We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...we'll treasure the memories forever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Baroncino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Baroncino
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“...we'll treasure the memories forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

_To Marco, Michelle and everyone with the Romantic Italian Weddings team_

Thank you so much for helping organise the best day and week of our lives.

Villa Baroncino proved to be absolutely stunning, just as charming as your website suggested. The gardens particularly were beautiful, and created what many of our friends described as a 'movie star wedding day'. From start to finish the whole event was so well run. From the simplicity and completeness of your eight step planning and budgeting tool, to the delight you seemed to personally take in orchestrating the bridal procession.

Marco, you've clearly surrounded yourself with a professional team, we found all of the vendors recommended by you to uphold your high standards, honesty and integrity. In particular we would like to commend the work of your caterer Lucino, whose provided a delicious eight course feast for our guests. We were most appreciative to have the help of Luciano's son who did a fantastic job overseeing the service on the day, and who went out of his way to ensure that even the three babies in our group had a chance to share in a taste of Italian heaven.

We were absolutely delighted with the photographs we recently received from Stefano. He was great fun on the day, and we really appreciated his flexibility and willingness to stay to catch our first dance, which was far later in the evening than originally planned.

We will never forget our Italian wedding week, you've give us the best possible start to married life, and we'll treasure the memories forever.

Luke & Katrina

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fLukeozade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

From the very first phone conversation we shared with Marco, we knew we were in good hands. While searching online for "romantic weddings" and "destination weddings" from our couch in Southern California, we came across Marco's villas San Crispolto and Villa Baroncino. We were more than intrigued by the pictures and other people's testimonials and decided to put in a query via the website about possible availability in the summer. Within minutes, literally minutes, we received a call on our cell phones from a number we didn't recognize and let the voicemail take it. It was Marco! We sent our note to Marco at 9:00 that night, meaning it was 3:00 in the morning in Italy! Talk about being available at every whim.......Marco was at our service at a moment's notice before we were even technically his clients.

This little story is a microcosm of our entire experience with Marco, Michelle and the capable staff at Villa Baroncino. We were absolutely blown away by the incredible vistas and landscapes of the property; in fact, we told Marco that the pictures one sees on the website do not do his properties justice. So often when we look at things online, we are disappointed when the reality doesn't match. In Marco's case, the reality of Villa Baroncino exceeded all of our expectations and those of our friends and family. We were overwhelmed.

Not a day goes by when we don't take a look at our amazing wedding photos, taken by Stefano, to remind us of our magical wedding day. Stefano was an absolute pro, and his care and desire to find just the right shot, in just the right places, was uncanny. He was so much more than merely a wedding photographer. We felt, at times, as if we were on a hunting adventure as Stefano would take us to obscure little locales, in and around Cortona, only to uncover breathtaking backdrops to augment our pictures. Stefano is the real deal.

Because we are a pretty low maintenance couple and were organizing a wedding with Marco from half way around the world, we decided to give Giuliano, our caterer, carte blanche in choosing our menu for the big night. As you can see from the website, no matter what caterer you decide to go with, there are so many choices for your wedding menu. They all looked great to us, so we decided to put all of our trust in Giuliano and let him pick the courses for us. It saved us the stress of asking all of our guests what they might want, and it created a nice surprise for us on our wedding night. As with everything else during our week, Giuliano did not disappoint. In fact, most of our guests agreed that it was the finest wedding meal they'd ever had. Of course, we're biased, but we felt the same way. One course after the next was absolutely delectable. After the most magical day of getting married in Cortona's town hall, Giuliano really capped off our day with an unforgettable meal and dessert.

One of the most amazing nights we shared at the villa was the night we showed a little film outside the villa, next to the pool, just after sunset. Our favorite movie is "Cinema Paradiso" so we asked Marco if there was a way we could show the film off the facade of one of the buildings. We even asked if we could borrow a white sheet and use that as our screen. Of course, Marco and Michelle would have none of that, as they actually made it possible for us to view our film on a real screen! Marco and Michelle listened to our crazy request and using their magic, made it possible for us to have an incredibly romantic night under the Tuscan stars watching our favorite film. What a night! We told Marco he should invest in a projector so that other couples could have the experience we did. I wouldn't be surprised if that's part of the villa repertoire in the future. Never have we seen a film in more romantic and picturesque surroundings. Ah, those Italian summer nights...

When you arrive at Villa Baroncino or Villa San Crispolto, you will have to focus on nothing but enjoying yourself, your time with friends and family, and the incredible Tuscan and Umbrian countrysides. Marco and his amazing staff will take care of the rest. We feel so blessed that we chose Marco to be the caretaker of our Italian wedding adventure, and we feel like we've made a lifelong friend to boot. There are not enough ways to say thank you to Marco and his staff for providing us with an unforgettable experience, one that our friends and family will be sharing forever.

Grazie mille, Marco, Michelle and everyone at Villa Baroncino!

Christopher and Jeannie

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Having never been to visit Villa Baroncino we were all a bit uncertain as to what to expect, we knew from all the correspondence with you and your the amazing team at the villa that we were in safe hands as you all were so efficient and reliable, but I couldn't help having butterflies in my stomach maybe it was nerves maybe it was excitement.
When we drove up the beautiful entrance driveway to the villa even though it was very late or early however you look at it four am is not the best time to see things, our mouths dropped it was amazing all lit up by fantastic landscape lighting it was like I was dreaming and all my anxiousness fell away and delight fell over me. It was even more amazing than it looked on the website and I couldn't believe we were finally here.
Every testimonial that you read on this website will give a fantastical report and this is because I believe you could not be disappointed, the food, the wine, the weather and most of all the location Villa Baroncino are out of this world. I felt like I was dreaming and still do it was like a movie from the moment we got there until we left.
Our guests have even commented that it was the best wedding they were ever at and that they do not believe they will ever experience a wedding to that standard again.
If you are looking into having a wedding in Italy you have without a doubt found the right location. I would recommend Villa Baroncino to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouthGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Everyone has their own thoughts about how they want their wedding to be and having not visited the villa prior to our wedding we were hopeful that the villa would live up to being everything the website information purported. We were not to be disappointed!

As we approached the villa I have to say that we were very nervous, would it be everything we expected and hoped it to be? We need not have worried. As the coach pulled up to the entrance we were met with the longest driveway that meandered up to the three main buildings and instantly all of our worries subsided.

Surrounding the drive was a number of beautifully maintained gardens and the size of the grounds was simply breathtaking. We parked at the front of the accommodation building and were meet by Michelle who was very welcoming and keen to ensure that everything we could possibly require was accommodated to.

Michelle took pride in showing everyone to their rooms and we all agreed (including some of the most discerning guests within our party) that the accommodation was unbelievable. The lengths to which Marco has gone to ensure authenticity of furniture and styling was amazing and everyone was indeed truly impressed with their accommodation. David and I were particularly impressed with the bridal suite too, a room truly fit for a king and queen!

Throughout our stay, Michelle was there to ensure that everything went smoothly from arranging taxis to arranging food at the villa and even sorting out last minute flowers problems with the minimum of fuss and trouble. Michelle we cannot thank you enough!

Following our period of settling in and unpacking we then met with Marco who was both courteous and extremely professional in the way that he handled all of the arrangements. Having chosen menus for the reception on-line we were quite obviously not sure as to the suitability and quality of our choices however upon meeting with Marco and Domenico’s representative from the restaurant we were very impressed with the knowledge and thought that would go into ensuring that the dishes were complementary to the wine being served and also served in an appropriate way. Also, finding out that the number of courses to be served would total seven and this was not an either/or selection was another pleasant surprise although Paula did worry that she would find room within her dress to accommodate this amount of gastronomic pleasure!

Marco also went to great lengths to ensure that we understood how the ceremony would progress and that everything was to our liking by accompanying us to our dress rehearsal. This level of support at such an emotional time was essential and greatly received as we both had total confidence in not only the precision with which everything was arranged but also the personal support that Marco gave to us by being with us throughout all of the planning. Of particular help was Marco’s support when choosing the music for the actual wedding ceremony and so for that and the support throughout – thank-you Marco.

The whole wedding day, as everyone told us it would do, went so quickly and was without doubt the best day of our lives. From the choice of ceremony, venue, music, food and flowers we can wholeheartedly say that we would have not changed a single thing. The choice of Cortona wedding hall as the venue added a truly amazing level of authenticity and emotion and it was a fabulous feeling knowing that we were getting married at a venue so steeped in wedding history. Having the ceremony here with the added accompaniment of the opera singer and string trio truly made for a magnificent event and the added bonus of going out onto the balcony to greet our friends and family as Mr & Mrs Dixon was quiet simply breath-taking. The reception at the villa that followed was also amazing and the professionalism with which the food was served was very impressive – all of the guests commented on the quality and amount of food, we would certainly recommend Domencio’s restaurant to future couples.

Overall from start to finish we both agree that out choice of having the wedding at Villa Baroncino / Cortona Wedding Hall was the best possible decision with which to start our married life as Mr & Mrs Dixon. The comments we received from our wedding party was that this was the most romantic and amazing wedding they have ever attended and we simply have to agree.

We’re aware that we’ve used the word “amazing” a lot, but that’s exactly what you get when you get married at Villa Baroncino… amazing!

Warmest thanks to Marco, Michelle and everyone else for the best wedding week ever!

We look forward to returning to Villa Baroncino (and Ciao Ciao) in the future. With love and best wishes

Dave & Paula Dixon

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Julie and I wanted to send you a short note to say thank you for our amazing wedding that you planned in Cortona this summer. You have assembled a great team to help with the planning of weddings and they are all a fantastic endorsement to you and your professionalism.
Before we headed to Villa Baroncino everything was so smooth – your website is great, your suppliers are fantastically easy to deal with and you are always at the end of the phone if needed.
Villa Baroncino was everything we had hoped it would be. It was the perfect setting for a week with friends and family but more importantly, to Julie and me, it was a great venue for our reception. Your eye to detail and pursuit of quality was obvious everywhere we looked.
What can I say about the town hall at Cortona? When you showed us around, the day before our wedding, Julie and I were blown away, it’s simply amazing! It was also a great feeling seeing all our friends and family enjoy Cortona as much as we did. Julie and I will never forget Cortona or the town hall. They really are amazing places and perfectly suited to hosting weddings.
The reception was also amazing Marco. Your team had set up a perfect reception when we arrived back to the villa. The canapés were brilliant, again highlighting you and your team’s attention to detail. The meal was incredible, more than one friend told me that it was the best wedding breakfast they had ever had! The marquee looked stunning, the way your team had dressed the marquee was perfect.
Julie and I both had an amazing week, and of course wedding, at Villa Baroncino. We will never forget our amazing day in Cortona and the great reception at your villa.
Please pass our thanks to your team of suppliers. They were excellent and Julie and I were extremely pleased to pick them to help with our wedding. Please say thank-you to Stefano, our photographer, Luciano our caterer, Paolo and Francesca our florist, Musicians Bay our musicians and Alex our DJ.
We would also like to thank you Marco. You are a fantastic organiser with amazing contacts. Julie and I both knew from the moment we met you (at Ciao Ciao’s) that you would organise an amazing wedding (and week) for our friends and family – that is exactly what you did – Thank you from us both and we hope to enjoy a glass of Stella Artois (or game of squash) with you in the near future!!
Kind regards and very fond memories,
Julie and Christian

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

We are now back in England enjoying married life after spending the most magical summer week of our lives at your Villa Baroncino! Our friends and family are still talking about their week and our wedding!
Our week started at Manchester airport at 5.30 am where 40 of us boarded the plane and set off for Rome! When we arrived, Massimo Caroti from Il Girasole was waiting for us all. He was extremely patient as it took forever to get our bags from the plane! Eventually, we set off in Convoy towards Truro Sul Trasimeno!
We all arrived at Ciao Ciao’s, where we indulged in extremely tasty and I must say enormous pizzas and some cold beverages whilst we waited to go to Villa Baroncino! People had started relaxing already but we were all full of anticipation to get there!
As we turned up the drive towards Villa Baroncino, the bustling bus of excited people fell silent! People were actually shocked at what lay in front of them! It was just so stunning! Half way up the drive and the noise levels rose as our family and friends started screaming at how wonderful it looked! We all gathered around the pool and I think it lasted about 30 seconds before people had jumped fully clothed into it! Marco had arranged for some arrival drinks which was just lovely and then he showed everybody personally to their rooms! Such a gentleman!!
Everybody was thrilled with their rooms, how could they not be! They are pure quality and finished to impeccable standards. The wedding suite was just amazing!! We called it the princess tower! The bed was huge and the bathroom was fit for a Queen!
The next day we met with Marco, Michelle (Manager of Villa) and Renata (Caterer). We had a long meeting to go through all the details of the wedding day! I’m sure that Marco thought we were total lunatics what with the hundreds of emails we had sent him over the last year but he never said a thing he just got on with it and was able to grant all of our wishes!
So, with the meeting about the wedding over, we were able to relax and enjoy the next few days before the wedding and that is exactly what we did! We chilled by the pool with our friends for the most of it and in the evenings we mixed it up between havening bbq’s, take aways and wonderful meals at Ciao Ciao’s! Not to mention the Karaoke, which we all loved so much!! Massimo was brilliant throughout the whole week, he ferried our guests to and from all sorts of places and they all loved him, we nicknamed his taxi the ‘party bus’ because whether it was the start or the end of the night music was always blasting and we were all singing at the top of our voices!
Michelle was fantastic throughout the whole of the week, constantly sorting things out for us! She was always on the end of the ‘wedding’ phone whenever we needed her! She helped to organise horse riding for some of our guests which they absolutely loved.
So the wedding day finally arrived! Our friends couldn’t believe how relaxed we were! We were getting married at the Villa at 3.30pm and at 1.30pm my friends had to pull me out of the pool so that I could start getting ready! It was just all so lovely and I wasn’t worried about anything!! I could see out of my princess tower that the garden was already set up and it looked absolutely beautiful! It actually felt like a dream!! I could see that our guests were starting to arrive, there were 90 of us altogether!
The flowers from Federico Berti (a florist in Cortona) arrived at the villa and they were stunning!! I hadn’t met with Federico before I had just emailed him a description of what I wanted and they didn’t disappoint at all!!
The Musicians Bay String Trio started playing whilst our guests enjoyed pre-wedding drinks, I could hear them from my room, and they were lovely and created such a wonderful atmosphere!!
The ceremony was performed by Brother Tom from Assisi. He was fantastic, really friendly and happy to adjust the ceremony to what we wanted. Again, we hadn’t met him before so I was relying on the email conversations that we’d had. The ceremony was perfect, it had a really relaxed feeling to it which is exactly what we had wanted.
Canapes and photographs followed the ceremony and then it was time for the food!! The marquee looked stunning we were overjoyed with it!! Renata did the catering and it was top class!! It was gorgeous!! We ate until the late evening but it was so relaxed! I was worried that people would be sat down the whole time for 7 courses but people were moving around the whole time! The cake was amazing! It was huge!!!! And it tasted beautiful.
We danced ourselves silly thanks to the fab DJ Alex who went out especially on the day of the wedding to get the new Take That Album because we told him that we would defiantly need some of the songs! He thought we were crazy but he did it and the dance floor was never empty!!
Sadly, the night drew to an end after we had all had a little dip in the pool and a game of competitive pit pat! It was such a perfect day from start to finish and we just all wanted to do it again!!!
Marco, thankyou from the bottom of our hearts for making our wedding day so utterly amazing!!! You’re a lovely, lovely man who went out of your way to make sure that our wedding day was perfect!
We will remember you and your beautiful Villa Baroncino forever and will always hold them close to our hearts!
All our love
Natalie and Jamie xxx

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_N2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Marco and Michelle,

How do Tim and I begin to thank you for our wonderful wedding day and stay at Villa Baroncino? All we can say is it was PERFECT. Villa Baroncino, your service and organisation, the wedding everything was perfect and we would not change a single thing.

By day I am an event planner and have high standards on service, but it was faultless from start to finish. You both run such a professional service and are also wonderful, kind and friendly people.

Marco (wedding planner): Thank you so very much for everything. You are a true professional. Nothing was too much trouble and you were always so friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Michelle (venue manager): Thank you for being on hand for our every need and being ever professional and friendly throughout.
Nello and Sandy (hairdressers): You were fantastic and totally put everyone at ease. We all absolutely loved our hair.
Claudio and team (Da Luciano): It may not be right to say it was the best wedding food I've ever tasted as it was my own wedding, but it was! Everyone raved about it and I loved all 8 courses! :-) The wedding cake was outstanding too and looked as beautiful as it tasted. Claudio and the team were friendly and professional and the food utterly stunning.
Stefano (photographers): A lovely man and we look forward to receiving the photographs.
Panty flowers: The flowers and lemon theme looked wonderful. The bouquets looked beautiful and almost identical to the pictures I sent through.
Entertainers: The string quartet were excellent. The traditional band were great fun and DJ managed to keep the dance floor full.

Villa Baroncino is a stunning place renovated to the highest standard with beautiful gardens and even more wonderful views. If you are considering a wedding at Villa Baroncino please do not give it another thought, just book it now! You will have the most amazing wedding day you could every imagine organised by true professionals and lovely people.

Marco and Michelle thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We will visit very soon, maybe our anniversary and hope to see you then.

Love,

Tim and Debs x

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuoro sul Trasimeno
1.0 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relais Parco Fiorito
Relais Parco Fiorito
#2 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ospitalita Perusia
Ospitalita Perusia
#4 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Baroncino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Baroncino

Property: Villa Baroncino
Address: Via Baroncini 38A, 06069, Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Baroncino is a luxuriously furnished and exclusive historic villa with a refined ambience. Surrounded by soft rolling hills, the estate is plunged in lavish vegetation that is rich with woods, where nature can be thoroughly relished at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Baroncino Hotel Tuoro Sul Trasimeno
Villa Baroncino Tuoro Sul Trasimeno, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing