We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, wonderful time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tryphena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island
Ranked #3 of 5 Tryphena B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Shoal Bay Estate B&B is a great option for those who want to connect to the local community in Great Barrier Island. Val, who runs the B&B with her partner, is an incredibly helpful and generous host. She looks after everyone (even those who are not staying at her place!). The B&B is in a great location looking out to sea on one side and the native bush on the other. The B&B is a large, warm, rambling farm house that has been well restored. It is very comfortable. The best room is the large double bedroom upstairs. Breakfasts involve hearty home cooked food that keeps you running on "local" energy all day. Val rents cars which is very handy as they can help out if you need it, like the time my wife left in the car and I needed to be somewhere, Val kindly said just take the other car outside (at no extra charge). If you do not want to rent a house or camp then this B&B is a superb option. Val gave us very helpful advice on anything we asked about, from fishing to restaurants to places for walking. We had a fantastic time in Great Barrier and hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Large double bedroom upstairs, on right of the building facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narkuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent 8 days here with Val and Francis, they are the most welcoming friendly hosts you will ever find! We took our two children aged 9 and 12 and by the time we left the kids wanted to adopt Val and Francis as grand parents! They B&B is very clean and tidy, the food is AMAZING! It's the best place to eat on the whole island! Ask for a pizza night while your there! Hire cars are available, and kayaks which we used almost everyday! Val and Francis have a wealth of knowledge on the history of the island and local attractions. It's the best family holiday we have had, and we will most certainly be returning annually! Beautiful location and close to calm beaches perfect for the kids. I could go on but ill leave it at that.. Highly recommend Shoal bay estate for your next stay on the island.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best views of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xxxtinakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really recommend this bed and breakfast situated in a peaceful bush clad bay right by the sea .Val and Francis have renovated their house to a very high standard and we especially loved the upstairs deck with sea views and another sheltered deck off the dining room which was ideal for just chilling in the shade Val and Francis are friendly and low key hosts who enjoy making guests feel part of the" family"which adds to the overall holiday atmosphere of the accommodation. Val and Francis keen to advise guests on places to go and things to do and we appreciated their input Be prepared for a less than formal atmosphere regarding meals and general housekeeping but for us this added to the whole holiday feel . Keep it up Val and Francis !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathdunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and me stayed 3 nights in this B&B and had a nice dinner on the first night. The hosts Francis and Val Foreman were friendly. There is very good wifi provided. We stayed upstairs where it was more private.

Room Tip: Upstairs for more privacy. Bathroom is not en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidleehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Lovely place and very friendly and helpful hosts. We were the only visitors on this occasion and were treated to superb hospitality which even included a Island Tour. Even in winter this place has something to offer, I would certainly recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of life on the mainland and experience something different. The house is lovely, the food great and the atmosphere even better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I really enjoyed GBI stay for two nights.Sunny bed room and beautiful view from the window.Val and Francis were very friendly and I could feel like doing home stay.I really spent great time with beautiful beaches,bushes,local small animals and PEOPLE!! Over there life style is very simple but it's actually very rich,because I could feel more closer to nature and people.I definitely want to back to GBI and I will choose Shoal Bay Estate again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyoko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I felt like I was stepping on to another planet right from the moment when the host (Francis) picked us up at the Great Barrier Island ferry terminal. It took all of about three minutes to drive to the charmingly old but modern Bed & Breakfast establishment which held a panoramic view of the bay. My assigned room immediately brought back many of my favorite cottage memories of my former family Island cottage in Canada.

And Francis did everything to make me feel at home without making it feel like he was imposing. I'm an avid hiker and soon discovered that the B & B was an easy walk to some amazing walking trails that criss-crossed throughout the island.

We had a great breakfast of our choosing each morning, and Francis even drove us out to a very popular Irish pub one night for fish and chips.

I could go on and on, but I'll just say that I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island

Address: Shoal Bay, Tryphena, Auckland, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tryphena
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island Tryphena, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing