We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Suite Villa Maria(La Caleta)
$273
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$187
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$482
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$240
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,210)
Filter reviews
1,210 results
Traveler rating
445
498
191
49
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
498
191
49
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewhalf boardpool areabus stop right outside the hotelair conbeach barsuperior roomcooking facilitiesquiet locationlas americas and los cristianosthree starbuilding worksports teamsother resortssitting roomcoastal pathevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 1,210 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had asked for a south facing sea view, and initially were given one facing NW, but after a few days were given another with a sunny balcony and sea view, really lovely. We were just on B &B and otherwise made some simple meals in the kitchen corner, and ate out, but the evening we ate in was very good food and great choice.
Sun terrace with jacuzzi upstairs was good for when not shining on the balcony, and pool was not crowded at this time of year although hotel was full.

Room Tip: ask for sea view, ask for sun if you want it ie south facing, and maybe consider superior rooms on upper floors
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GodfatherOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear customer, thanks for your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our customers have enjoy in Hotel Jardin Caleta.
We hope yo see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at the hotel from 3-10 January and had a really nice tine. The hotel is very clean indeed which is surprising for a 3star premises. The staff are very friendly and happy to help whenever possible. The entertainment in the evening was fairly good and was a bonus. The food is very good and there is a fair amount of choice, I am very fussy but every night found something to eat and was very happy with the quality. The salad was very fresh and was replenished continuously. Breakfast was very nice especially the bacon. All the staff work very hard but still have the time to smile and say hello, the bar and restaurant staff are a credit to the hotel. The area its self is a fair way from the next town but it a surreal walk along the seafront to reach it. just a 5 minute walk from the hotel there is a beautiful selection of lovely little bars and restaurants with stunning views. Tenerife is wonderful and this hotel is good value or money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chanel077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear customer, we are very happy to read that you enjoied in Hotel Jardin Caleta.Thanks for your nice comments about the staff and the food. We try to be a big family and make you feel at home.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We just spent four fantastic nights at this fantastic hotel. Loved it, and plan to return next year. I have NO IDEA why people are whining and complaining about this place--the problem must be their own unhappiness with life, unless they are writing such negative reviews so as to keep the hotel available for themselves!

Some of the highlights:
* We stayed in an ocean-facing room, definitely worth it. We ate some of our lunches or dinners on the balcony, enjoying the waves and the beautiful view. At night, we fell asleep to the tumbling melody of the ocean.

* The three pools provided fun for adults and kids alike. The baby splash-pool was heated (a plus in January!), and deep enough for us and all the little kids to play beach-ball. The bigger pool was semi-warm, meaning that it was good for "real" swimming. I didn't brave the unheated third pool, but it looked lovely. There was a lifeguard on duty during the daytime.

* Pepe, the leader of the Kids' Club and the animation team, was great. Full of energy and smiles, he was great with the kids. And, how many languages does he speak?!? We heard Spanish, English, German, French, Italian.....The kid's disco was from 8:30 pm - 9pm, and some sort of show followed. Made it fun for our 5 year-old to stay up and "party" with her new friends.

* The hotel is in La Caleta, a quiet fishing village. You will NOT find wild discos, tons of drinks, crazy "action" or shopping here. And that is part of La Caleta's charm. You will find a beautiful cove surrounded by a promenade and some of the best fish restaurants I have ever eaten in. You will find friendly locals, who are happy to chat for a minute or two. You will find hiking trails through the rugged lava over a peninsula to a hidden swimming area, frequented by some of the 20-somethings in the area. You will find peace and calm.

* Across the street is a black-sand beach, stony in places, but nice for a swim. A little further down is Playa del Duque, a better choice for young children. Check out the smoothie stand! We hit the pool in the morning, then visited the beach in the afternoon. Wonderful!

* A kind and attentive staff. I was amazed at how many languages EVERYONE seemed to speak, and how they graciously flowed from language to language. Our room was cleaned every day. The pools and hot tub were cleaned every day. The wait staff made our young daughter feel like a princess with the positive attention she received.

* The room was large, airy, and comfortable. We had a sitting room, and the staff made up part of the sofa into a little bed for our child. The bedroom faced the ocean. The pillows were a little hard, and the double bed was two mattresses pushed together. There was a shower, toilet, bidet, sink and hair dryer. There was also a little kitchenette with a water cooker, stove, refrigerator, and basic cooking supplies.

What you WON'T find:
* Wild nightlife, shopping.

* Brilliant meals and drinks. The food was okay, but that seems to be par for the course when cooking for over 200 guests a day. The breakfast buffet was extensive, and we could always find something to eat. We only ate one dinner in the hotel, and that was enough, especially with the fantastic fish restaurants a 5 minute walk away. We also learned to get lunch supplies elsewhere and enjoy them on our balcony.

* A room stocked with toiletries. It's a three-star hotel, so bring your own shampoo and conditioner. If you forget something, there's a small but well-supplied store adjacent to the hotel.

An interesting detail is the crowd at the hotel. We quickly made friends with two other families with young children, and spent many happy hours at the pool and beach. There were some folks who spent their time in a sun lounge from morning til dusk, water bottle in hand, and the handful of pushy senior citizens clambering for the coffee machine (but where aren't there people like that?!). Also, several collegiate sports teams used the hotel as a base while training. The athletes were respectful, quiet and kept to themselves. We thought it kind of fun, an inspiration to get fitter when we returned home. Overall, a mellow, friendly, and relaxed crowd.

All in all, this was a great hotel, and we had an enjoyable stay. The "problems" were minor details that didn't--and shouldn't--spoil a beach vacation. I am already looking forward to our next visit. Keep up the good work, Hotel Jardin Caleta!

Room Tip: ocean facing rooms are worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank solyluna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear customer, thanks very much for spending your time in so nice comments about the hotel Jardin Caleta. We are very happy to read that your holidays were wonderful and you liked everything of the hotel. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed there for a week - nice and peaceful. The rooms were well maintained, clean and comfortable. The beds and the pillows good. We payed extra for the sea view and it was worth every penny, great view of the sea and the mountains. We watched the sunset from our balconies and that was beautiful. The food was excellent. The staff vas friendly. I would definitely stay there on my next visit to Tenerife

Room Tip: room with the sea view are quieter and you can watch the amasing sunset from your balconies you pay extra for the sea view but it is worth every penny
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agusta50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear customer, thanks very much for your nice comments about the Hotel Jardin Caleta, mainly about the food.
It is a pleasure to read that you have had a nice holidays. we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at Jardin Caleta and would highly recommend this hotel.

We arrived early but were given a room to store our luggage until our room was ready. Other reviews have stated the room are dated, but this can be expected from hotels in this price range all over Europe. The rooms were more than adequate, well maintained, clean and comfortable, the beds were about the best I've experienced in a hotel of this standard. We had room 452 on the rear corner, top floor, which had great views of both sea and mountains.

Location is excellent, being a reasonable distance from any major resort but close enough for a pleasant walk to both beautiful beaches and an abundance of restaurants, bars and shops in neighboring resorts. Caleta itself is well worth a wander around its lovely rugged shoreline.

We stayed B&B and the breakfasts were spectacular! I've never seen so much variety and quantity of food on offer for breakfast! We also stayed for the Wednesday evening barbeque buffet, and experienced similar standards in choice and quantity. All food was of excellent quality and value, the barbeque being only 12,90 for all you could eat.

Though we only visited the pool area once during our stay, it was nice and never seemed too busy. Similarly, the hot tub was frequently available and very enjoyable, overlooking the sea and set above the rest of the hotel for a nice feeling of privacy and great view.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. When our booking agent failed to provide us with the hotel booking documents it didn't hold up our check in, and the receptionist even contacted an excursion organiser to sort things when our transport didn't pick us up.

We can't fault this hotel at all, excellent all round. Would definitely book again if we return to Tenerife.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Manager at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear customer:
thanks very much for your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our customers have enjoy in Hotel Jardin Caleta.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews