We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best i have been to”

Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Currach Irish Pub & Innkeeper's Lodge is set in a lovely garden setting, across the road from beautiful Pa Beach and Tryphena Harbour. The Currach is Great Barrier's iconic Irish Pub with beautiful authentic bric a brac. The pub offers a delicious menu with a fantastic range of dishes including its world famous Seafood Chowder and fantastic Chef Tasting Platters. We offer locally caught fish and use organic salads and herbs. We have a delicious range of bar snacks or stay for dinner. The Gallery Restaurant is the location for art exhibitions of local artists. The Innkeeper's Lodge has 5 ensuites with balconies. We also have a small backpacker hostel. We look forward to welcoming you to the Currach.
Thames, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best i have been to”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

In my 60th year this restaurant has got to the best ,was in Tryphena for ten days went there every night, great service, great food, great smiles ,great entertainment ,Moira, Finn,Hannah ,and the rest of there staff made us feel so welcome .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for being such wonderful customers and for visiting us each evening of your holiday. It was so lovely to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Barrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    27
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reinbek, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Pub”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had very good food here every night for a week.
The service was great, friendly,efficient and quick.
Our fish that we had caught was prepared for us at no cost.
We can thoroughly recommend this pub.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley310550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for your great review and for visiting us at the Currach. We love to have happy customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way better”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've finally eaten twice now at the Currach under the new management and am very happy to say that everything is very much improved. Food was delicious, the hosts welcoming and the atmosphereoutstanding. Well done, guys.I have no problem recommending you to my guests now.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
So delighted that you gave the pub another go since we took back ownership and delighted that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. We really appreciate your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hogmanay at Tryphena”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent NewYear's Eve in the Currach Irish Pub in Tryphena,Great Barrier Island. Good food with plenty of it and excellent live music. Also ate there on another night also very good with excellent Irish hospitality

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for spending New Year's Eve at the Currach and delighted you enjoyed our hospitality. The band were great and we have asked them back fro next year! Awesome night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place On The Island 2 Have A Drink And A Meal”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I love this place!!!! plus it's staff and owners,very friendly atmosphere,great place to have a meal or takeaway,have eaten here a few times now,plus just had our xmas lunch/dinner, 10/10, full credit to the chefs,some of the nicest food i have tasted, if you are coming to Aotea,nice place to stay, or pop in for a drink and a meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Its wonderful when our guests enjoy the Currach and love when they leave with a smile on their face! Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge also viewed

Great Barrier Island, Auckland Region
Great Barrier Island, Auckland Region
 
Great Barrier Island, Auckland Region
Port Fitzroy, Great Barrier Island
 
Great Barrier Island, Auckland Region
Great Barrier Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Currach Irish Pub & The Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing