We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flamborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornwick Bay Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic site”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been coming to this site for years.my mum and dad took myself and my sister here when to camp it was £1.00 per night.we then started using the chalets then caravans now me and my husband own a caravan on this site.there is nothing bad I can say about thornwick holiday centre just all good.the grounds are immaculate everyone who works here you can tell love there jobs all of them have pride in what they do.i have been to a lot of the well known holiday sites and the last time I visited the one in filey we got our money back and went straight to thornwick.the facilities are great you can play bingo,swim,use the gym,amusements,play on the large playing field.everything we need they have.the staff in the office are fantastic helpful,friendly which is what other sites need a lesson in good manners.the caravans they have for rent are the best I have ever stayed in all very ultra modern,clean.myself and my husband loved staying in there vans but owning our own is fantastic.i always recommend this site to family and friends. I just wished it stayed open longer I hate not being at thornwick our home from home.keep up the good work you all do an amazing job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieannamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThornwickBay, Director of Sales at Thornwick Bay Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review of our Park and what we offer! Unfortunately you are right that many parks in our area can sometimes come across poorly if they have unmotivated and uncaring staff. We are proud of our team at Thornwick and at Greenacre and we are always looking to put you guys first in order to have a good time and keep coming back to us! We really appreciate your great comments and I will share them on our Facebook for others to enjoy! PS If you think our hire fleet units are great now....just wait till you see what we are offering in 2014! Best Wishes John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    137
    47
    39
    29
See reviews for
397
91
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

went for a week took grankids we had a pitch in centre near park and toilet block was a good flat pitch. the club house is great you would think you were on a haven site kids loved the shows and sweet shop and the amusement arcade.the swimming pool was good too nice and warm to get into easily. my hubby took the lads fishing in the lake and we visited danes dyke which is only 5 mins in car down the road thats a great day out for a picnic. it gets a bit breezy up on the pitches as your high up but is always good fresh air and knocks the kids out for bed.the toilets are not too bad there are plenty of blocks to choose from they do get cleaned but by the end of day do sometimes smell but thats life. and there are wash stations outside for washing pots too. overall its good we have been back about 6 times now and always never been dissapointed ,when the kids went home we had a couple of nights in the adult only bar with great comedian on and disco . i would recomend you trying this site out and bet you go back again but book early on kids hols as it does get booked up early shouldnt of told you all that i might not get in next year heehee enjoy folks x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

went camping here couple of weeks ago, had a great time, kids loved it, beautiful location, plenty of onsite activities, realy good onsite shop which was surprisingly cheap. Only bad point, the toilet block looked like it hadnt been cleaned for a week.!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank holig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

1st time to this site and was surprised by how big it was. Even though it was bank holiday weekend and the site was fully booked everything was great. The site was clean. Toilets and showers were in good condition and warm. Entertainment was good and bars were well organised. Only thing that needed making clearer was activities such as swimming and play areas were extra on top of entertainment passes. Be aware though most of the twnt pitches are on slopes. Very enjoyable and would go back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

2nd year running we have been here and we love it, great for us as i take my dog. nearby holiday resorts great for days out beaches excellent i would definately live here.fantastic walks along cliffs, plenty of open spaces for kids to play, swimming pool and and arcade good for kids, did'nt use bars much as dogs not allowed, staff friendly and helpful , can't wait to go back

Room Tip: 3 bed caravan excellent for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 days in a tent on a serviced pitch.vast amount of space for a 10man tent a gazebo and 2 vehicles!couldnt fault the pitch.shower blocks toilets pot wash rooms all spotless and cleaned several times a day,excellent security patrol throughout the night and also very friendly,always had time for a chat or a simple hello!clib house is huge and reasonable prices for food and drink although I did find most entertainment was aimed at younger children and not much interest for the over 10s,staff and security throughout the site always very friendly,swimming pool very clean but also very small for a site of this size and was always very full.location of the sight was very good with plenty of places to have a drive out to all within 10 to 20 min drive away,highly recommend Danes dyke! Does tent to be very windy on the site as your at a high point!all in all had a lovely stay there and was lucky with nice weather,would recommend to families with younger children every time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I found this site average, a bit dated in the toilet/shower/washing up facilities, the family shower area was OK, the entertainment team were fantastic, I feel the site does need a 'makeover', however it was clean & tidy (toilet paper & foam wash could do with replenishing a bit more often), also the 1 hand drier was poor in the camping facility & main site. Could do with working hand driers both up at site & camping facilities. Shower facilities could ALL have hanging hooks (not too high so that children cannot reach), a shelf for easy access to belongings would be good & also more than 3 per block would be good. In the family facilities it would be good for somewhere to put your toiletries in the shower, also would be good to able to clean your teeth without getting completely soaked from the cold water tap! Price charged does only include your stay & access to the facilities, however if you do want to use the swimming facilities or kids 'play area' in the main site it is extra, so be careful if booking thinking everything is included, kids entertainment is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flamborough
3.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
581 reviews
4.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
228 reviews
11.4 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
2.1 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 117 in Bridlington
461 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
#10 of 29 in Bridlington
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornwick Bay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornwick Bay Holiday Village

Property: Thornwick Bay Holiday Village
Address: Thornwick & Sea Farm Holiday Centre North Marine Road, Flamborough, Bridlington YO15 1AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington > Flamborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Flamborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornwick Bay Holiday Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornwick Bay is nestled near the Historic Village of Flamborough in East Yorkshire. We have facilities for the whole family and provide different types of accommodation including Static holiday homes, fully refurbished chalets and a wide selection of touring and tenting pitches.We have a brand new restaurant called the lighthouse which serves delicious meals including pizzas made in our very own pizza oven. We also have a showbar which features amazing entertainment from our very own Thornwick Bay Theatre Company and also have visiting acts for you to enjoy. The swimming pool is also brand new for this year, this includes 3 separate pools with a 3 lane fun slide, there are also many splash features in the pools which are lots of fun! We are lucky to be located near the fantastic cliff top walks, caves , beaches and the amazing wildlife which we are keen to support and promote to visitors to the area. We are part of the Haven family and have recently had a multi million pound refurbishment! We look forward to seeing you and we hope you make some memories to cherish forever. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornwick Bay Holiday Village Flamborough, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing