We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner Apathy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Fountain Motel

Stone Fountain Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fenelon Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Fountain Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fenelon Falls
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owner Apathy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

In an earlier day, the owner was probably more interested in responding to customer concerns.

Stone Fountain is a family run business.The owner's daughter did a good job of cleaning the room The spouse was there to greet us even though we arrived close to 10 pm. The grand daughter helps with the internet. For breakfast, we could have iogo yogurt.

However Stone Fountain advertises that there is free internet access. Unfortunately I was not able to get on to the internet. I communicated my concern to the owner who responded that he did not know much about technology and would re-boot the router. Sadly the guest internet access still did not work and repeated his assertion that he could not help me. I asked if perhaps if he could contact his daughter which he reluctantly agreed to. Since he was running Cisco and I am familiar with Cisco, I offered to resolve the issue, which the owner declined.

The next day, the guest internet access was still not working. The owner replied "oh I never asked her for help".

I have a couple of issues:

a. Two nights cost me over $215. I was not offered any discount as a result of their failure to provide free internet access which they advertised.
b. There was no apology as to forgetting about my concern.
c. If he had allowed me to look at the problem and satisfy myself that the issue could not be resolved, I would have been satisfied with the owner's response.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNextDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
On behalf of all of us here at the Stone Fountain Motel, thank you for taking the taking the time to write a review of our property. It is a priority at all times for us to try and improve our services for our customers. We are in no way apathetic to your concerns, and if we did not apologize for the lack of internet at the time, we do so now. Our service here in a rural area can not compare to that of a populated area in a big city, and we frequently experience frustration with regards to this issue. We have taken all of your comments and suggestions into consideration and will do the best we can to improve the points mentioned.
We would, however, like to clarify and respond to a couple of things in your review. First of all, you did not pay "over $215.00" for your two nights here at the Stone Fountain. Your rate per night was $94.00 plus HST for a total including tax of $212.44 and that included complimentary breakfast in the morning, which consists of a lot more than just yogurt.
When you mention "if he had allowed me to look at the problem", what you were asking is to be allowed access to a private area of our home and "look" at our private computer system. We don't think this was appropriate and we do not feel we are required to apologize for declining this request.
We are sorry that you feel your stay here was disappointing based on your inability to connect to our WiFi. We will certainly try to improve that area of our customer service, and we hope if you are ever in the area again, you will give us a chance to show you that we do, indeed, care about our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I chose this motel after searching the accomodations in the area and, thanks to the reviews on Trip Advisor, was not disappointed. The room was cosy and well-equipped although the furnishings were not new. It was certainly adequate and very clean and much nicer than many of the big-city motels I have stayed at. The price was good and although we didn't try the breakfast, the dining area was busy when we checked out.Our purpose for needing a motel was a wedding and many at the wedding were staying at other places in the area, and after hearing some horror stories about their accomodations, I am glad we stayed at the Stone Fountain Motel and would recommend it without reserve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyh558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our motel. We sincerely appreciate your kind words, and hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

There is not much accomodation to choose from in this area. We stayed here based on very good reviews on tripadvisor. I think many people have exaggerated. This motel was just ok, not awful but certainly not great. It looks run down inside and out but I have to admit, our room was spotlessly clean. I forgot to ask for the password for the wifi when we checked in and by the time we wanted to use it (10 p.m.), it was too late to enquire. Why didn't the owner just automatically let us know this when we checked in? The breakfast was just ok also - cold cereal, toast, some fruit, yogurt, coffee. All in all, not a bad place to stay but not as nice as I had imagined based on reviews I had read.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our motel.

We are sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay here. Your comment that "many people have exaggerated", though, is rather unfair, as the comments made previously to yours are totally unsolicited and were made by guests who thoroughly enjoyed their stay at the Stone Fountain Motel and were kind enough to post their honest opinion here. We are an older motel [the building was built in 1970] and we do not try to advertise ourselves as being more "upscale" than we actually are. We try to give our guests a comfortable stay and hope that they feel at home here. Our breakfast is complimentary, which you failed to mention, and consists of quite a bit more than you listed in your review. No, it's not a full cooked breakfast, but we do offer a good selection of breakfast items and most of our guests are very happy with that. Our rates are $40.00 - $50.00 lower than the local bed and breakfast establishments, so if you don't want or need a big fancy cooked breakfast, we feel that we give excellent value for the price.

We apologize for not giving you the password for the internet when you checked in. As most people who need it ask if we have WiFi, we don't think to offer the password if someone doesn't mention it. A lot of people, when they're here in the area for a special event or family gathering, don't have any use or need for internet use. We certainly would have given it if asked. Perhaps this is something we should do, so we thank you for mentioning it, and we will try to recitify this in the future.

We hope you have happy travels in the future, and if we can ever be of service to you again, we will certainly look forward to making you a happier guest here than the last time.

Sincerely,
Stone Fountain Motel
Fenelon Falls, ON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

At first glance the Stone Fountain motel was ordinary, just off a busy highway, but it surprised us with amenities found in larger, more expensive places.The hosts, Bob and Sue Edwardson, go to some lengths to make guests comfortable. Although small, our room made use of every inch. We had a comfortable double bed, a small fridge and microwave, both spotless and in excellent working order, table and chairs, television and access to the the internet.. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and everything worked. The weather was hot but the room was cool - the air conditioning quiet and efficient. The back of our room had sliding glass doors opening onto a small private patio, with table and chairs and a large open grassy area, which would be a safe place for children to play. How often do you see that in a roadside motel?
Since breakfast was included in the price we went along to the office next morning, expecting coffee and maybe a bagel or doughnut. To our surprise, we found a wonderful selection of breakfast items, many different cereals, toast, bagels, jams, fresh fruit, herbal teas, juice and great, freshly brewed coffee, in a small cosy room with checkered tablecloths. Sue checked in occasionally to see if we needed anything.
We would recommend this motel to anyone passing through the area or planning a trip to the Kawarthas. We visited on the 23rd August, 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of the Stone Fountain Motel. We sincerely appreciate it when our customers tell others about their experience here. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, and will look forward to seeing you again if you're ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our first stay at the Stone Fountain Motel. We were there for the Labour Day Weekend of 2012 and stayed in one of the larger rooms with a kitchenette. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable with enough space for us and our 2 kids. The 4 piece bathroom was clean and the shower spotless which is always a plus. We have been in some dumpy motels before but it is evident that the owners work hard to maintain theirs. The AC was good –not one of those loud, smelly units – with your own temperature control. The room had a ceiling fan as well. The free satellite TV and internet access were also big pluses. The accommodations are definitely more than you’d expect from a motel on the side of the highway. The owners are very friendly and we appreciated all the extras their motel provides. There’s also a lovely little breakfast area where we enjoyed a nice continental breakfast. Overall I’d say that all these good reviews are spot on. They deserve their high rating on TripAdvisor. We would definitely recommend this motel and would absolutely stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Stone Fountain Motel! We are glad that your family enjoyed your stay here, and we certainly hope that we can be of service to you sometime again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

just stayed here for a few nights while visiting friends, quite close to Fenelon Falls, very clean, room is small, very small bathroom. some trouble with water pressure in the shower, you are either scalded or frozen in the shower. That is our only critism. Continental breakfast very good value. Hosts very friendly and helpful.
rear deck off each room looks out onto green space, quite lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We sincerely appreciate it! We apologize for the water pressure/temperature problem. Being a small property, it's much like being at home - if everyone is showering at the same time, someone suffers. We have experienced the same thing ourselves here in the house, so we know what you mean! We hope that you will come back if you're ever in the area again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have been trying out various places to stay that are near Balsam Lake Provincial Park and after three different tries, I lucked out by staying at the Stone Fountain Motel. It is very clean and has plenty of amenities for someone who can't stay off the computer!

And Sue - what a treat she is! The breakfast is simple and tasty and it comes with the price of the room. The Stone Fountain Motel is now my annual choice - I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonefountain5876, Owner at Stone Fountain Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We're so glad that you have made the Stone Fountain Motel your annual choice! Returning customers are probably our best form of advertising. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property, and we will certainly look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenelon Falls
16.5 mi away
Kent Inn
Kent Inn
#2 of 6 in Lindsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
17.2 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Lindsay
21.2 mi away
Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Knights Inn Lindsay
Knights Inn Lindsay
#4 of 6 in Lindsay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eganridge Resort, Country Club & Spa
1.7 mi away
Rosedale Motel
Rosedale Motel
#5 of 7 in Fenelon Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Fountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Fountain Motel

Property: Stone Fountain Motel
Address: 5876 Hwy 35 North, Fenelon Falls, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K0M 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kawartha Lakes > Fenelon Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fenelon Falls
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family-owned and operated 9-room motel. Open all year. Free breakfast included from May long weekend until Thanksgiving weekend. Situated on almost 7 acres of peaceful country property. Clean, comfortable rooms with satellite TV, fridge, microwave, wi-fi, air conditioning. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Fountain Motel Fenelon Falls, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing