We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in all Peru”
Review of Inkari Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chivay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inkari Eco Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chivay
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in all Peru”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel seems to be abandoned, looks like the shining...just jack nicholson is missing:(
Too far from Chivay.
Extremely cold! No heating at all...we just got an inefficent heater on demand. Room cleaning and bed linen another #epicfail
Seems the hotel could be a great facility about 8 years ago.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaumegoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Out of town, room was spacious enough and clean. One of the meals was as tough as old boots. Found the manager to be very argumentative over the most minor thing. I had an experience, plus I witnessed her do the same with others.

The whole Colca Canyon trip is very touristy and a price gouge, so no surprise the accommodation here was the same sub-standard.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chivay hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went here as part as a tour to colca canyon. Unfotunately know one else from our tour stayed here which was a bit odd. We think we were the only tourist there which made it seem like a bit of a ghost town but all in all it was lovely place. We were greeted by a baby alpaca as we walked in and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We had a lovely stay here, in our free time we were able to relax in the gardens and watch the sun go down over the mountains and then tucked into a hearty home-made dinner.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gudelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
195 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel is located somewhat outside the village. The rooms are nice; spacious; you have thick duvets. The hot water is somewhat irratic.
The restaurant has no drinks (beer nor wine).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I am furious with the tour director who said it was close to the center of Chivay. It is easily a couple of miles away down a nasty, bumpy dirt road. Two heaters in the room could not keep it warm. Breakfast was miserable. As many other travelers attest, this long trip to see the canyon and the condors is a colossal waste of time and money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCLoftdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

The staff is extremely rude and unhelpful. Firstly, they knocked on our door to wake us up half an hour early at 5am. At this point they did not tell us they were serving breakfast half an hour earlier than scheduled, and then told us off for being late, when they had got the time wrong (when our tour guide arrived she confirmed they had got it wrong)!

The worst thing was that even though there was no one else in the breakfast room at 6am other than our tour group, the manager would not let me and my boyfriend sit together to eat (she PHYSICALLY stopped us)! The rest of our tour group had positioned themselves so we were at opposite ends of the table, and unfortunately there was a language barrier as my boyfriend does not speak Spanish, and they do not speak English. He was suffering altitude sickness and we wanted to sit together.

When we tried to sit at another table from our group I repeat the ENTIRE RESTAURANT was empty) we were told it was not allowed and we 'had to sit with the group'! We did sit with them because we did not want to cause a scene, however later I complained and the Manager was very argumentative, her only line of defense being that we had to sit with the group 'because they are our group' and it was a rule. Seriously, it was a joke and she had no common sense. She would not listen to us or our tour guide (when she
turned up in the middle of our argument). I was really upset and frustrated by how she spoke to us and treated us as guests.

Additionally, we had been told by our tour company that the hostel provides American breakfast, but it was just stale bread and the worst-tasting coffee I have had in Peru.

The hotel is also very far from town, too far to walk at night, and surprisingly for the price, pillows are either too hard or lumpy.

Do not stay here as it is not worth the money and the staff will treat you badly. I heard better reports of hostels and the Casa Andina hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shabs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
0.7 mi away
Pozo del Cielo
Pozo del Cielo
#2 of 4 in Chivay
355 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yanque
620 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
4.3 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkari Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkari Eco Lodge

Property: Inkari Eco Lodge
Address: Calle Espinal S/n | Valle Del Colca, Chivay, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chivay
Hotel Class:3 star — Inkari Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Inkari Eco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing