We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok...good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Caleta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was ok...good value for money”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Went there in aug 2011.

PLUSES:
+ good food,
+ quiet in the night,
+ large ocean view rooms,
+ nice balcony,
+ polite and helpful front desk staff
+ nice pool area
+ the rest of the clients were ok, mostly families and couples, no nosy groups

MINUSES:
- far away from downtown, the only way to go out at night, if you don't have a car, is by taxi (aprox 34 euro, round trip),
- awfull restaurant staff: not one smile; angry and noisy waitresses; they wouldn't let me charge my camera for 10 min while eating... don't know why

Overall a nice hotel... I recommend it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CasaBuniciiPredeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, responsable de la promoción online at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Client,

First of all thank you very much for the feedback regarding our hotel and for recommending us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. For the little inconveniences you experienced in the restaurant we would like to apologize, as we always try to fulfull all of our guests wishes. We are looking forward to see you again in the near future,

Best wishes,
Hovima-Aparthotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    416
    162
    44
    21
See reviews for
421
393
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed from 30 July 2011 for ten days. Myself, my husband and three children (16/12/11). Reception staff were polite and helpful and could speak English quite well. We were givena ground floor apartment near the pool. Apartment clean and spacious. Self catering facilities minimal (toaster/kettle/fridge and twin hob) but we went half board so that was not an issue for us. Towels changed daily except Friday and Sunday and room cleaning as well.
Pool area - Always clean and well maintained. Always enough sunbeds even at it's busiest time. Chlorine in pool just right - not overpowering. Lifeguard from 10:30 - 18:30. You can relax and let your children play in the pool. Poolside diner - good selection.
Entertainment - Sports bar and mini disco in the evening - A few small shows (birds/snakes when we were there) but mainly a quite hotel. Mainly Spanish, German and Belgium guests. Not many English. Entertainment man called Richard tries to round up the kids from the pool to join in arranged events on site like air gun demos and Air Hockey tournaments.
Food - Well I have the fussiest kids in the world and there wasn't a day that we felt that we were not catered for. In 10 days we all ate good foods which were not repeated whilst we were there - The food was lovely! Only critism was you had to pay for your water with you meal. Wine and soft drinks I can understand - but water?
Overall - we were pleased with the catering, apartment, cleanliness, pool and service. Down side was the entertainment but for a few euro's you can travel into Playa Fanabe or San Eugenio (recommend St Eugens Bar!) for more lively evenings.

Would recommend and would go again. Needs to have it's star rating revised I think.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rackersmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Booked a last minute holiday here for myself, husband and daughter,12. The hotel is nice, the cleaners do an excellent job. Food very good, a nice choice. We paid extra for a sea view which i regret, the view is wonderful, and the balcony on the front is in the shade in the day, but the road outside gets noisy at about 4.30am when the bin men come and people zoom along in their cars. The rooms have no air conditioning which makes it very uncomfortable to sleep, i had to leave balcony door open to get some air. Opposite by the sea is a sewage works. One night at 10am till 4.30am, some men came with big lorries and put tubes into the sewage plant and sucked it all out. The smell was sickening and this went on for hours. I do not know how often this is done. When i spoke to reception they pretended they did not know anything about it. I also noticed one in Playa la duque up the road and this had a constant smell. If you want air conditioning it costs 20 euros a night. They have limited rooms on the third floor. We were given the option to move to a room in direct sunlight which would have made the room even hotter, we declined. The pool is nice, the pool man cleans it every day, but there is alot of scum on the sides and on the pool step handles. Be careful when walking around the pool as it gets very slippy, my daughter fell over twice when walking. The spa is luke warm, a perfect place for bacteria, this is on the roof terrace. Overall this is a lovely hotel, the staff do there job, not amazingly friendly. Not many English people stay here, mostly French and German. If you walk along the promenade for about 20 minutes you come to Playa la Duque, it has a beautiful white sand beach and sunbeds and the sea is safer to swim, lots of waves. the backdrop looks like Portmerrion, fantastic and there are a few shops and a Spar. The bus goes from outside the hotel to Los christianos and Playa and costs 1.30 euro wherever you are going, even if to the next stop. Siam park is a must to visit, the rides are amazing, well worth a day out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, web secretary at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your opinion. We really appreciated it and we will consider it for improving our services. We look forward to see you again.
Kind regards-Web secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Just returned from Jardin Caleta where we had a 10 day honeymoon. The hotel was superb and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is fairly basic and as some people have already commented the bathrooms are a little outdated but really, how much time do you spend in the bathroom on holiday? It's a minor gripe and despite it being outdated in its 'feel' everything functioned as expected so you can't complain :-)

The hotel is in a fairly quiet location but you can walk easily to busy areas (which we did daily).. There are bus stops directly outside the hotel.. There is also a cash machine at the front door of the hotel which we found invaluable.. There is a black sand and pebble beach across the road but if you keep walking for about 10 mins you come to a lovely sandy beach and a nice area with some excellent bar/restaurants. A further walk of about 10 mins brings you to the busier part of the resort with more English themed bars (if that's your type of thing).. We walked every day but a cab would have you there in about 5 mins and there is a cab rank at the front door of the hotel.

The food and restaurant are superb, there is a massive variety of hot and cold food and every day it was fresh, well presented and the layout is well structured to prevent too much queuing. The restaurant has plenty of room both inside and out.

I can't say enough good things about the staff. Everyone we encountered was superb. The receptionists spoke at least 3 languages and were very efficient and helpful. The restaurant staff were amazing during our stay, you were greeted each night and they soon learned our drink order and had it ready the moment they saw us coming in. Tables are cleaned with military precision the moment they are left and the staff always had a Buenos Dias or Buenos Tardes for us every day :-) Nothing was too much trouble and this really impressed us during our stay.

The only thing I would say (if you like to chat to fellow holidayers!) is that we were the only English people there for most of the 10 days. The hotel was full of French, German and Dutch guests - I think this might be why there are not many English reviews on here for this hotel. Don't let that put you off though, we saw it as a good thing :-)

The entertainment does leave a lot to be desired (confirmed by the fact that by 10 everyone had gone to bed and the place was deserted!) but the hotel does try to put something on every night and during our stay this included a fashion show, bingo, snake charmer, Elvis night and a quiz night (but again, as most of the guests aren't English, this kinda fell flat for us). There is very little to do during the day in terms of entertainment but the hotel has a pool table, air hockey, ping pong and bowling areas.

The only other thing I would say is that this is a very Family/Child friendly resort so if children screaming/bouncing balls and generally behaving like children puts you off then you probably want to look somewhere else! :-)

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Web Secretary at HOVIMA Jardin Caleta, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind and optimist opinion about our hotel. we are glad to hear you spend a nice holiday and the stay at Jardín Caketa was a lovely one. We look forward to see you again.

Kind regards, -Web secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of this 3 star hotel. Beautiful view to the sea and only 50 m to a small partly sandy beach which were never crowded during our stay. Bus stop is right outside the hotel with 40 min service to town centre. The hotel staff even cleaned the road in front of the hotel and replaced waste bags at the bus stop!
The village Caleta is really an unspoiled beauty only a minutes walk from the hotel. The village has a lot of restaurants along the sea. From the west end of the village there is a rugged walk path along the sea and a more sandy beach is soon reached.
The hotel is superb for people that enjoys outdoor life, night life is probably non existing in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountainwalker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed at jardin caleta in week 5, 2011
It was OK, but not wow!!
Think allmost everything was average. The room was old and kind of worn out, but also spacious and all you need is there. The room are ok clean but not more. Bought 1 week of wifi internet for 29 euro, and was told afterwards that it was only working in the reception area. I tried here but no luck , not until day 2,after getting quite angry, i got a code that worked.
Should also say that the staff was very kind and helpfull.
We liked the area,quiet and good fish-restaurants (rekomm: Pisci)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bireneDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed there for two weeks with our 8 months old baby. The room was clean and nice, but the furniture a little old (including the baby cot). We have seen some big roaches in the reception area, but otherwise the hotel was clean.
The food was correct, nothing special and a little bit repetitive.
The staff was very nice.
The beach is very close and very nice.
We think of going again this year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Caleta
1.6 mi away
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
#22 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,926 reviews
1.8 mi away
HOVIMA Santa Maria
HOVIMA Santa Maria
#42 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
2.0 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#29 of 58 in Costa Adeje
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Jardin Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Jardin Caleta

Property: HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
Address: Avenida Las Gaviotas, n.32, 38660 La Caleta, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Jardin Caleta)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > La Caleta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Caleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOVIMA Jardin Caleta 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for family or couple holidays, and for athletes or golf players that may use the sports centers nearby. HOVIMA Jardín Caleta is located beside "La Enramada" beach and near "Playa del Duque" beach. Due to its situation, it is an excellent option for some relaxed holidays without having to give up the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your HOVIMA Jardin Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Jardin Caleta Hotel La Caleta
Jardin Caleta Aparthotel La
Jardin Caleta Aparthotel Hotel La
Jardin Caleta Tenerife
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta La Caleta, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing