We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good entertainment”

Great Blue Heron Charity Casino
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Port Perry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned by the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation, this small casino offers more than 50 game tables including Pai Gow, card poker, mini-baccarat and roulette.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

When we first moved to Port Perry, we thought it would be a dangerous thing living so close to a casino as we do like to gamble. But we've been really good and haven't gone nearly as often as we thought we would. We now go once in a while and usually with a group of friends or neighbors and will start out by enjoying their dinner buffet and then go spend a couple hours on the casino floor. I like this place in particular because it's not too small and also not too large. I find it to be just right for the amount of people that are there and it keeps the atmosphere nice & pleasant too. Most nights we can walk away at least even if not ahead, so we find it's better than a lot of the bigger casinos around.

Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food and Bev Ma... M, Manager at Great Blue Heron Charity Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on Great Blue Heron Charity Casino. As Food & Beverage Manager I can assure you that we use each review to help move the bar forward with both food quality and Guest service.

As a local your business is very important to us. The best type of advertising is word of mouth and we hope your experience will be broadcast to other residents of Port Perry who may not have been for a visit yet.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I like going here on occasion, even though I live nearby. I like the atmosphere, food is good in their restaurants. Nice that it's open all the time.

Thank Ballpointguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food and Bev Ma... M, Manager at Great Blue Heron Charity Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. As Food & Beverage Manager we are trying to stay on top of food quality and service each and every day. I am happy that we met your expectations on your last visit and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Have a Happy Holiday!

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We decided to try out a Casino different from the others we'd been to.
The landscaping outside is beautiful...lots of flowers and out in the country. There was information about the local First Nations land & peoples.Huge parking lot has lettered & numbered poles to help you relocate your vehicle.
Inside on the walls were huge murals-very beautiful.
Full range of slots from 1cent and up.We didn't have to wait to play the games we wanted and there were games we hadn't seen before. I liked that our Heron free play rewards were automatically added to our Rapid Rewards Players Club card so we could use them instantly if we wanted.
The food was excellent, well priced and tasted like we were in a high class restaurant.We got a $10.food voucher each as a promotion.There was a small stage area & there was entertainment scheduled for later.
We found a small motel about 20 minutes from the Casino and came back the next morning on our way back home. Well worth the trip...we would visit again :)

Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Living in Port Perry I enjoy going over to the casino. They have a wide selection of slots and game tables. They have many penny and 2 cents slots so you can pass the time and not go broke. Enjoy your time and play within your means.

Thank denissspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Decided to take a mini-road trip and stumbled upon this casino. The place is kind of dated. The size of the casino is kind of deceiving given the huge parking lot. They definitely cater to an older, near death, crowd. For example, to enter the casino, there was a long line of young people because you get carded "if you look younger than 30" as per their policy. There was a 10 minute wait because there was a guy being audited by security because they thought he was using fake id. You would think we were crossing the border and going through customs. I mean really....

I found the layout really confusing. In most casino's you have the blackjack area, or poker area etc. Over here it was spread out randomly everywhere. On the slots side (a separated area) it was really tight to walk around. Not to mention that all the slots were full. A few areas smelled like barf as we walked around. $3.00 fee to use the ATMs which only dispensed $100's. We played a few tables and had a great time with the dealers and other players. We ended up losing $100+.

We ended up doing the buffet ($21.99) which started at 5pm. As far buffet's go, the food was good. Good selection of meat and fish dishes and salad. They also served some really nice oysters. Bread pudding was nice. Most of the dessert choices will give you instant diabetes.

Overall, we had a decent time as far as what we expected from the casino. But you get over it reeeeeeeeally quickly, especially being one of the smaller casino's I've been to. And there's really nothing in the surrounding area (that we're aware of) for you to check out. Glad we went, but that's probably the first and last time I'll do this.

1  Thank derbdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food and Bev Ma... M, Manager at Great Blue Heron Charity Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on Great Blue Heron Charity Casino. At GBH we are proud that we cater to a very wide demographic depending on the time of day and day of week you visit. During the day time we have a different Guest than we do any night of the week. If you are looking for a little more action I would suggest you try us on a Saturday night during hockey season for our HNIC promotion at our Lucky Stone Bar. In January we will be offering a special all you can eat Crab leg buffet Tuesday and Wednesday nights for the regular buffet price. There is always a promotion for our Guests at GBH.
Once again thank you for taking the timw to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Cheers,
Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Blue Heron Charity Casino also viewed

 

Been to Great Blue Heron Charity Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing