We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful retreat, wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moose B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moose B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Dorset B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat, wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our winter stay at the Moose B&B in Dorset was fabulous from beginning to end. We stayed in the Birch suite, a beautifully decorated mini-apartment, with a luxurious bathroom, complete with all the amenities you could wish for. The bed was heavenly. Everything was spotless.
Our breakfast was absolutely delicious, best we've ever had! Debi makes the bread fresh every day, along with homemade cookies and other treats, including fresh popcorn to enjoy while you watch a movie in the evening.
The location is great, a one minute walk into the centre of town. Algonquin Park and Huntsville are just a short drive away.
I would recommend this B&B as your first choice to stay in Muskoka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi J, Owner at The Moose B&B, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for ttaking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! We certainly appreciate all of your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed with my parents and my husband for two nights - Oct 12 and 13, 2012 and we had the best service we've ever had at a B&B. We have been to several B&B in the UK and Canada, but nothing compares to the service and comfort we got at this lovely B&B. Debie, its host made us both days an amazing gourmet breakfast!!! She also encouraged us to use all the facilities, including the canoe, the dinning and lounge area, Jacuzzi, etc.

We also had our own fridge and coffee maker with high quality coffee.

We highly recommend this place if you want to have a lovely and peaceful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaSaavedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi J, Owner at The Moose B&B, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are so glad that you were able to spend the time with us and share some quality time with your family. Your enthusiasm for The Moose really encourages us to do whatever we can to make your stay as memorable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Moose B&B in Dorset for 2 nights, in the Birch Suite, Aug 21 & 22. Everything was first rate including cleanliness, breakfast, accommodations, amenities……..

Breakfast: Ours was served on a private balcony, table for two (white linen) overlooking the water. Food was amazing and nicely presented; Debra is a wonderful cook! Everything is home made & fresh, including the bread, and there are loads of menu items to choose from which is very unusual for a B&B. Great coffee too!

Accommodations: (Birch Suite)
The bathroom is very large with a separate shower and jet tub.
King size bed, in a huge room with full size living area (comfy home-style couches), large flat screen. Really nice furniture throughout; feels like you are staying in a friend’s home.

There is also a mini kitchen with fridge & coffee-maker, dinnerware, cutlery, glasses etc for your use (all very clean). We also had a nice private balcony over-looking the water.

Misc: Rolo the dog is soooooooo adorable.

For the record I am the ‘finnicky and picky’ one of the two of us, and this place surpassed my standards in every way!

I may have missed some details here, but without writing a book, we had a wonderful stay, and highly recommend it. Very clean and great value for your money overall.

Location: Very close to Huntsville and Algonquin Park.

Room Tip: The Birch Suite is huge and very comfortable. Nice for when you are relaxing back at your room betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic two night stay here, staying in the Sage suite, a luxury double with an amazing bathroom. We made the most of the good weather and enjoyed a paddle in the canoe as well as a swing in the hammock. Debi made us most welcome with a film to watch both nights in the gorgeous lounge area and freshly made chocolate chip cookies.

Breakfast was the best we've ever had, with blueberry pancakes, smoked salmon bagels and really tasty homemade bread and preserves. We could not fault it and will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a lovely weekend at The Mose B&B and can't wait to go back! Stunning location along the canal, with a gorgeous property with tons of space. The B&B itself was clean, private, and absolutely gorgeous. Stayed in the Birch Suite, which boasts a California King size bed that you could sleep for days in, jacuzzi, walkout sundeck and fireplace (just to name a few of the amenities). The room is absolutely huge, with a sitting area with flat screen TV and extremely comfy couch (which doubles as a pull-out), massive bathroom (very bright and clean), a large open-concept closet coupled with a mini-bar (including fridge), and of course the sleeping area itself. As for the food - it will blow your mind. Fresh bread bread every morning with homemade preserves and jams, not to mention the delicious breakfast options themselves. Definitely a haven for foodies, and even those who aren't will leave singing praises to the chef, Debbie.

A great spot for going with family, friends, or a special someone! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Birch Suite and loved it. Also know people who have stayed in the Sage and Lily Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from Sunday to Wednesday in July 2012. The breakfast was awesome, it was enough to keep us full until dinner time. Deb and Calvin were excellent hosts and made us feel right at home, we also had the pleasure of meeting Melody and Sven who were also great hosts! We stayed in the Birch Suite which was wonderful for our tenth wedding anniversary, it was like having a mini cottage within a house. It was nice to use the in room Jacuzzi tub and having our own personal balcony was an added touch. We originally were going to visit Alongonquin Park, but it was so relaxing and serene that we spent one of the days just canoeing the lake with the canoe available to use from The Moose B&B and taking in the sunshine on the dock. The following day Sven recommended checking out Limberlost for hiking which was free and had three lakes to hike around with marked trails, as opposed to spending $16 to get into Algonquin. It was a spot on suggestion, we ended up hiking 21km and enjoyed a little time at the sandy beach with swimming area at the end of our hike. I also was able to get a little fishing in off of the dock right at the Moose BandB which was relaxing as well, caught several palm sized Rock Bass right at dock end and one 8-9 inch smallmouth bass more towards middle of inlet.

Room Tip: If you are just looking for a place to sleep then I am sure the other two rooms are fine, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Moose July 27 - 29th.
The home is absolutely beautiful. The common areas are warm and inviting. A large living room with super comfy couches and a large screen TV. We brought a couple movies. I loved that Debbie & Calvin (owners) visited with us and made us feel at home - Calvin even made us popcorn ! The kitchen is gorgeous. Outside is a hot tub and outside kitchen which is available to guests. Very nice wrap around deck. The grounds are gorgeous and there is lots of room to roam around. Deck chairs on the dock and on the grounds, with a hammock made me feel like I was at the cottage. The view is entertaining... You can sit all day and watch the boaters come in to the stores. Also watch the kids jumping off the bridge. Lots of fun. Swimming isn't so great, but there are public beaches you can go to on the Lake of Bays. Easy / short walk to touristy places in Dorset - shops, restaurants, bar and the famous general store.
We were greeted very warmly and shown around the house and property. Debbie had fresh, huge cookies that we could help ourselves to at any time. There is a small fridge outside by the kitchen and another in the hallway by our room that we could put our own beverages in. Nice and convenient!
The rooms are nicely decorated and very bright and clean. The beds very comfy with a nice duvet. Very new and modern conveniences but everything still felt homey. Bathroom was very nice and extremely clean. We stayed in the Lily suite. Loved it ! The towels and bathrobes are plush and plentiful. They even supply huge beach towels for use at the dock or in the hot tub.
The house dog, is a little pug/chihauha (?sp) mix named Rolo - such a cutie. Very friendly and lovable.
The food. Wow. Debbie is an awesome cook. They give you a breakfast menu card to complete the night before. Everything was served like a 5* restaurant and the food was amazing. Debbie specially made for me her banana bread stuffed french toast.. with caramalized bananas. SO Good!
Everything is fresh and home made. Unbelievable and stunning breakfast. They served us outside on the deck each morning, as the weather was beautiful.

I can't wait to come back and I highly recommend this B&B in Dorset. Perfect hosts, beautiful accomodations and location & amazing breakfasts !
Linda & Rob Harris - Woodstock, Ontario.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is more pricey, but is huge with it's own deck. Definitely worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.8 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Nordic Inn
Nordic Inn
#2 of 2 in Dorset
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
13.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moose B&B

Property: The Moose B&B
Address: 1029 Harvey Ave West | PO Box 280, Dorset, Lake of Bays, Ontario P0A 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Lake of Bays > Dorset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free breakfast is includedThis is a boutique bed and breakfast catering to adults. We are close to Algonquin Park We offer an extensive menu prepared by a chef We are also located on the waterfront in downtown Dorset. Swimming is available as well as canoeing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moose B&B Dorset, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing