We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount St. Paul Estate
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Thank you Hillary and Peter. What wonderful hosts you were, from arrival to departure nothing was too much trouble.
What a lovely stay we had, with very comfortablve accommodation, supurb breakfasts, million dollar views and a perfect setting all combining to make our time with you relaxed and enjoyable,
Elevated on the side of a hill, this home offers expansive views over some fantastic scenery.
White sand, blue sea, rugged hills. Sit back and relax.
Just a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 84 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend on Great Barrier staying at Mt St Paul Estate. Hilary and Peter are great hosts and go out of their way to do everything possible to look after their guests and make their time on the island enjoyable. The lodge is lovely and very comfortable with great views out to the sea and a central location for exploring the island. Great choice if you're looking for luxury accomodation on Great Barrier

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Well located overlooking the eastern beaches the house provided us a great setting to enjoy the Great Barrier Island experience. Peter and Hillary were wonderful hosts looking after all our requests with great enthusiasm. Whether for work or pleasure a highly recommended choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon_S_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Peter and Hillary were superb hosts, they really go the extra mile and deserve the positive comments they have received with other reviews. The house and setting are superb, well set out and well located with inspiring views.
I highly recommend for those wishing to experience a beautiful part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

the house itself is beautiful - easily one of the best and most comfortable on the island, and the view from the rooms is breathtaking - we enjoyed many a happy hour with a glass of wine on our balcony just taking it all in. Peter and Hillary are the perfect hosts, warm helpful and very friendly, and very knowledgable and well connected on the island.

we heartily recommend!

Room Tip: the room with the double balcony is one of the nicest we've ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borough_High_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on Great Barrier. Hillary and Peter made it so easy and looked after hire car and flight bookings as well. Mount St Paul's Estate is beautifully appointed centrally located with wonderful views. An ideal base for anyone looking for a Gt Barrier holiday. We can recommend for you to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Excellent B&B run by Peter and Hillary. The house and grounds were immaculate and the room was fit for a king. Views from all rooms are spectacular. Our hosts went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and even helped one of our friends after his car was accidentally run off the road. Breakfast each day was to order and perfect! Highly recommend a stay here where you can blend the creature comforts of home with the beautiful scenery of the Great Barrier Island. My hat is off to Peter and Hillary for doing such a great job!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A6carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Barrier Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
30 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#8 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
3.7 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#2 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount St. Paul Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount St. Paul Estate

Address: 29 Kaitoke Lane, Auckland, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range: $228 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount St. Paul Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing