We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable nice hotel, but dishonest waiter in restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Colca
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chivay
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hospitable nice hotel, but dishonest waiter in restaurant”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stay one night in Casa Andina Colca 10.04.2014. Very nice and cozy hotel, tasty dinner, which was included in our package. We had only to pay for the drinks. When we finished to eat, waiter came and without any bill let us pay for the drinks. Next day, when we eat our lunch in the same restaurant, which was also included, we took the same drinks. When other waiter gave us a bill, amount there was less than day before. So, be careful and require bill from the waiter - at least one of them is dishonest !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icelanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    333
    142
    33
    15
See reviews for
130
354
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A rustic hotel - rooms are large with a bedroom and then stairs down to a large bathroom. Hopeless hairdryer. The 'furniture' consisted of poles tied together with string for a wardrobe with a TV precariously balanced on the top. On first glance it all looked quite quaint but I wouldn't like to have stayed for mor ethan one night. Main hotel was fine, with a nice restaurant with entertainment and decent (although not memorable food). Chivay is a nice little town with an interesting market. We were offered a hot water bottle but didn't take them up on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynday1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Cute lodge style hotel - rooms are a series of cottages (each building split into two rooms), with a main building housing the restaurant. Attentive and helpful service, comfortable, clean and cozy rooms and facilities, with an enjoyable music and dance show over dinner. A very good option in Chivay, where a number of hotels are frankly a bit ropey. I'd recommend booking this or one of the other recommended hotels in Chivay rather than making a booking as part of a tour - all the tour companies will take you to any hotel you've booked separately.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamdenBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nähe Mainz
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A run-down hotel, small rooms, faulty window in the bathroom. Personal was friendly but not interested in the maintenance of the hotel. The radiator was to small for the room. The heat-botte for the second night did not help much. Indeed a 3-star hotel but i never found a hotel with more than 1 star there i was cold in the restaurant! The restaurant really did not ave heating - and we hat to stay in the warmer part of the year (26. - 28. feb. 2014).
Never again
PS.: The casa andina private collection in Arequipa was good!

Room Tip: Book an other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your impressions about your stay at our Classic Colca hotel.

We regret we did not meet your expectations, and we hope you can accept our apology for the discomfort created. As well, we are sorry to know you did not rest properly in your room due to the cold weather. We are constantly looking for new ideas to keep our guests warm and comfortable. In the past, we have implemented hot water bottles and extra blankets which can be requested at our front desk. Now a day, we have electronic heating blankets which will keep you warm every single minute of your stay with us.

Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences. Nonetheless, we are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic experience at our Private Collection Arequipa hotel. We hope we can welcome you back shortly at any of our hotels throughout the country.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in Colca Canyon a few days, first night in Chivay, first night in Casa Andina.
The Hotel offers little bungalows that are ok, but in all fairness for the price that we paid ( meaning quite a lot) , I really expect a lot more. Bathroom was more like in a Hostel, the bed / mattress was rather old.. So its ok, friendly staff, free parking, good breakfast.. but for that money?? It actually isn't. ( if you have a private car like we did, keep driving..;).. The villages to come are way better than Chivay )

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristoforosC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your experience at our Classic Colca hotel.

We regret to know that we did not fulfill your expectations, and we sincerely apologize for the discomfort created. We would like to mention to you that Classic Colca is a rustic hotel made of stone, as well as it provides basic services for leisure travelers.

On the other hand, we are glad our team assisted you properly, as well as you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to possibly welcoming you back at any of our other Select or Private Collection properties around the country.

Cordially,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was a quaint place to stay. Clean, rustic, good food, good entertainment. The village was within walking distance. Had shepherds walking through the streets with their sheep. Large local market. Fascinating.

Room Tip: the rooms were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you want to get the feel of a serene and cosy mountain lodge resort then this is the place. The rooms are charming done in a cottage style and its a perfect place to take a few days to recharge your batteries enroute to the Colca Canyon and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndaluciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
3.1 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
4.5 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
3.9 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pozo del Cielo
Pozo del Cielo
#2 of 4 in Chivay
362 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
5.2 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Colca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Colca

Property: Casa Andina Standard Colca
Address: Huayna Capac s/n, Chivay 54, Peru (Formerly Casa Andina Classic Colca)
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chivay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Colca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Classic Colca is located in the Valley of Colca, a 3 hour drive from the city of Arequipa. It is a cozy and rustic hotel built as individual cottages made of stone with strewn paths. Has a fountain located in the central courtyard and a grill area where outdoor lunches can be organized in order to enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Colca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Colca Hotel Chivay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing