We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Experience in Casa Andina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Colca
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Corozal, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our Experience in Casa Andina”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and wife Aida stayed for one night in this place, during a group tour to several places in Peru.

This Hotel is located about 3 streets from the small plaza and surrounding shops.

Maybe due to lack of municipality income, all streets are without asphalt. As a consequence, there was dust almost everywhere, with the exception of the square that surrounds the plaza.

Hotel facilities are good, clean and acceptable. Rooms are also clean, although small. Each room is like a bungalow, and with a complete bathroom. Beds were acceptable and comfortable.
Nice restaurant and good food. Not exceptional, though.

About 125-150 feet from the lobby, inside the hotel premises, there is a round building with a dome on top. It's an astronomical observatory. The lower part houses a very small planetarium.
The upper part has a medium size telescope (between 10-12 inches. We could observe Saturn, Omega Centauri and a couple double stars. Sad to say, telescope is in urgent need of TLC.Drive motors were disconnected (sent somewhere for repairs), mirror needed collimation ,as well as telescope refurbishment. Young lady in charge knew a little bit of astronomy and did her best, but lacked knowledge about constellations, deep-sky objects...etc.

It is a nice place to stay a couple of nights the most. Not much to do and see from my point of view.

Room Tip: Two tips worth mentioning. One, try to choose a room not far away from the lobby, if you can. reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us.

We would like to thank you for helping us improve our services with your comments. Your impressions about your stay in our property and observatory are very important to us. Rest assured we have shared your comments with our hotel manager, as we maintain our
commitment to offer the best to our guests.

On the other side, we are pleased that you and your wife rested properly in your room, as well as you enjoyed the food.

We hope we can welcome you back any time soon.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    342
    148
    35
    16
See reviews for
141
363
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night there and it was very nice.
People was very kind and friendly.
It seems ok but not as much as it is for the price, otherwise the planetarium show is not included and seems very expensive for what it is, even knowing that many guests have tours planned at the time they do it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmgs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is used by many (most?) tour groups. As such, the dining room can get hectic and service slow. Again, they expect that your tour leader has expalined how things work there. Given the location, this is a gem. there are thermal baths about 3.5 Km walk. Interesting experience (separate baths for locals who might not have hot water/plumbing in homes and visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRichardS822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The view of our hotel as we rounded the mountain was wonderful. Our bus wound its way down the narrow road across a rickety bridge over the rapids and we were is the most serene valley you could imagine. Our rooms were in groups of 5 joined together looking over the property. Although very generous with an attic and another bed if you wanted to climb the tree pole ladder it was a little on the cool side. We did enjoy the comfy bed and cleanliness of the bathroom. We also enjoyed soaking in the thermal pools and afterwards having a Pisco Sour in the open fire pit in front of our room. The restaurant was very good as have been all the Casa Andina hotels we have stayed in. I only wish we had more time here to relax and enjoy the facilities

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is more like a boarding school, The rooms are kind of huts clustered at the side of the restorant. Rooms are small and basic but the bed, thank god was great. The day we got there was very cold and it even snowed. (not the hotel to blame) the problem was that it took for ages to heat the room.
The restorant is very basic, very cold and so is the service . It would be better if in a place like that, so remote and cold the hotel would provide tea and coffe facilities in the room.
They state that there is WIFI but...... not really.

Room Tip: If you get there in cold weather make sure you are close to the main buildingso you wont have to run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we deeply appreciate it.

We are glad you rested suitably in your room. However, we are sorry if you had difficulty to heat your room. Besides the heater, we provide our guests extra blankets in order to make their stay more comfortable. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Likewise, we regret if you perceived the service provided did not match with our standards.

Respecting the wi-fi service, it is not a service that is advertised nor offered because of our location and the difficulty to find a suitable supplier.

We appreciate your suggestions and will definitely take them into consideration.

Cordially,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent very little time while in Chivay at the hotel but the grounds were lovely, the rooms were nice and clean. We did ask for two heaters because at night the rooms were very cold. The staff got the second heater for use fairly quickly and the room was warm enough. The staff brought bottles of hot water to the room around seven pm for your feet. We did have dinner in the restaurant that was ok. Breakfast was typical Peruvian. The reception staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has an observatory and dance show in English at 7.30om. Rooms are comfortable but basic with heater. Great blankets though. Free WiFi and cocoa tea as well.

Mountains all around but wind can be cold.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
3.1 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
4.5 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
3.9 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
0.5 mi away
Pozo del Cielo
Pozo del Cielo
#2 of 5 in Chivay
371 reviews
5.2 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Colca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Colca

Property: Casa Andina Standard Colca
Address: Huayna Capac s/n, Chivay 54, Peru (Formerly Casa Andina Classic Colca)
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Colca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Classic Colca is located in the Valley of Colca, a 3 hour drive from the city of Arequipa. It is a cozy and rustic hotel built as individual cottages made of stone with strewn paths. Has a fountain located in the central courtyard and a grill area where outdoor lunches can be organized in order to enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Colca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Colca Hotel Chivay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing