We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and gardens!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of I Capricci di Merion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
I Capricci di Merion
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and gardens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful gardens, terrific pool and great staff!
If you want a touch of class and sophistication in beautiful surroundings with great views, then this is the place.
There are lots of unexpected special touches, e.g. the tortoises in the sunken garden, the private jacuzzi & sauna, the beautiful pool, orchard and even the luminous stars on the bedroom ceiling!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTDH Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are really happy you felt the love and passion we put in our job.
We are also glad you were favorably impressed by our "starry sky" and the outdoor areas. Thank you for suggesting our villa!

Hoping to have you again as our guest, we send our kind regards,

Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    108
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
440
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

about this enchanting place. From Francesca at the desk (and the others at the desk, whose names I didn't take down--Silvio? Arianna?), who answered questions of all kinds, found out about taxis and doctors, brought me an espresso when I arrived at the hotel a day early, to the spectacular room I had, with its spacious bathroom, to the gardens, to the magnificent pool, to the breakfasts that made lunch not even a thought, to the bookshelf (and Arianna let me borrow one to take home until I have finished it), to the lovely, restful views from every angle, everything was like a pleasant dream. Oh. And the ceiling soothes you to sleep with some stars.....
The only reason I am leaving off a rating for "location" is that people should know (but probably most do) that, without a car, getting around is difficult. But there is an enchanting little town a short walk from the hotel, with everything you might need. Just the touring is curtailed.....But this is the kind of hotel you might never want to leave anyway!

Room Tip: I didn't see any rooms other than mine (well, a quick peek at another nice one, whose name I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you! Thank you for your kind words, thank you for choosing our villa and thank you for being so kind during your stay.
We agree with you that the best way to move freely in the area is by car if you don't want to take a taxi.
We hope you will come back for the festival next year,

with kind regards
Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathaven
Level Contributor
294 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Thanks to ARIANNE and STEFANO and of course the superb staff for making our stay so enjoyable.We look forward to return next year for our sons wedding and are sure that the friends coming over with us will be just as pleased as we were.The setting overlooking the lake the service we received made our trip a glorious experience,nothing was too much trouble ,resetting the air con which caused an initial problem[not the hotels fault, guests should leave things as they find them] Giving directions and help to us throughout our stay.
Hope your summer visitors appreciate as much as we did.

Room Tip: Every room has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigglesStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
It was also a pleasure for us to have you here.
Thank you for appreciating the peaceful atmosphere of our villa...we will be honored if you will choose it again for such an important occasion like your son's wedding.
With kind regards,
Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were staying nearby in Tuoro, and were recommended to try the restaurant located in the hotel I Caprici di Merion.

The garden setting where we dined was perfect, and it was also a perfect evening.
The ambience was just beautiful.
The place is quite secluded, but not difficult to find.
The waiter who looked after us was excellent, and very attentive but not intrusive.

Menu was extensive and it was difficult to make a choice from such a large selection.
A little sparkling wine was served initially, then we ordered a lovely bottle of Umbria white which was excellent, the waiter knew his stuff.
Our food was excellent also.We finished off with one desert to share which was a Merangue, with strawberries cream and caramalised sugar on top, perfect!

An entrée of Asparagus Flan with Prawns was also excellent, as was the potatoe Flan with cream and truffle.
If you are ever staying in or near Tuoro Sul Tresimano I recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jingo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We are really glad you appreciated our restaurant and caught the intimate and familiar atmosphere we like to share with our guests.
Thank you very much from Arianna, Stefano and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Overall a fantastic hotel - beautiful rooms, clean, lovely gardens, excellent on site spa, top class restaurant and friendly and knowledgable staff. Highly recommended. Slightly more expensive than other hotels nearby, but worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer101Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope to see you again!

Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat in Baku
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and found the room spacious with a mini kitchen area. The staff very helpful.
The restaurant was excellent, good food and wine and we considered it good value for money.
We were staying at the hotel the night before completing the purchase of a property in a nearby village. On our next visit to Tuscany - early March 2013, we spent another evening at the restaurant as we enjoyed the meal on our first visit so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PushkinExpatinBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I and two friends spent 4 nights here two weeks ago and it was delightful. Our Jr. suite was spacious, clean and charming. The staff is terrific and extremely accommodating and the setting is gorgeous. Ristorante is very good as well as the wine list, with many reasonably priced wines. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscudiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks to you all for your review, we are really happy you appreciated our rooms and restaurant,
see you next time
Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuoro sul Trasimeno
22.5 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
15.7 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
18.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
14.5 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Capricci di Merion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Capricci di Merion

Property: I Capricci di Merion
Address: Via del Pozzo 21 | vicino via Roma, 06069, Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I Capricci di Merion 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th century Villa near lake Trasimeno with 9 rooms, each one different from the others, intimate spa for exclusive use and with the possibility of massages. Also present a swimming pool with jacuzzi corner and a view on the lake and a small restaurant by candlelight, sometimes with the delicate sound of live harp music ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your I Capricci di Merion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Capricci Di Merion Tuoro Sul Trasimeno, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing