We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Season”
Review of Pozo del Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pozo del Cielo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed mid-January after a blitz around Arequipa and Puno, and with all of us pretty tired. There were a couple of other parties in the hotel but the overall impression was that this was definitely as low as any season gets. We didn't fancy another 'cultural evening' at a local restaurant, so booked the restaurant: service was slow and ponderous, the microwave timer 'ping' sent shivers of worry down our spines but the food turned out to be very good. The real problem was that there was just no atmosphere about the place at this time of year!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkExton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Pozo del Cielo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 382 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

Ill cut to the chase: the property is cold with poorly functioning heaters and limited hot water. The rooms are dimly lit with fluorescent lights and are more uncomfortable than comfortable. The service was poor and the restaurant's high-point is the view, not the food. I wouldn't stay here again, I would stay somewhere closer to the canyon.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaredSnowPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Pozo del Cielo is a 6 minute walk to Chivay Plaza with restaurants and local market. Market is a funny mix of local needs (shovel, vegetables, etc., and western tourist shopping. Crafts are much the same as in Cusco, Aguas Caliente, Puno, but in a low key atmosphere and not overwhelming quantities. I love the location as it's quiet, no dogs, roosters, trucks or disco. Firm beds, nice nice rooms, great bathroom with HOT water. Free Wifi is available, but you may need to move around your room to find the "hot-spot" or go up the steps in the dinning room for 5bars. 5soles for using their computer for an hour.

My note. The hotel is proud of it's many traditional features, however this included a doorway to the bathroom and some entry doors that are 5'9" tall. Watch your head. Once in the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The electric heaters warmed the room nicely and dried my socks over night. Food is fine, but I preferred the variety of trying one of the 7 or so restaurants in the small town of Chivay.

Staff is very nice, helpful. The manager offered and arranged our continueing travel bus tickets and provided numerous hints about traveling in Arequipa, cost of taxi's and which ones were licensed and safe. The staff were very nice. The hotel looks 4star, charges 2 or 3 star prices. Bottom-line: Good beds, nice rooms, good bathrooms, lots of Hot water.
Enjoy the day, Rusty

Room Tip: Duck going into the bathroom. Some entry doors are low and include a leather "bumper". I s...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RustySmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great stay at this place, the ceiling is from glass(not the whole thing, just a small amount). It's cold there and so in the evening they bring you hot water in a thermo bag to stay warm in the bed, great place to stay, even it's not that close to the centre of Chivay. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrej_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

this is very nice nd comfortable hotel, you cn rest there very well after the trip from Arequipa.
Rooms are basic but comfortable and nicely decorated.
The staff is very friendly nd helpful.
Breakfst was very delicious and natural.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Unfortunately, I only spent one night in this original and nice hotel, as it was just a stop before Colca canyon. The room are really simple but clean and welcoming. Nice bathroom as well and welcoming staff. We had the dinner at the restaurant and we both loved it, from the local trouts to the french crepe suzette which were as good as the ones you can find in Paris! The view on Chivay and the mountain from the restaurant is beautiful. Don't miss the La Calera Hot Springs 10 minutes away by car, it is a very original and enjoyable experience, especially when temperatures start dropping at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeniZinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

What a shame we only stayed one night, arriving late afternoon and leaving early. We had a lovely room upstairs with a great bathroom. At bedtime we were brought a hot water bottle, nice touch. It was all clean and fresh. The room had heating and plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was good with views over the town and mountains.
Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niknikjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
2.9 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
4.4 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
650 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
5.1 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pozo del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pozo del Cielo

Address: Calle Huascar s/n | Mz. E Lote 3-6 Sol De Sacsayhuaman, Chivay, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Price Range: $99 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pozo del Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pozo del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pozo Del Cielo Chivay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing