We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No heat!”
Review of Colca Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colca Inn Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Chivay B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our tour of the lovely Colca Canyon. The Inn is fairly clean, not perfect by any stretch, but has no heat in the main part of the hotel! The rooms have small electric heaters which were not turned on and so took several hours to make a very minor difference in the (cold) temperature of the rooms.
In addition, the bed was not very comfortable and the mattress was covered by a thin, worn sheet. No mattress pad.
We paid $100 for this place and walked in and saw a much cheaper advertised price in the lobby. All of the other hotels we stayed in in Peru were around $100/night and were excellent. This one was not.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

I unfortunately got stuck staying here because the hotel I previously booked at, had a mistake and was 'closed'. My guide booked me here. It was cheap. I found the staff to be not friendly (especially for a tourist). The room was okay but I had quite an eery feeling about it. It wasn't dirty, but the shower was not appealing so I didn't use it while I was there. The breakfast was not good. They had coffee/tea. And buns (thinner than bread) with butter and jam. That was it. Not the best breakfast when you are starting before 6am and going out all morning. I would not recommend this to anyone. There are much better hotels to stay at in the area. Pay a bit more so you also have a heater or hot water bottle in your bed. The nights get chilly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our tour agency charged us $110 for this hotel, and upon arrival we saw a sign in the lobby saying the nightly rate for the same room is $44. So we started off on a bad note as we thought it was going to be much nicer. If we had only paid $44, we would have been happy with these accommodations. The hotel was clean, and the room was adequate, although the bed was pretty small for the two of us and the bathroom needed to be updated. In fact, the whole hotel seemed to be pretty old. The location was great and the employees were nice and helpful. The hot water only lasted a few minutes though, and there were only three rooms in the hotel that were occupied. They provided us with a heater...a must for the cold nights. Decent hotel, worth $44 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a small hostel, but has enough comfort and amenities for 1 night in Chivay. It is close to the main plaza and the stores, so well located. The rooms are clean, and there are extra blankets to ward against the chilly mountain air. Hostel is ok, I stayed during off-peak season and was really quiet - with more people might have a bit more of an atmosphere. Good enough for the night.

Room Tip: Away from the back of the hostel, the street out front is pedestrian only so no worries about street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacksteel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Must of our tour of Peru consisted of budget hotels. Unfortunately, this was the worst of our trip. The lobby of the Colca Inn was welcoming and promishing. Upon entering the lobby we had better expectations of the room. Things went downhill as we walked through the corridors to our room. The room itself was sparsely furnished and decorated. The bath towels were placed decoratively at the foot of the bed but, unfortunately, when we unfolded the towels they were all filled with holes. To make matters worse, the bed was extremely uncomfortable.

The complimentary breakfast was just OK and the service rather slow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

this is a small hotel located just two blocks from main plaza de Chivay. the room was very nice an dcomfortable.

The staff was very frinedly and helpful, thanks to all them.

Breakfast was basic but good enough. Also, you have other choices for an extra money.

This is a small hotel with good services and benefits, such as great location, breakfast included in the price, TV, hot water.

I recommend this hotel wehn you travel on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AkioM1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The standard was more hostel than hotel. The room only had an internal window facing a lounge, lucky it wasn't busy or this could have been noisy. The bathroom was fine. Breakfast was basic. Wi-Fi was available, but was very slow. Convenient for town.
Wish we had had time to do the Colca Canyon trek.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
4.6 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
0.2 mi away
Pozo del Cielo
Pozo del Cielo
#2 of 5 in Chivay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
3.1 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
0.4 mi away
Rumi Wasi Hostal
Rumi Wasi Hostal
#2 of 16 in Chivay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colca Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colca Inn Hotel

Address: Salaverry 307, Chivay, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chivay
Price Range: $42 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colca Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing