We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most AMAZING view ever!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thornwick Bay Thornwick Bay, cottage just visible top right
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Thornwick Bay
Thornwick Bay, cottage just visible top right
View from cottage at sunset
New kitchen and stairs to upper cabin bedroom
The neighbours
Nearby golf courses
Down in the bay
Short-eared owl hunting on High Holme above Thornwick Bay
Jackobob up on the cliff
Thornwick Bay where bottlenose dolphins play -  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NN6PPLQ_rPI
Fabulous sunsets
The cottage and stars at night
Burton Agnes Hall a few miles away
Incredible view of Milky Way and shooting star photographed outside the cottage
The best fish and chip shop in the UK
View from the garden
Cottage from the fields below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flamborough, Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TopsyTyle...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The most AMAZING view ever!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Fantastic cottage with the the most wonderful views. We had a great time exploring the many sea caves, beaches, walks and bird spotting (loved the puffins)!
The cottage is very spacious, modern and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is very well stocked and has everything you could possibly need.
On a clear night we would recommend sitting outside and gazing up at the stars.
With very little light pollution the clarity is superb.
Would love to visit again - Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnAir6488...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in superb location.”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The cottage has been modernised and well thought out. It is spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable with everything you need. There is peace and quiet with only the occasional walker passing by. The location is simply breathtaking! Fantastic walks right from the door along the cliffs with abundant wildlife and wonderful views. Excellent for wildlife and landscape photographers. I would never have believed I could sit and watch Puffins within one minute of leaving the property! Some evenings we just sat for hours watching the sun set.
My wife and I felt it a privilege to stay here and have absolutely no complaints. Credit is due to the owners for making this cottage available.
Flamborough village Coop good for basic needs. Plenty of good places to eat within reasonable distance.
Tip. Make sure you get code for key before you arrive.
We are already planning a return visit as we both really loved our holiday here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Thanks so much....I'm so sorry you didnt receive the key code! I'm still baffled how you managed to get in! Hope you'll return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJay5
York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Wow - we have just returned from a superb stay at this lovely holiday home. The property is set on the cliff above Thornwick Bay with fantastic views out to sea and uninterrupted views across the fields towards the Lighthouse.
We were treated to amazing sunsets, also a flyby from the barn owl - not to mention all the birds and wildlife making an appearance during our stay.
The house itself has all the comforts of home, a fantastic new kitchen, lovely utility room and shower room as you walk in so muddy/sandy boots do not have to go through the house to reach the very modern bathroom.
All the bedrooms have everything you need to make your stay comfortable.
But the views from the lounge and kitchen are just stunning and so peaceful to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
There are many walks along the cliff depending on how energetic you feel - we went to the cafe at Thornwick Bay who do a very good bacon sandwich!
There are lots of eating places close by, we used the Rose and Crown and also The Seabirds in Flamborough where we had excellent meals in both places.
I can thoroughly recommend this holiday home and can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are so glad you had a lovely time and look forward to you coming to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2018
Thankyou so much Barbara. We look forward to your return. The building team and architect did a great job!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Thankyou! Come again now that the cottage has been fully renovated...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean b
1 review
“Jacobob amazing views and sunsets”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Been staying at jacobob for the last 8 years never want to stay anywhere else. The
sea views and sunsets have to be seen to be believed. Local pubs have very good home cooked meals. Royal dog and duck in flamborough village does a Sunday lunch which is very good value, the owners just can't do enough for you would highly recommend. Best fish and chips are from 149 on main road to flamborough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
The cottage has been extended and fully renovated. We hope you enjoy your stay even more next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrear
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning location”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week here, we were so lucky with the weather, no rain at all and not too cold, apart from the day we arrived and the wind was blowing hard. The photos do not do justice to the real thing. The views are breathtaking. The windows are all triple glazed so I should imagine it remains cosy even in the winter. Be aware that the coast path runs very close to the cliff edge in places, so maybe not a good idea to take very young children, although they would be quite safe in the garden. Beds were very comfortable and a good size. Electric heaters kept us warm in the evenings, and plenty of logs supplied for the fire.
Upstairs toilet very cramped, as others have mentioned, but we didn't find it a problem. Good selection of DVD's and books. Everything you need, even hot water bottles! I'm sure we will go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/views
Liked least: no internet access
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Many thanks. Glad you had great weather.
Just to let others know in the first half of 2016 we plan an extension to the kitchen, a new open log fire ( the current one is too recessed) and a dormer to expand the upstairs toilet. We shall also install air sourced heating for new electric radiators.
Yes, your point about young children is important as we are quite close to the cliff edge so supervision is necessary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing