We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your one-stop shop for visitor information, fantastic island tours, bush walks and coastal cruises. Our all inclusive tour packages provide you with the best travel deals, fantastic accommodation and activity options... We are Great Barrier Islands tour specialists! Give our friendly team a call.... We're here to help.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a great day out. Steve is a great tour guide and story teller. He gave us a complete tour of the island, but also very interesting stories about the history, pioneer families, life in the early days and today, with lots of fascinating anecdotes. Loved the place, the people, and the whole atmosphere.

1  Thank Gil_Bycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebee N Steve B, Owner at Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hi Gil,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
It's great to see visitors from Wanganui making the effort to find their way to Great Barrier Island.
I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the island with you and your intrepid companions.
Thanks again for using our services and for the great review.
Best Regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had the most amazing weekend. Everyone loved Steve's commentary and stories. The weather and scenery were perfect. Looking forward to another tour. Have already been 7 times and every time is memorable. Steve is extremely passionate about Great Barrier Island and makes every moment special wishing you could stay another day.

1  Thank 221Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebee N Steve B, Owner at Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi Barbara,
It's amazing to think you've escorted 7 travel groups to Great Barrier Island over the last few years. You really have become an honorary 'local'.
As usual, this last group were an absolute pleasure to spend a few days with - exploring the Barrier.
Thanks Barbara for your review, and thanks Leisure Time Tours for continuing to provide an opportunity for New Zealanders to discover this very special part of their country.

Best Regards
Steve and Lianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After living 50 years in NZ and never having visited Great Barrier Island, we decided on a 3 day stay. We expected quad bikes on unsealed dusty roads and miles of barren rocky ground. How wrong were we? Instead we got pristine NZ bush, wildlife that's seen nowhere else, beaches to die for, sealed roads, wonderful friendliness and hospitality and a tour guide called Steve who not only went the extra mile...he went the extra 20 miles! He is so friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgable about the Barrier, it's impossible not to be inspired by him. If you visit the Barrier without having Steve as your tour guide, you are missing out on something special. Thank you Steve for a wonderful few days, and I hope we meet again soon. Alan (the Barrier car salesman) and Maureen.

1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebee N Steve B, Owner at Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi Guys,
It was such a pleasure meeting the two of you... I'm sure I wasn't the only one to enjoy your great sense of humour and enthusiasm. It's a true privilege to be able to share a little bit of the Barrier with people such as yourselves.
Thank you for coming to explore this special part of New Zealand and thank you for such a great review!
Have an awesome Xmas and a prosperous New Year.

All the best....
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great Barrier Island is certainly worth a visit and Steve is The Man to get as your tour guide. His knowledge and passion for the place really grabs you. Having lived on the Barrier since 1990 he has an amazing wealth of experiences to tell and in the most enthralling manner. A wonderful host. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days. Thanks Steve - you are doing a great job.

Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebee N Steve B, Owner at Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hi Monica,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We certainly had a great spot of weather during your groups visit so the island was looking pretty special. It was awesome meeting everyone and I had a great time showing you all around the Barrier.
Thanks for coming and have a great Xmas.
Best Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Taking a tour of the Island with Steve and Leanne is quiet simply a must do activity on the Island. I have had the pleasure of being taken around the Island twice now over two years by Steve. Steves knowledge of the geography,flora and fauna, history and the characters that have made the island such a hidden gem is all bought to light by Steve. He has a great sense of humour and is a brilliant story teller. As spectacular and as beautiful the scenery is, I have to say its the legends of past and present characters that Steve will impart to you that makes the experience so rewarding.

Thanks Steve and Leanne, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. You are magnificent hosts. I happily refer you and your company to anyone that is looking to experience the great places of New Zealand.

Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leebee N Steve B, Owner at Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hi Andy,
Thanks for such a great review!
It's been a real pleasure to help you and your travel groups discover Great Barrier Island.
Providing an authentic perspective of life on the Barrier has always been our main focus...
Easily achieved when our guests are as interested and receptive as those you send our way!!
Thanks again Andy... Hope we see you again soon.
Steve & Lianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours also viewed

Great Barrier Island, Auckland
Great Barrier Island, Auckland
 
Great Barrier Island, Auckland
Tryphena, Great Barrier Island
 

Been to Go Great Barrier Island - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing