We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount St. Paul Estate
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome place”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely hosts, with an absolutely wonderful property. Brilliant views. The bedrooms are HUGE and so comfortable with plenty of hot water for showers ( and a quiet generator), close to the airport. Peter is happy to do airport transfers if required. I'd have no hesitations in recommending this lovely place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are both very grateful

Kind regards
Hilary and Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The view is wonderful, the room huge, with plenty of hanging and storage space, and the view is unsurpassed. The bed was huge and sooooo comfortable, and the bath was welcoming after a hard walk. It would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room, but good quality tea and coffee is freely available on request. Peter and Hillary were very helpful with booking restaurants for us as needed, and they booked our flights to and from the island, and the rental car. The island is a wonderful place for hikers, with a different view around every corner, and well marked trails. We had a wonderful week!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view - it's breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our first trip to Great Barrier was matched admirably with our stay at this luxury retreat. Hillary and Peter were generous hosts answering all our questions and providing us with first class facilities. The location was close to the airport and very central to all the main attractions. Our hosts readily handled the booking of our flights and rental car, making for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Albert
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I had a great time staying at Hilary and Peters place. It was a pity due to conflicting plans we could only spend two days there. The house and rooms are magnificent, with great views out to the sea, and the surrounding hills. Also a good base for tripping around this beautiful island. If you want to feel special is the place for you

Room Tip: We were with another couple and their room was just as good. Wi-Fi available, super king size bed, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks to Hilary and Peter for helping organise this wonderful weekend away. The Coles organised accomodation, flights, and rental car hire so that I could pull off a wonderful surprise for my partners birthday.
The lodge is beautiful, the scenery and setting beautiful and the hospitality and warmth of the hosts notable.
We especially enjoyed the knees up with Peter and Hilary at the Irish Pub in Tryphena.
Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

When our flight to great barrier island was turned back due to the poor weather we thought we had lost the experience on the island we we hoping for. Quite the opposite was the case, we contacted them and they just pushed our stay back by a night and the next day we arrived at the awesome location that is Mt St Paul estate. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful, from coffee on the deck with spectacular views to suggestions of things to see on the island. After a day of walking in the bush and relaxing in the islands natural hot springs we were graced with a beautiful 3 course meal in front of an open fire, that was more than your average serving. The following mornings breakfast was again more than enough to get us through the day. The whole experience made our getaway well worth while and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shakey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We shared a weekend away with friends and could not have asked for a more luxurious but home like accommodation. Our room was large and comfortable with views to die for from two large balconies. Cups of tea and coffee were cheerfully supplied by either Hilary or Peter whenever requested and the cooked breakfast was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, they made bookings for us and checked that the ferry was actually sailing after a night of rough weather. Ben the dog makes a great butler, greeting us as we arrived with great aplomb.
We thoroughly recommend this as a top NZ destination with accommodation to match.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front have enormous beds and two balconies from which to view the fantastic sce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Barrier Island hotels
2.9 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
4.0 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#5 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount St. Paul Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount St. Paul Estate

Property: Mount St. Paul Estate
Address: 29 Kaitoke Lane, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mount St. Paul Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing