share bath...most people will come to Pachamama for the family atmosphere and most important that you will get hiking information for the canyon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room was clean and ready even thought they had lost our email booking which had been confirmed a week before. Guy there was nice gave us some hints on 4 days in the canyon and the pizza wasn't bad.
BUT, my subsequent night was spent exploding, could have been from anything I ate that day but my money is on the pizza. The shear number of flies in the dinning room during the next day was a poorly timed warning. They also were in the middle of renovation so the peaceful picture on their website of a relaxing hammock was replaced with jack hammering and construction. Hey, sure, you gotta do it sometime but after a rather uncomfortable previous night, I was out of there! Casa de Sanitago was an infinitely better choice for relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markaschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanaconde
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
347 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
21.3 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
20.4 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Arum Qurpawasi
Hostel Arum Qurpawasi
#6 of 10 in Cabanaconde
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama

Address: San Pedro 209 | MZ O-1 Lote 13, Cabanaconde 0051, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Cabanaconde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Cabanaconde
Price Range: $28 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PACHAMAMA BACKPACKER BAR- PIZZERIA. Located in Cabanaconde, Arequipa, at 3287 mts and it is start point for all the hikes into the Canyon. Take a bus from Terminal terrestre Arequipa - Cabanaconde 5hrs. visit us. We work more with independent travelers who are looking for something different to do a trek. We have pelnty of information to make easier your hike. Pachamama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pachamama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing