We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveler rating
308
436
191
49
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
436
191
49
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric blanketscolca canyonone nightnice propertysmall bungalowshot watercold nightfree coca teaopen firestyle hotelbuffet dinnerpleasant stayside by sideday tourhigh altitudereception areaaltitude sickness
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

If this is the only place for you to stay to continue your trip round Peru don't read on. Stayed there for two awful nights with a group on April 17th. We could start with the rip off management. No bottled water in the rooms as with other Casa Andina hotels and when my husband went to buy two from reception he was charged 6 sol each. Don't need to tell you that stepping outside the hotel we got two more for 2.25 sol for the two. Food was terrible and half the group had upset stomaches with two more serious than the rest. Watery scrambled eggs, mushy fruit and not much more for breakfast. Our room had damp walls only heated by a suspect gas heater attached to the wall giving noxious fumes to the room but since the bathroom was freezing cold with little hot water - leaving the door open gave a balance! The other option was a plug in radiator with twisted cord. Can't believe it is really safe for anyone with breathing difficulties - not uncommon at that altitude. I didn't like finding dead insects on the floor of the room since this gives an indication of lack of cleanliness and travelling around makes you more vunerable to poor hygiene. Sadly we found the staff completely disinterested in making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turquoise-Sea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is another Casa Andina with all the usual fixtures, fittings and cosmetics. Nice touch is that they put a hot water bottle in your bed for the night. Down side is they rip you off with the beer - its S/6 in the machine in reception (but there's none in there) and S/10 in the bar, so take your own. They provide a buffet dinner which was fine and there is often a dance troupe that come by so take your camera and money. Close enought to walk into town.

Room Tip: Take your own beer
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veggie2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent experience at our Classic Colca hotel.

We are glad to know you find our hotel to be comfortable and you liked the hot water bottle to keep you warm at night. At Casa Andina we always strive to offer the real Casa Andina experience to all our guests and we are truly sorry if you perceived our prices to be expensive and be sure that we take into consideration your comments.

We sincerely hope you had a pleasant time while you visited Peru and we would like to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

The Casa Andina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Good, clean & quite hotel - we enjoyed the stay
Resturant was below expectations - I recommand to consider walking back to city center for food

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyalS925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is more like a small cottage, with houses/bungalows. It's clean. It's cute. It's quite. It has all you need for a good stay. I've stayed at a couple of Casa Andina hotels and can warmly recommend all of them. The room I had in Chivay had a terrible shower. Otherwise top notch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the time you took to write and share your insights regarding your stay at our hotel and that overall you had a pleasant experience at our hotels.

Rest assured that your opinion has been taken into consideration as it helps us to point out some issues that might need more attention from us. As well, we hope to have the opportunity to serve again and give you the real Casa Andina experience.

Bets regards,

The Casa Andina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is the best hotel in Chivay for visiting Colca Canyon. Clean rooms. Excellent staff - very helpful. Enjoyed the hot water bottles in the beds at night. Also liked the evening folklore music and dancing. We ate our dinners at the hotel - nice food and were warmed by the fireplace next to our table.

We stayed for three nights and used the hotel as a base for day hikes into the canyon and to the hot bathes at La Calera about 4 km away - somtimes directly by foot or first via a colectivo taxi and the by foot.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews