We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual stay”
Review of Flamborough Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flamborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamborough Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unusual stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My first impression when first arriving at the manor house , where is it? Host showed us the entrance and wow what a beautiful building.

Amazing period building , beautiful garden and house features. Like walking into your long lost relatives house. Lots of personal features inside such as family pictures and antique period fixtures and fittings.

Felt a bit awkward when the host asked about breakfast times. Not much flexibility with agreeing a time.

Bedroom was beautiful and lovely period bathroom. Issues raised with bathroom used soaps placed on the sides and also the bidet. ): (Not very hygienic!),
Expect small toiletries as standard in most B&B establishments and nothing was supplied. Bathroom needed a shower, it would be a crime to have a modern shower, should look for a period one which would enhance bathroom.

Bedroom was clean and warm. Very cosy and had a good nights sleep.


Breakfast was excellent with fresh eggs.

Need to improve bathroom and then price would be reasonable.




  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albion782002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. A very warm welcome and an idyllic, comfortable room. The breakfast was ample, and we enjoyed the fresh eggs from the hens in the garden! Would definitely stay again when in the area. Was only a short walk from the beach.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PotterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at the end of July. Lovely period property that has been kept in character. Large bathroom and bedroom however the attention to detail is lacking.
Nice to see bottle water in the room however the coffee and tea seemed to have been there since the start of the season (free sample jar of coffee partially used, that had been open so long it had started to turn grey.) Milk was provided 'in a jug' however we felt too uncomfortable to ask for this and had a wander down to the local shop to purchase coffee and milk.
Breakfast shall we say was spartan and we shared a table with the other guests that were in the property at the same time .. at 8:30am as we were instructed!
Toiletries, I always take my own however those provided were full sized half used bottles that just seemed to be left from guest to guest, plus a small pail of samples and what appeared to be unwanted Christmas gifts partially used and really old. It might just be me, but I don't want to use products that have been used previously by a stranger, very off putting.
Although the room was comfortable and clean, we did not feel welcome. Its the little things that count and atmosphere wise, there was definately something lacking.
The only saving grace for this location is that the house itself is fantastic

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank k_whit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
349 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This small two-room gem is perfect for getting away from it all. It is just like staying in someone’s private home, and the furnishings are exquisite. Our bedroom (with the Portuguese bed) was spacious, and the bathroom was as large as some small hotel rooms. Breakfast is served in a glorious small dining room, and the eggs come from the owner’s chickens! Sitting on a couch in the lounge (in the States we say the living room) in front of the fireplace, surrounded by books and beautiful antiques made us want to stay home and not bother to go exploring.
But one can’t come here and not explore, because there is so much to see within a few miles, starting with the bird sanctuary at the Bempton Cliffs. The seabirds are below the viewer and the sights and sounds are thrilling. Farther up the coast are small towns, with Filey nearest, but don’t miss Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby. Two still-lived-in grand houses, Burton Agnes Hall and Castle Howard, are just minutes away. For those interested in naval history, the battle where John Paul Jones, US Navy, supposedly said “I have not yet begun to fight” took place just off Flamborough Head in 1779, and that site is in easy walking distance.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

A very nice attractive house with excellent rooms and bedrooms. Located at the corner of two village roads, but quiet with a walled garden. The breakfast was excellent and the hostess very friendly aand attentive, but we didn't see anything of 'Mr. Flamborough Manor'.
We always choose our overnight accommodation through Wolsey Lodges so one annoyance was that although dinner was quoted as an option on the website, when we asked about it we were told that they were not providing dinner because they were too busy running other business. Fair enough, but the website should say so.

There is at least one decent pub for dinner in the village, but otherwise Flamborough village does not have much to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I found this B&B through the Wolsey Lodge website. The Manor is an elegant Georgian building, in the centre of the village. My room was very comfortable with the largest private bathroom I’ve ever seen! The hosts were charming and very helpful. Eating out in the village for the lone traveller was a bit tricky, but I found a good local fish and chip shop and ate them on the beach!

If you’re interested in traditional Gansey (fishermen’s) sweaters, the proprietors run a shop selling them (finished and in kit form).
I’d certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Elegance
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chalkhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2006

Do you like?...open log fires, four poster beds, peace & quiet, roll-top cast-iron baths, a feeling of being at home and a good full English breakfast? then you will like it here!

We have been visiting Flamborough for years but never knew this was a B&B, discovered quite by accident, lucky us! Charming Georgian period house, lovely gardens, well-placed near village centre but still quietly located- perfect!

Was is'nt so perfect is the lack of a shower (or shower spray)in the bathroom and the hot water ran out rather early, the reasons why I have given a four-rating, otherwise I would have given five.

We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flamborough
0.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamborough Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamborough Manor

Property: Flamborough Manor
Address: Flamborough, Bridlington YO15 1PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington > Flamborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Flamborough Manor England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing