We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flamborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The North Star Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is great and the staff really look after you and care about you. The room was lovely and clean with everything you could need. The food was superb and the portions were very generous and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you. As it is also open to non residents if you are in the area we would recommend you visit for a delicious meal.

Room Tip: This is a difficult one as there are only 7 rooms so think any would be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went here on a recommendation and was not disappointed. Good size rooms, well furnished, well maintained and spotlessly clean. Staff so friendly and helpful. The restaurant is way, way above the usual standard of pub/hotel cuisine. The choice of menu suits all tastes and is only surpassed by the quality of the food. Beware of the full breakfast as it is a "belly buster" and certainly not for the faint hearted although still maintaining the excellent quality. An ideal location for exploring the North Yorkshire coast and just a short trip to Bridlington, Filey and Scarborough. Should be 3 star minimum but really worthy of 4 stars for its food and service.

Room Tip: go for the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visit The North Star at least 48 weekends out of 52, boring you might say, 'Not so I reply" The staff are always pleasant and cheerful with nothing too much trouble for them. We are always welcomed, like every customer, with a warm and cheery smile. The food portions are generous with the famous 'Chef's Steak Pie' a must for the hungry eater. The 'old fashioned sweet trolly' is great as you can see exactly what you are about to order. The home made fruit pies are to die for but not recommended if you have just had the steak pie. You will not be able to move from your table!!!!. Quantity is not everything so quality is a must at The North Star as well. The specials board is always changing so there is plenty of variety to offer the regular visitor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stopped off for lunch after a very enjoyable walk along the coast. The food was good and well presented. A good range of vegetables, not over cooked and served separately . The desserts looked excellent but I had run out of room by then, next time I will make sure to leave some space.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Worth the journey to this lovely restaurant, go hungry you will get loads of food and they ask you if you would like more, it is in a class of its own, with Yorkshire coast at its finest a couple of hundred yards away, it is teaming with wild life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1952dsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had dinner at the North Star Hotel last week. The food was excellent - fresh fish, fresh veg, and puddings to die for. The portion sizes were very generous, and the puddings especially were massive - lots of cream, plus more cream, and fruit salad for the health conscious. Excellent value.
The staff were friendly and attentive.
The views from the dining room across the cliffs to Thornwick Bay and beyond to Filey were magnificent in the setting sun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisthemenace_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the North Star & what a fantastic little break it was hotel was very clean staff friendly and the food was brilliant ( I had the large brekky & it was immense). We had our evening meal in the pub restaurant which was also just as good I recommend the smoked haddock but everyone's food looked lovely. A good traditional hotel in which I will be returning when I'm up the East Riding again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reddevil81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flamborough
5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
3.8 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
604 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
15.8 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
9 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Star Hotel

Address: North Marine Road, Flamborough, Bridlington YO15 1BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington > Flamborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Hotel Class:2 star — The North Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and dramatic cliffs of East Yorkshire, The North Star Hotel has an award winning restaurant famous for fresh Flamborough seafood and wild game caught on the Yorkshire Wolds. Local produce is prepared and presented by classically trained Chef Michael Johnston, his wife Karen, and their team of loyal staff, to bring French cuisine and traditional Yorkshire fare to this exceptional, historical location. Be assured of the warm welcome and personal attention that only a small family owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The North Star Hotel Flamborough, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing