We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed at average fair” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbot

The Talbot
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Biddulph
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vintage Inn, country pub dining in the staffordshire countryside. Roaring log fires in winter, full table service outside dining in summer. Children welcome. Bookings online or via telephone.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Dissapointed at average fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went to the Talbot for lunch with friends following some good reports about the food. Alas we were all disappointed. The service was pleasant but painfully slow. We ordered a varity of meals and starters and none of us was pleased with what we had. The toad in the hole had been in the hole too long, the sausages were hard and tasteless. The BBQ beef melt was thin with shreds of beef and a BBQ sauce on the side. The macaroni cheese dish was bland and unappetising. The pub has been done up and looks good, the staff were pleasant and welcoming, but to go the next step they need to improve the standard of the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pathfinder617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    121
    61
    69
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
congleton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just 'ok' food not as good as the atmosphere it portrays”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I met a friend for lunch here the other day. The pub/restaurant is on the outskirts of Biddulph, in a lovely location with good parking and plenty of outdoor seating for summer visits.
On entering we were really impressed with the ambiance of the building, it had a real fire, which was lovely and pleasant decoration.
The menu was reasonable with quite a varied selection along with a separate menu which was a pie of the day menu.
My friend chose goats cheese crostini, I had beef in red wine pie.
The crostini had to go back as it wasn't cooked on the under side.
My pie was ok but just ok. Quite bland and served with crispy potatoes, which were more like sauté potatoes, nothing wrong with them really but nothing exciting about the meal either.
The waitress was pleasant and immediately took my friends dish away offering to replace it with a fresh one.
Nothing to complain about, but wouldn't rush back either.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fergie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely warm country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Friendly staff - offered us a high chair for my son. Clean with good ambience and decor. Food priced right and great atmosphere with quiz night! The food is sometimes hit and miss - it depends what you order. Glad they have got rid of the skinny processed chips!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Untidy, dark, food questionable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food not great, visit spoiled by a children's party at one side of the pub, the parents were at the opposite end, no one was taking control, and it's not a pub that particularly caters for children, so I was surprised the staff didn't ask them to keep it down a bit... no respect for other guests. Not very clean,very dark, used to be nice years ago, don't go anymore - Biddulph Arms is nicer for food!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie14_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great local to pop into”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having just moved closer to this area we decided to give it a go for a mid week evening meal. It was lovely. The staff were friendly and chatty. There was a nice cosy atmosphere with a fire burning which we needed as it was a bit chilly outside. Plenty of choice on the menu and reasonably priced as they had some special offers on too. Our food was very nice and we left knowing we'd be back again which we already have done twice! The only thing I'd say is that on busy evenings you have to be prepared to wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Been to The Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing