We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastronomy with a bit of funk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Au Soldat de l'An 2 Hotel Restaurant de charme
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phalsbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Phalsbourg because we wanted to be in a small, quaint town in the Lorraine region after spending time in Paris. Unfortunately, we were disappointed in the town itself especially given that some of the things we wanted to do, like the Plan incliné de Saint Louis Arzviller and “le Château des Rohans” were respectively no longer offered and closed both times we went by for a tour. Au Soldat, then it seems, is a destination unto itself, yet I would recommend it only if one is an extreme gastronome or because it is a convenient stop over on ones itinerary. The 7 course, Menu Surprise dinner we had there was phenomenal, one of the best we have ever experienced! We took a risk and chose the 106E per person meal because it was all we could read given that the menu is not offered in anything but French. So you know, the wait staff does not speak English either so be prepared for an adventure if you cannot speak French. The service was attentive, not at all stuffy, and the wine pairing perfectly complimented. The portions were rather large, given the seven courses, so we left feeling quite full. However, it was a great gastronomic experience, close to a 10/10! Our room is the funky bit. We decided on the junior suite, number 23, so we could have a more spacious room. It is on the top floor, two levels up without an elevator, and feels attic like. There are only two small dormer windows that let in very little natural light and the overall lighting in the room is dim. There are exposed cross beams that create a feeling of a low ceiling and could be a problem if one is particularly tall. There is NO shower, but only a deep soaking tub with a hand held shower, which for us, was a little difficult getting in and out of. The tub and sink area are behind a partial wall, again with rather dim lighting. There is a separate toilet room. I feel bad writing this because the host, George Schmitt is such a friendly man and quite gracious. One can tell his is a labour of love and he will do what he can to make your stay pleasant. As an example, my husband went downstairs in the morning for coffee. Georges would not let him take it up, but instead showed up ten minutes later with a Continental breakfast and coffee on a silver tray complete with a big smile in spite of his run up the stairs. The regular breakfast, as mentioned in another review, is served with foie gras and the scrambled eggs are sprinkled with truffles. All in all, Au Soldat was an interesting experience, but not what we were expecting. I don't think we would choose to go back. Sorry George.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Au Soldat de l'An 2 Hotel Restaurant de charme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Au Soldat was our first stop in the Alsace-Lorraine region (Phalsbourg is in Lorraine). The hotel and restaurant are both gems, and the owner and chef, Georges Schmitt, is a gracious host and superb chef. When we arrived, we were a little disappointed in the size of our otherwise charming room, as we had a fair amount of luggage. Mr. Schmitt immediately began working on finding us an alternative room, not in the hotel which was full, but a few hundred yards away in a small apartment operated by the town of Phalsbourg (or so we believe). We decided to stay at Au Soldat, but when another room became available Mr. Schmitt insisted on moving us into the larger room at the same rate as the smaller one. The fact that Mr. Schmitt would take the time to accompany us to another property says everything about the level of service and the overall feeling of Au Soldat.

As many others have commented, the food is extraordinary, albeit very, very rich. Breakfast includes foie gras and truffle topped eggs. Phalsbourg itself is not particularly charming, but Au Soldat is, and you are 30 minutes from Strasbourg and the northern end of the Alsace wine route. A must visit if you are in the area -- indeed, Au Soldat itself is a destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a Relais and Chateaux hotel in Phalsbourg with a Michelin starred restaurant. It was an ideal stopover whilst driving from Italy via Austria and Germany to the French channel ports. We were greeted by the owner and chef George Schmidt, who carried our bags to our upstairs room, made us feel welcome and explained the hotel facilities to us. The bedroom had an angled ceiling so a little care was needed to negotiate the room however the en-suite bathroom was clean and spacious. Adequate private parking is on site. The outdoor terrace was transformed in the evening to a beautiful atmospheric dining area and we were served a fine meal. Nothing was too much trouble. This was followed the next morning after a good nights sleep with breakfast served by our host and another gastronomic treat in the tastefully decorated breakfast room. Old world chic charm at its best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel and restaurant is a wonderful stopover for anyone travelling across France, being a comfortable five hour drive form the Eurotunnel. The rooms are delightful and the Michelin starred restaurant superb. We had the lobster menu at a very reasonable 66Euros for five courses. The rustic environment is charming and the service relaxed yet attentive. I could not recommend this establishment more highly

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed one evening on our way back from Strasbourg to Germany. He chose it specifically because it is one of the Michelin-rated restaurants in the area and we wanted to try it- we enjoy delicious cuisine. That area of France, like much of France, is charming and filled with quaint and picturesque towns. We only drove to the hotel, parked, rested, had dinner, breakfast and then departed the next day. The hotel is small, only two floors of rooms, probably less than 10 rooms, The building is probably hundreds of years old. We were in room 23, a junior suite with double bed, bath, etc. With its sloping walls, exposed wide-beam rafters, antiques, it exudes old-world charm. A very clean, comfortable room. We opened the two roof windows and enjoyed a lowly cross breeze. The weather was perfect and cool. However, if it were incredibly hot outside, it might have been very warm and uncomfortable, but it wasn't. It was perfect for what we wanted: a place to sleep after our 10-course meal downstairs. In hindsight, 10 courses was too much for me, but my husband helped me, and it worked out. We seemed to be the only couple there not celebrating a birthday or anniversary.

What I liked was the quietness of the place, the charming antiques, the old-stylishness of the hotel and the easy walk to dinner. Also, what my husband liked was that our two windows had interior shutters which functioned like black-out curtains. Our room was pitch black at night without any light from the outside. It is great to sleep. I can think of nothing negative to say. If you don't like antiques and old-style charm, you may not like the decor of this hotel; you may think it rather old fashioned and not very minimalist or modern. But for us, we really enjoyed the food, the hospitality and the peaceful rest. We did not walk around the small town so I can not add if there are other things to see and do in town. However, not far from Phalsbourg is a charming medieval town called La Petite Pierre, which we drove through. If we had had time, I would have liked to stop there and walk around. It is perched on a hill and looks very cute. Unfortunately we didnt have time to stop there. I saw signs for La Petite Pierre's Jazz Festival in August, which should be a nice event, if you are in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 2travelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chambres du premier étage sont très bien
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIELLE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalsbourg
4.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kleiber
Hotel Restaurant Kleiber
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-Saverne
80 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Katz
Villa Katz
#3 of 4 in Saverne
92 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Chez Jean
Hotel Chez Jean
#1 of 4 in Saverne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Sarrebourg
Ibis Styles Sarrebourg
#1 of 2 in Sarrebourg
184 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#2 of 4 in Saverne
87 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Soldat de l'An 2 Hotel Restaurant de charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Soldat de l'An 2 Hotel Restaurant de charme

Address: 1 rue de Saverne, 57370 Phalsbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Phalsbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phalsbourg
Price Range: $190 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Au Soldat de l'An 2 Hotel Restaurant de charme 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Au Soldat de l'An 2 Hotel Restaurant de charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing