We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time and time again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flamborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The North Star Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time and time again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been coming to the North Star hotel at least 3 times a year since 1995ish and have never been disappointed. The food is always excellent as is the service. The staff are always friendly and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. We come to this area to walk and to watch the wildlife and I have to say the weather has never disappointed us either! That's more good luck than judgement I reckon though! You will not be disappointed at the North Star. Make sure you come between diets!

Room Tip: All 7 rooms are good but 6 & 7 have limited views. Room 1 is good for a special occasion with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BRADFORD
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just retuned from eating lunch here today. We arrived 10min after official closing time but the staff checked with the kitchen staff who agreed to serving us. We had the battered haddock and can honestly say it was some of the best I've tasted. Fresh fish, crispy batter and large portion. Unconventionally, sides of chips, boiled potatoes and three different veg. The braised leeks were delicious!

Clean bathrooms, friendly efficient service and good food, can't ask for more really!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Echo34Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stay in Flamborough for short mid week breaks several times a year. When I do I like to call in for a drink and a meal at the North Star Hotel. The food is lovely, well cooked and there's plenty of it. The bar staff, usually Brian is pleasant and always makes you feel welcome. The owner is pleasant and always speaks, and the staff are hard working and busy, but again are friendly and have time to say hello. I've not stayed here yet, but enjoy the food, especially the Desert trolley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had lunch here today with my Mum. On entering we were given a very warm welcome, sat down ordered our meal,mum chose the pensioners special and I opted for a steak. Friendly and quick service, meal was delicious and we felt so comfortable, I cannot rate this place enough fantastic, treat yourself :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed 6 nights at this hotel. What a great choice. Can only confirm what previous reviewers have said … superb service, staff can’t do enough for their visitors; good well presented food with a dessert trolley to die for; room very comfortable (we had a view over the sea cliffs towards Filey).
Give Bridlington a miss … what a dump!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithThomson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our family love the North Star! The food is always good quality and hot. Service is great too. Save some space for dessert as the trolley is laden with lots of tempting goodies. We have had numerous birthday celebrations here and at Mums last one they brought a little cupcake to the table with a candle in and the waitresses sang Happy Birthday to her which was a lovely touch.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our party of 8 mature to seniors enjoyed one of the best celebrations ever at this coastal hotel. We was warmly welcomed to an inviting atmosphere,directed to facilities,then shewn to a beautifully decorated table,with hats,balloons,streamers,party poppers,etc.We had prevously ordered our choice of menu of locally sourced,hot,food,politely served in a timely manner,tasty & well presented for the occasion.Exemplary service,with topups of veg.sauces,etc.a giant selection of desserts,with coffee,tea,to finish.After eating, the tables were tidied,& further drinks offered,waiters on hand & bar service all evening. The DJ had started his 60`s,70`s,80`s,music near the end of the meal,& continued to generate,including requests, a real party atmosphere to midnight climax & beyond.Staff joined in & helped to create an occasion to remember,many thanks & best wishes for your future success to this friendly family hotel team.A great start to 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flamborough
3.8 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
5.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Star Hotel

Property: The North Star Hotel
Address: North Marine Road | East Yorkshire, Flamborough, Bridlington YO15 1BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington > Flamborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Hotel Class:2 star — The North Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and dramatic cliffs of East Yorkshire, The North Star Hotel has an award winning restaurant famous for fresh Flamborough seafood and wild game caught on the Yorkshire Wolds. Local produce is prepared and presented by classically trained Chef Michael Johnston, his wife Karen, and their team of loyal staff, to bring French cuisine and traditional Yorkshire fare to this exceptional, historical location. Be assured of the warm welcome and personal attention that only a small family owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The North Star Hotel Flamborough, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing