We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restuarant in Port Perry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pickles and Olives

Pickles and Olives
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Port Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Restuarant in Port Perry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I live in Port Perry and my favorite place to go is Pickles and Olives. Always a great selection of specials. My two favorites are the Prime Rib and the three cheese . My friends who live in Durham Region love dining at Pickles and Olives.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diva123796989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    73
    23
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Definitely the poorest service ever experienced at a restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited Pickles and Olives (May 31st, 2013) after it being recommended to me by a friend for my mother's birthday celebration. It was a very hot andhumid day so we requested water and a pint of beer each (there were 6 in our party). It took us at least 15 minutes to get our beers and waters (the restaurant wasn't even full). We had to ask twice for water as the beer was so slow as they were changing the keg(we saw all of this but no one came and asked if we would like to change our order! The restaurant's AC wasn't working very well as the server even agreed with us at how hot it was in the restaurant! It took a total of 1 hour and 20 minutes to get our food with no explanation as to why and no offer of bread etc...something you would expect from a classy restaurant when they are so slow..
Once the food arrived the seafood pasta was very delicious and the caeser salad was very tasty but the Meditieranean Pizza was soggy and very poor! The waitress never checked in with us to see how things were so we ate it anyways as now it was nearing 4:00 and we arrived at 1:00. Most of this time was waiting! The restaurant doesn't work on the team work philosophy as 2 servers were wrapping cutlery in napkins behind the bar while our table was loaded with dirty dishes... needless to say we weren't impressed. My friend asked me how the experience was and she said you should call up the manager or owner and let them know so I did and I spole with "AMY" and she argued with me on the phone and said do you want me to look into this and I said yes. Well her speedy follow up still hasn't happened and that was 3 days ago. Now on the exact opposite of the scales yesterday I went to the new Jack Astors in Pickering and my pizza took a total of 20 minutes to cook and they came and offered me a free salad and the full bill was complementary for my friend and me $35.00, it was so shocking as we didn't expect that. I told the manager how smart he was as I will share with many people and that he should go and help train the Management at Pickles and Olives in Port Perry! Customer service at Pickles and Olives was simply disgusting and I eat out at a restaurant at least once a week!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jen739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place is a great little bistro which is awesome for lunch or dinner. The service is great, and the decor very pretty. They have a great menu with a variety of items, and offer some tasty specials. Can be busy, so I suggest a reservation if your doing something special or unable to wait. But well worth it! Great place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“6 for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent meals! Staff are great! But you must make a reservation....the place is packed! Can be a little pricey but worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of our favorites.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Until this restaurant opened Port Perry had been a bit of a culinary dead zone.

This is now our "go to" place for entertaining clients or visitors to town. The menu and specials are intelligently selected and consistently executed, and the prices are reasonable enought that you're not afraid to order a second bottle of wine.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkkbToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickles and Olives also viewed

 
Port Perry, Ontario
 

Been to Pickles and Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing