We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pozo del Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pozo del Cielo
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chivay
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Rustic hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Yes, just the other said, it was cold, but you are at almost 4000 meters above sea level! Asked for another heater and got it in exactly 5 minutes. And yes again, no TV, no phone and no internet. But is this what you really need when you visit Peru in the top of the world? Didnt miss those at all.
Beautiful little hotel, more like a mountain villa, see pictures attached. There was no "staff", just a lady, probably the owner, she was the receptionist, the maid, the bell boy that knocked on my door as a wake up call in the morning, and also in the breakfast area.
I purely loved it! This is what I seek when traveling, quiet, clean and relaxing places!
Strongly recommended~

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley and the sun rise, if you get to wake up that late :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquauomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    141
    66
    25
    8
See reviews for
55
165
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was ok but we were not feeling 100 percent. We were feeling altitude effects.the hotel was cold and was the first time we had to wear jackets for dinner and were given an electric fire to help out.The town is about a 10 minute walk away, and was a very quirky pace, which we enjoyed.Very interesting statues aligning the street.
Not the most enjoyable stay but all part of our fabulous holiday

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group tour. The room was attractively and comfortably furnished with a seating area overlooking a valley view. The towels in the bathroom were good. No phone or TV in the room, WiFi signal in the dining area only. There was a heater in the room and hot water bottles were delivered as we retired for the night.
The evening set meal was only average-those that chose from the A La Carte had a wide choice and their food looked good. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
The staff were smiley and friendly at all times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great base to explore the area. Colca Canyon not far away and hot springs nearby.

The hotel is made up of serveral buildings with a few rooms in each. Our room (upper floor)didn't have much of a view but I know that others did. The room was spacious enough and had a small but adequate bathroom. There was a heater in the room and extra blankets if required. Coming from Scotland, I didn't find it cold at all but used the heater to dry off wet swimming gear after a trip to the hot pools.

We had dinner in the hotel - as we were there as part of a large group, we had to choose in advance. 3 courses - all nice enough and very filling. Not the cheapest meal we had in Peru and did feel it was a bit on the pricey side. Buffet breakfast was also nice enough.

The rooms do not have phones, TV, radio or safes. There is supposed to be wi-fi but it was broken while we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkfootpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This quiet and comfortable hotel has a charming mix of outdoor building materials, contrasting between rough stone and wood. The rooms are simple with poured concrete seating with cushions on top. There are courtyard view rooms that look out onto a nicely manicured garden, and the canyon view rooms that overlook Chivay. I had a view of the Inca watchtower directly out my window. The room was appointed with electrical gear but I'm not a TV guy. The wake up call comes promptly with a knock on your door. The room was equipped with a radiant heater but I was lucky and did not have a need for it. The staff was very helpful and the buffet breakfast was quite good. While in Chivay, be sure you take the time for a relaxing dip at the community hot springs; the nicest municipal hot springs I have yet seen in Peru.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located a bit out of town the hotel was unique and had all the basics and a gorgeous view from our room . Breakfast was decent and overall the place had character which is always a plus for us.

There is a short dirt road to get to the hotel entrance, which was no problem when it was dry, but turned into a slippery, muddy, steep skating skating rink after a heavy rain. Our taxi got stuck and couldn't make it up the hill in the mud. Thankfully I had a spare pair of shoes because the pair I was wearing didn't dry out until after I got home.

Our bathroom smelled like sewage. Not sure if it was a hotel wide issue, or just a room issue we asked the front desk to investigate. They did and said it was only a problem with our room. When we asked them to switch us to a different room (this was not a faint smell) they said they fixed it but if we still wanted to change rooms later they would consider it later in the day. We returned to the room to find the "fix" was spraying it with a less than fresh smelling floral air freshener leaving the room smelling of stool and a funeral parlor. We left for the evening and when we returned the staff had changed at the desk and knew nothing of the problem. We opted not to push the issue and just kept the bathroom door shut. We were leaving early the next morning but had we been staying longer we would have been more assertive in obtaining another room.

Our room was cold and the heater provided was little help, but the blankets were heavy and provided plenty of warmth once we were tucked in for the night.

Except for whatever plumbing problem there was and the heavy rain/mud issue, I actually liked the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burgner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We only spent one very short night in Pozo del Cielo before heading to the Colca Canyon at 5:30 am. the next morning. But it was a very pleasant experience.

The hotel is located just outside of Chivay, right across the Rio Colca. We were a bit worried when our tour guide dropped us off as the neighborhood looks like a dusty slum. The greater was our happiness to find behind the entrance gate a very quiet and nicely built hotel. It is basically a big patio which has one building in the center (housing the reception, a lounge area with tv and a two-storey restaurant) and is fully surrounded by two-storey buildings with stone stairs leading to the upper-level rooms on the outside. The patio is very green with overhanging trees and nice flowers, even though it was freezing during the night.

Our room was very basic, with a bed, nightstands carved out in the wall and a simple bathroom with a shower, a toilet and a sink. There was no tv and wifi was only available in the restaurant. But that was all made up for by the electric radiator: finally a hotel in Peru where we did not have to ask for extra blankets! Our room, which was directly on top of the stairs leading from Chivay to the hotel, also had a great view on the river and the town. The staff were extremely helpful, although they did not understand English. When I went to the restaurant to buy some coca tea for my wife, who was not dealing well with the altitude, they insisted on serving it in our room and brought an oxygen tank with them, all of it without charge.

To also include some negatives: the restaurant served outrageously priced food and the only option for vegetarians (a vegetable soup) did not live up to expectations. Our room also had a door leading to a tiny balcony outside, which could not be closed as the key was missing. We would have probably been upset with that if we had wanted to leave our room and head into town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river and the town. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
4.4 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
2.9 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yanque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
5.1 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas del Colca
3.5 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pozo del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pozo del Cielo

Property: Pozo del Cielo
Address: Calle Huascar B-3 Sacsayhuaman, Chivay, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chivay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pozo del Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pozo del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pozo Del Cielo Chivay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing