We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accomodations, good for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal La Pascana del Inka
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Chivay
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Basic Accomodations, good for a few days”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Rooms are decent size. Bathrooms adequate and clean. There is hot water! yeah.
The staff is very helpful. Breakfast good. Felt comfortable. Would stay there again.
It gets really cold at night. There is not heat but lots of blankets. Makes it tough to get up in the morning.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are probably quieter. There is an announcement over loudspeaker every morning at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitaInJocotepec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUstralia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I don't understand how this place rated well. It is very basic. Reasonably clean with hot water and close to the town square being the main attractions, The place has no charm or extra comfort. The re is no added extras (like a map of the town). We booked 2 days and I am not happy. To be honest, going to the hot springs and the Irish pub to get out of the place is the bonus. If this is rated 2, then I worry about the accommodation here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan_opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

we were only here for one night but were a bit disappointed. It was quite expensive - a lot more than other hostels in chivay - and the room, while it was fine and clean, was not worth 70 soles. the walls were very thin, which meant that it was incredibly cold and also that we were woken up all through the night. when we arrived we didnt feel it was hugely friendly, but might just have been unlucky as the lady who was around later in the evening spoke good english and was very pleasant. it is right on the plaza de armas and the showers were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The location is excellent. The prices are good. The daughter speaks excellent English. The restaurant is on-site. Love the family dogs and cats! The hotel is also the site for the bus pick-up to Puno.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in October, 2011. For S/.70 (~USD$25), it fit our needs just great.

The location is good -- barely 1/2 block of the main plaza. They have parking enough for a few cars, more than enough for our two motorcycles. We had a ground floor room (no need to haul our gear upstairs). We could hear some noise from the room next door (adjoinging bathrooms, I think), but we heard no noise from upstairs. The only time it wasn't quiet was one morning when a group was getting up early to tour the canyon. For about 15 minutes, we could hear them getting their acts together in the courtyard, then we could go back to sleep.

The courtyard is pleasant and quiet, perfect for reading in the sun or doing some motorcycle maintenance.

The room was simple and clean, with some original artwork to jazz it up a bit. There were plenty of blankets available, and best of all, hot water bottles were delivered in the evening! Our host said heat was available for an extra charge, but we didn't need it. The carpet was a bit worn, but the bathroom was newly tiled and very clean. Hot water was plentiful, although I had to ask once at first. Then they turned the magic valve or whatever, and we had plenty of hot water for the rest of our stay. The beds were firm, and the toilet paper was the most luxurious we'd seen in weeks.

Breakfast was fine, not notable either excellent or bad. We had several other meals in the restaurant, and they were all good. The restaurant doesn't have a full menu, just what they are making that day, but it was good and there were always a bunch of locals eating there, too.

The brochure says Internet, but it wasn't available. No wi-fi, and they offered me the use of the front desk computer, but it was so slow, I didn't bother.

I believe that they also arrange local excursions, as well as direct bus connections to and from Puno, but we did not take advantage of any of these services.

Overall, we found La Pascana to be friendly, clean, and peaceful, and good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdtraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

La Pascana was by far the worst place we stayed at during our trip to Peru. It was booked by Colonial Tours, the agent who arranged our two day / one night trip to Colca Canyon.

There were three major disappointments for us:

1. The room stank of disinfectant
2. They woke us up 30 minutes before our requested wake-up (5 AM instead of 5)
3. Worst of all, they didn't serve us breakfast despite the fact that it was included in the price. They seemed to serve a bunch of people before us - all the tables in the dining room had dirty plates and half empty glasses, but they had no interest in clearing a table for us. We walked in once at 6 AM to find several others waiting for service. Then we walked in again at 6:15 to find the front desk guy walking out of the dining room to avoid us.

The bed was also horribly uncomfortable - it dipped in so badly in the middle that two people simply couldn't sleep in in. Thankfully there was an extra single bed in the room, which we did make us of.

  • Liked — location - a block from the main square
  • Disliked — the service, or lack thereof
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chivay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
3.3 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
4.3 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pozo del Cielo
Pozo del Cielo
#2 of 4 in Chivay
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rumi Wasi Hostal
Rumi Wasi Hostal
#4 of 16 in Chivay
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kollawas Home Inn B&B
Kollawas Home Inn B&B
#1 of 10 in Chivay
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Pascana del Inka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Pascana del Inka

Property: Hostal La Pascana del Inka
Address: Esquina plaza de Armas-Siglo XX 106, Chivay, Chivay, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Chivay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Pascana del Inka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing