We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fort and palace”

Panch Mahal - Fatehpur Sikri
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Ahmedabad City Walking Tour Including Traditional Gujarati Breakfast and...
Certificate of Excellence
Valinhos, SP
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Amazing fort and palace”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very impressive stone construction made by the great moghul imperor Akbar, very well preserved, one of the best I have seem not only in India but worldwide, with a sad story behind (they had to abandon the city due to lack of water). Definitively worth a visit. Just be very carefull with the vendors in the entrance, watch out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aguywhotravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    214
    45
    12
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best in Fatehpur Sikri”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Undoubtedly, Panch Mahal is the best monument in Fatehpur Sikri. This can be better enjoyed when you know the history of Fatehpur Sikri and Panch Mahal. But never depend on the guides. Most of the guides are unauthorized and overpriced for two hours maximum. To enjoy this place at least three hours is required. So better wander here on your own.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashiq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Magnificent site, almost ruined by touts and scams”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The city itself is magnificent and enchanting, and was one of the highlights of our trip to India. The buildings and courtyards are exquisitely preserved, and it's well worth the journey from Agra.

Unfortunately any independent travellers will need to be aware of the scams:

Taxis will stop at a car park short of the entrance and tell you that you need to take a rickshaw the rest of the way. The rickshaw will agree a price and then take you the rest of the way, which turns out to be about 300 metres (and you would have walked it in less time than it takes to bargain with a driver).

The local madrassa sends its students to the entrance to try and pick up visitors, claiming that they work at the site and offering to act as guides. They're VERY persistant and VERY annoying.

At the main entrance to the site there are two roads, one to the left (leading to the Jama Masjid mosque) and one uphill to the right (to the palace). We were mobbed by "guides" who insisted that the entrance to Fatehpur Sikri was through the mosque, where they also insist that you have to pay to enter, pay to bring a camera, etc. Fortunately we realised we were being tricked. We discovered later that diverting visitors into the mosque is the most common scam, and some unfortunate visitors have left Fatehpur Sikri without ever having managed to get into the palace.

On finally entering the palace area you will again be approached by "guides" who insist that the buildings cannot be appreciated without a guide. You'll need to tell them loudly to go away. We saw some poor English tourists who had given in and were being dragged around by one of the "guides" who was yelling at them about 16th century Indian politics (!)

My advice for anyone visiting Fatehpur Sikri is to refuse all offers of help, ignore all guides and assume almost* everyone is lying to you.

* One exception - the Archaeological Service staff who sell tickets at the palace entrance!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank davidsmith159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Such fun to explore!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was such a fun place to explore! We had a great time checking out every inch of it. The architecture and carvings are fascinating. We did not use a guide here and felt that we did just fine using by reading the signs since our guide the day before had prepped us on what we would be seeing. However, if you haven't learned about it ahead of time I might recommend a guide.

Don't miss this place, we truly enjoyed every moment here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CStevens218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Deserted Moghul Empire Capital - What a story”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This red sandstone city was once the captial of the Moghul Empire but was abandoned due to the scarcity of water. It was a magnificant walled city. Fascinating history which is worth getting a good guide for. Ensure your driver also stops before or after the visit to let you get a picture of the incredible wall. This is a great stop off if you are driving from Jaipur to Agra.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lily933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panch Mahal - Fatehpur Sikri also viewed

Agra, Agra District
Agra, Agra District
 
Fatehpur Sikri, Agra District
Fatehpur Sikri, Agra District
 

Been to Panch Mahal - Fatehpur Sikri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing