We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Week of Our Lives!”
Review of Villa Baroncino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Baroncino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Villa Baroncino is everything and more than you expect for a wedding venue. We searched high and low in Tuscany and Umbria for the perfect place, many were lovely, but nothing quite like this place!

If you are looking for a magical place to get married and spend a week with your loved ones, then choose Villa Baroncino!
We got married here in September 2012.

We are from the UK so did most of the organisation via email and telephone calls with Marco (the owner) and Alexandra (his collegue).
They have an '8 steps tool' to organise the wedding where you are given many choices for:
- food
- flowers
- music
- marriage ceremony
- transport
- activities
- hair & makeup
and many other extras also!

We chose to get married in Cortona town hall, which is also a very beautiful place. Marco took us through the timetable of the wedding day in a rehearsal the day before, which was really useful.
On the day many people came out to watch me enter the town hall and cheered as i walked up the steps (made me feel even more special!).
We chose Renata for our food on the day and also for a few breakfasts and a BBQ while we stayed at the villa which was really tasty rustic Italian food (my favourite).
Ina the villa manager was always on hand to help us with anything we needed, a real 5 star experience.

The flowers were perfect and the whole look of the place was fantastic.
I decided I wanted a horse and carriage to travel back to the villa which Marco hadn't used before, but he made it all run so smoothly.
The band were great too as they let me sing a song to my new husband (I'm in a band myself so it wasn't too horrendous!).
My friend was our photographer, but I would HIGHLY recommend having Kamil do a wedding video of the day, I watched it again yesterday and he really does capture the day perfectly.

All our guests were very happy with their accommodation with two pools on site and close to many site seeing areas.

Marco also owns a bar down by the lake called Ciao Ciao, which we also visited (and will be returning Marco!!).

All in all, I wouldn't have changed a single thing about our week at Villa Baroncino, absolutely perfect!
Thank you so much Marco and everyone else that made it the week of our lives!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had considered, for quite some time, getting married in Italy, however,
finding a trustworthy venue and wedding planner was proving to be
problematic....Until, that is, we found Marco!

From the earliest stages of the planning, right through to the wedding day
itself- Marco has been absolutely fantastic. He is well organised,
assertive, confident and he brings multi-tasking to a whole new level! But
above all, Marco is a true gentleman. Kind, honest and genuine. He takes
pride in his work and really pays attention to the requirements of each and
every wedding party. We had a very big group (106 guests) which meant a lot
of additional requests- but Marco was excellent throughout. He took calls
from us at all hours during our week at Baroncino and was always there to
help us. Thank you so much Marco- I could write so much more about you- you
did a wonderful job from start to finish.

Ina manages Villa Baroncino, and like Marco, she is extremely well organised
and always there to help. She is very practical and was great to have around
the villa during the week. She helped with many administrative tasks such as
printing boarding passes, hiring cars etc and was excellent on the day of
the wedding. She helped with the organisation of the marquee and general
running of the day. Thank you Ina- you were a brilliant help to us.

Marco very kindly organised a shuttle service between the villa, Ciao Ciao and the other
accommodations in the area for our convenience. Massimo was the driver for
this shuttle service and I cannot say enough good things about him! He
delivered pizza to us several times, took us from villa to villa, took us
to/ from Ciao Ciao (often very late at night!), drove guests to/from the
wedding, drove the wedding car....and much, much more. He was such a nice man.
Thank you so much Massimo- we really
appreciate everything you did for us during our week at Villa Baroncino!!

I opted for Nello and Sandy hair stylists and they were great. I had a trial
with Sandy the day before the wedding and was happy with the results. They
listened to our guests and worked very hard on the morning of the wedding to
make sure that everyone was happy. Sandy brought a team of hair stylists to
the villa on the morning of the wedding which was brilliant. Thank you!

We opted for Renata caterer for the reception and again, we were delighted.
The food was absolutely beautiful and there was so much. The wedding cake was stunning and so tasty! Thank you Renata and your team.

Cristina was our florist and she did a wonderful job. She was a lovely person and helped us so much on the morning of the wedding when we needed several candles for our lanterns in the marquee. She listened to our ideas and added her own creativity- the flowers were beautiful! Thank you Cristina!

Dj Alex provided the music for the wedding reception. He was absolutely brilliant! He accepted requests and played great, lively music. We had met Alex in Ciao Ciao prior to the wedding and again, he is a really nice man who took time to get to know us and ensure that the music matched the varying tastes within our wedding party. Thanks Alex!

We had Elle and Be film our wedding day and we are so happy with the end product. Blayre was such a great guy. He took time to get to know us and we really enjoyed his company. He is an exceptionally talented videographer- highly creative and forward thinking. Thanks so much Blayre- you captured everything so well.

We organised to have Julian (jules photographer) take our wedding photographs. Again, we are delighted with his work. His photographs capture our day so well. Jules was very professional and worked so hard on the day of the wedding to capture unique shots in the Umbrian countryside. Thanks for everything Jules!

And finally to all the staff at Villa Baroncino and Ciao Ciao- thank you all for making our week so special! Everyone worked together so well to put ourselves and our guests at ease. We loved every minute of our week in Tuoro and we cannot wait to go back!

Ciara and Steafan

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were married here in May of this year. It was the most fantastic wedding venue. Ourselves and every one of our 60 guests said it was by far the best wedding they had ever been to. We couldn't recommend Marco and all the staff at Villa Baroncino highly enough, they made our special day so wonderful, we would love to go back and do it all again. When we first looked at the pictures of Villa Baroncino online we thought it looked beautiful, but when when we arrived and saw it in the flesh we were absolutly blown away. The scenery is breathtaking, I just can't imagine a better place to have your wedding.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

was at a wedding here in october,stayed for 4 days,beautiful scenary all around,rooms were clean and comfortable,with shops only a 5 min drive
if you are lucky enough to be at a wedding here you will have a great time,and be sure to check out the local night club chao chao (may not be spelt right) its an experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were very luck to be invited to a wedding at Villa Baroncino and were invited to spend the week at this amazing place. The whole villa is booked out to the wedding couple, and if you are looking for some where to have the most magical, beautiful, breath taking wedding this place is a must. Our friends got married at Cortona Town Hall, I can honestly say I have never been to a nicer wedding in my life. The wedding planner Marco arranges everything with amazing attention to detail. The food was excellent. 27 in total stayed at they Villa and all of us had the most amazing time. Around 60 in total to the wedding. They also have a restaurant Ciao Ciao (see review) by the lake which offer free taxi or delivery service to the Villa. A man came round in the morning delivering fresh bread, pastry and pizza's. They really could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jude-g73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just spent the most fabulous week for my daughter’s wedding at Villa Baroncino. There are no words to express just how magical the whole event was. Our expectations were very high and we were not disappointed. The villa is so beautiful and all our guests were blown away by the villa itself and the surrounding views.
Finally the wedding day dawned and the weather was glorious. The ceremony took place in the wonderful historic town hall which was incredible. The string trio played at the ceremony and then came back to the villa to play during the serving of the canapés their music was just perfect for the occasion.
The canapés & wedding breakfast from Luciano’s were superb. The wedding cake was carried in ceremoniously to the song “Amore” which was just fantastic. The party went with a swing thanks to the excellent DJ Alex.
Now to Marco and Ina – there are no words to express how wonderful they were both in the 12 months of arranging the event via the 8 step tool and of course during our week long stay. Nothing was too much trouble and my daughter was given a mobile phone while we were there which had all the numbers in of the suppliers, (ie florist, transport, hairdresser, Marco, Ina etc). This meant they could contact her to confirm arrangements and she could contact them with any queries. Nothing is left to chance.
My only regret about the trip is that it had to end. Now I am back here in England where it has not stopped raining since we returned, washing out the Jubilee celebrations, I just wish I could turn back the clock and do it all over again.
If you are thinking of having your wedding at Baroncino just do it – I’m sure that anything better does not exist.
As for the review by Deneeta P of Chicago I cannot believe that Tripadvisor printed it as surely you need to have actually stayed at a place before you can comment. As for the villa looking “run down” and the wedding suite not being beautiful I think she must have been in a different place from us. It’s a beautiful, charming 18th century Italian villa not a corporate chain hotel. In fact the photos don’t do the place justice. Marco is a very professional and very fair operator - his main objective is that everyone goes home happy and smiling - and I confirm that we and each and everyone of our guests did just that.
If you have already booked your wedding or are considering booking you are in for a real treat and an experience that you will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have just returned from our wedding at Villa Baroncino and it's difficult to put into words what an amazing time we all had.

Marco, Alexandra, Ina and team have all been more than helpful throughout our wedding from start to finish. We found Villa Baroncino online in 2010 having researched weddings in Tuscany and the surrounding areas. As soon as we contacted Marco for more information he was in contact with us within hours of our first email. Between him and Alexandra they answered every question and not once did we feel there was a language barrier as they both spoke amazing English (putting us to shame with not knowing any Italian).

Once we had the initial information required we booked flights and hotels to visit the villa and the team. We were offered help and advice on where best to stay even before we had booked the villa. Upon arrival to the villa we were more than impressed with what we saw even out of season we could see the potential in this amazing venue. At this time we confirmed with Marco that we were interested in securing our wedding day for 2012.

The following months consisted of completing the 8 Step Planner which is a great tool to ensure all aspects of a wedding are taken care of. Nothing is left out, everything has been covered and well thought through. It took away a lot of worry and stress that we had anticipated for a wedding abroad. Having experienced a friends wedding abroad we were slightly apprehensive given the stress and pressure that they were under. However at no point throughout our wedding did we feel any stress given how organised and on the ball Marco and his team are.

We were put in contact with several of the suppliers and we were over the moon with the ones we chose. As with Marco and his team they were in constant and regular contact with us throughout.

Flowers - We chose Mario from Cortona as our supplier. He had a very difficult job working with us as we didn't want the traditional decorations or flowers for our day. He was extremely helpful in coming up with suggestions and ideas and the end results were amazing. We'd also like to make a special mention to his son Federico who acted as translator for the 100s of emails we bombarded them with. On meeting Mario a few days before the wedding in Cortona he showed us the final table decorations which were exactly how we had discussed and pictured months before. He also added some other finishing touches to table decorations we had which looked amazing as well. We can't thank him enough for his handy work. He is genuinely a kind hearted man which is hard to find these days.

Catering - For the food we chose Renata. Her rustic Italian menu grabbed our attention from the start and Marco arranged for a food taster with her. This ended up with us being welcomed into her own home and fed like kings for the evening. The wedding day was no exception as the food was phenomenal. Everything was cooked to perfection and her staff were outstanding. We couldn't have asked for more. With vegetarians and fussy eaters amongst our guests Renata cooked separate meals for these guests so that we could have the menu we asked for without any charge.

Music - Alex DJ played everything we had asked for and made the evening pretty interesting by getting everyone into the party spirit and taking a lot of requests. All in all he is a brilliant DJ.

Ciao Ciao Team - From the first day we were treated like VIPs from all at Ciao Ciao. The food was amazing as were the staff. Kamil waited on the tables, served behind the bar and gave all our guests 5 star service throughout the week. Masimo can only be referred to as a legend shuttling us back and forth in the 'party bus' and serving us at the bar all week and had a lasting effect on some our guests who seem to miss him now they are back in the UK.

Marco also offers a delivery service of food and drinks from Ciao Ciao to the villa which we took full advantage of during the day and evenings. We were amazed at these extras we received as this treatment would be unheard of in the UK unless a premium was paid.

Videographer - We had arranged for our own photographer to fly out from the UK, however on arrival Marco surprised us with a gift of a videographer to capture our wedding day. Kamil not only being an amazing head waiter seems to also be pretty good at capturing some shots. The video he had put together (overnight - he can't have slept) has left us with something amazing that we can always look back on to remember our day. Again we can't thank Marco for arranging this and for Kamil's time on the day and putting it together so quickly. (check the video out on RIW Facebook page 'Ruth and Ben').

Villa - What can we say about this apart from AMAZING! Not only is the villa situated in an idillic part of Italy it has been furnished in a traditional way without it looking dated. Everything within the Villa is of a high standard, with every aspect of our stay catered for. The Villa manager Ina was there to greet us as soon as we arrived. Over 7 days a few very minor things weren't as discussed but Ina went out of her way to sort these within hours of notifying her. With 46 guests nothing will ever be 100% right. However Ina rectified the issues with great efficiency, always with a smile and great humour and with no disruptions to our guests. She was always on hand whenever we needed help even late into the evenings and was a great help behind the scenes on our wedding day.

Wedding Day - We had several alternative requests to the traditional wedding however Marco ensured all these requests were catered for and he got to know our personalities and used this to ensure the day ran as we wanted. Marco's enthusiasm and organisational skills made the day run without a hitch. He treated us and our guests as friends throughout the week and not just another client and we felt very welcome. The legal side of the marriage, Marco took care of and all we had to do was turn up on the day of the rehearsal and sign the forms, the rest he dealt with while we relaxed in a nearby cafe. You hear horror stories of people marrying abroad who spend hours trying to organise the legal part but this wasn't an issue for us.

If you are looking to marry in Italy then this venue and location is simply stunning, but the thing that really sets this apart from any venue in England or others we have experienced is the help and support from Marco and his team. We visited a few venues in the UK and as soon as you mention weddings they just see pound signs and just didn't seem to be flexible or helpful nor do they really seem interested in what kind of day 'you' want (as every couple is different). With Marco, his team and all the suppliers we used they could't be more helpful. The venue and support we received would have been way out of our budget anywhere else. For everything we received I think Marco is selling himself too cheaply, we feel like we got the bargain of the century and have come away with memories that will last a lifetime and look forward to seeing Marco and the team again when we organise a reunion with our guests (who are already planning it).

Thanks again to everyone involved.

Ruth and Ben

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuoro sul Trasimeno
1.0 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Relais Parco Fiorito
Relais Parco Fiorito
#1 of 1 in Piazzano
381 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ospitalita Perusia
Ospitalita Perusia
#4 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
32 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Baroncino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Baroncino

Address: Via Baroncini 38A, 06069, Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Price Range: $59 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Baroncino is a luxuriously furnished and exclusive historic villa with a refined ambience. Surrounded by soft rolling hills, the estate is plunged in lavish vegetation that is rich with woods, where nature can be thoroughly relished at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Baroncino Hotel Tuoro Sul Trasimeno
Villa Baroncino Tuoro Sul Trasimeno, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing