We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”
Review of The Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Alsager B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kemnay, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of a kind”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the welcome and service was faultless, staff were so friendly you rarely get such brilliant service anywhere these days. While our room could have done with a little updating ( there was a notice about on going renovations) it was clean and restored to original standard every day. The food was home cooked and breakfast was brilliant, can tell its local produce and really is a brilliant standard. Extremely quiet, beautiful location with amp parking onlooking a farm and duck pond. Would recommend it for stay to anyone who is in the area. While a little pricey, once renovations have been done it will be one of a kind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gushet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    60
    15
    16
    16
See reviews for
58
68
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stokesley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

its the 6th time i have stopped there the rooms are spot on the food is just what you look for in a hotel ,its down a quiet lane with a duck pond ,big car park,more like the comforts of home ,
i truly cannot fault it ,at breakfast its like having a meal with the family 100% ile give them every time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went to a family Christening here and it was beautiful, I would definitely come here again for a family meal or to stay. The staff are wonderful and so is the place itself. There is not much i can fault on this place... Everything was great and the day went smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I attended The Old Mill which is surrounded by beautiful countryside and was greeted by fantastic staff who were attentive and very pleasant. The food was outstanding and the restaurant was a perfect place to eat in. I will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We found the mill just by chance and are we glad we did .The staff were very attentive and pleasant .The food was lovely and freshly prepared .We ate in the restaurant which was very nicely done .We will definitely return with a view to stay for a night or two .The surroundings are gorgeous .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had an evening meal at the pub last night.

Yet again, we found the food 1st class, the service attentive and the atmosphere excellent.

I've noticed the other - less complementary reviews (can't comment on the accommodation), but quite honestly, where people have criticised the food, I think they must have eaten at another pub !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night as we were working at the gun dog game fair.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful - went out of their way to help as it was such warm weather they even let us put loads of bottles of water in their freezers for the next day! They attended to every need when we were in the bar drinking anf eating food. All the bar maids were gorgeous which is an added bonus!

The room itself was ok but they are currently refurbing whic to be fair is needed as there are bits of wallpaper flaking off, missing bathroom shelves, wonky plug sockets but it didnt hinder my night sleep the bed was very comfy and the shower was amazingly powerful! It was very very hot but two fans were provided so I had no trouble getting comfy.

We had dinner in the hotel I had duck and it was beautiful! Large good quality portions - I tried some of everything our group had and it was all good quality and good value.

We also had breakfast and again, every need tendered to and it was delicious, will definatley stay again if working their next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alk3ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
674 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
8.6 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
#1 of 1 in Barthomley
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Property: The Old Mill Hotel
Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, The Old Mill is a magnificent 17th Century building set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views of the original mill pond, complete with resident geese, large shoals of friendly carp and abundant other wildlife. The Mill retains many of its original features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. This hidden gem of Cheshire is a real must if you want to enjoy a warm welcome, good food & drink and a good night's sleep. For private, corporate, or wedding events the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor results in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. The property is approached by its own private lane off the main Crewe Road and although only 2 minutes from the main road, 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M6 and a short distance from the bustling towns of Crewe and Alsager you will feel as though you are right in the middle of the Cheshire countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Alsager, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing