We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat and reflect at Finse 1222”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finse 1222

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finse 1222
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Finse
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Retreat and reflect at Finse 1222”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Finse 1222 is like no other place that I have been to. A mini-adventure to arrive, a very warm welcome when you get there, no unnecessary frills, original Norwegian-inspired cuisine (the best I had on my trip), but above all an encounter with nature that will make you think and will stay with you long after you have left. We took the bike route down to Flam, and this is a must if you like your outdoors rugged but not TOO challenging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    48
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
41
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you want to be in the middle of nature in a landmark lodge, you should head to Finse 1222. This is a 100 year old lodge is located right at the train stop. There are no cars, as a matter of fact the only means of transportation for all visitors and supplies is by train. You go here to appreciate untouched nature in its most pure form. That being said, the Finse 1222 has a very cozy bar and dinning rooms with views over the lake that boast of its rich history. The food is excellent...(no cans of baked beans here!). They bake their own bread...the best breakfast in Norway, in our view. One can expect a delicious dinner and excellent wine list. The rooms are simple as in any mountain lodge, but the point is to be outside. This is a great location for hiking or skiing. One can also rent mountain bikes and helmuts, and with a sack lunch from the hotel, ride to Flams on the old Navvy road. The scenery is spectacular! There is a drop off point in Flams where the bikes are sent by train back to Finse. Those less athletically inclined can take the train along the same path. If you enjoy rugged nature and good food this is a place you shouldn't miss!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The common areas of this hotel are very comfortable and have beautiful views. This is a fantastic hiking and biking area and this is essentially the only place to stay. The food is top notch.
So what's the problem? Our room was on the floor below the common areas and we could hear Loud walking noises above till 2 am from both guests and staff cleaning up. We had to use earplugs and that was not quite good enough. Worse than that, the hall on that level smells strongly like a sewer. In fact, we suspected it was the septic system we were smelling. The hotel has placed platters of coffee beans and some (unlit) candles in that hallway in some lame effort to counteract this. When I complained the pleasant your woman said,"of yes, room 6 is one of our worst rooms!" (no apology). So if you go to this hotel for its plusses you must require an upper floor room or arrive with both earplugs and Fabrize.

Room Tip: avoid lower level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trygvekn, Manager at Finse 1222, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, and we are glad to read that you at least partly enjoyed staying at our hotel, enjoyed the nice views, the possibilities and the good food. We want to be a place where people can come and relax, enjoy and explore the beautiful nature and eat good food. So we are very sorry to read that you could not sleep well in your room. We are also sorry for the response you got in the reception. We like to think that we would go the extra mile for our guests, but cleary you did not have that experience. We very much hope that you will come back to Finse and Finse1222 for its plusses and let us convince you that we also are a relaxing place to stay. On behalf of the staff we are very sorry for your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

First thing I was met by when I came in to the lobby was a stressed receptionist who looked very unhappy. The phone was ringing constantly and she alone had to serve in the bar, answering the phone, checking in and out guests and open the shop that is attached to the hotel. So I gave up on getting my questions answered and decided to go to the room... Later that evening I got to ask my questions about my planned walks, just to find out that none of the staff had any idea about the surrounding areas and in general seemed uninterested to help me. The room was clean but very basic and boring. There is also quite a strange smell around. The food was good but pretentious. I ended up spending the evenings at the DNT-cabin across the lake where the local beer is good, the staff knowledgeable and the atmosphere a lot more relaxed. The price is better as well. I do not recommend this hotel - because of the depressing atmosphere and bad value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trygvekn, Owner at Finse 1222, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are sorry your stay did not come out as expected. We put pride into being knowledgable of the surroundings and trip options, but as most of our personnel is young people working with us for a season or two before they move on to studies or other careers, some may not have developed the personal experience of the Finse surroundings. We are a bit disappointed that you find the food pretencious as we strive to provide better than expected food and usually get encouragingly positive feedback. But we take your comments and will add that into improving the menues. Lastly we do feel it is a bit unfair to be compared with the DNT cabin as their product is based on a totally different concept, not providing a hotel product, but rather a mountain walkers hostel where nothing is included, but you pay for what you order. But again, the atmosphere was better that night over at Finsehytta - we will have to live with that. Thank you for tour response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The warm feeling you get when you enter this hotel lobby stays whithin you for the rest of your stay. In theese rough and cold surroundings, the contrasts make you feel greatful. The view is fantastic, both to the nature and to the kiters at Finsevann. Fresh homemade bread every morning.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The rooms were reminiscent of a prison cell with a fjord view. It was very basic, very small, all white, no curtains and the beds were not comfortable. It was also a lot of noise from people walking on the floor above our room.
The common areas were nice and three-course dinner was excellent all though we had to wait a while. The location is great for exploring beautiful nature during winter as well as summer, but we will not stay here again unless the price is significantly lower.
Because the food was so great this place gets an overall rating of "average", but the rooms were really poor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheriFenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
296 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here in September, 2008 on the way from Oslo to Bergen via Flam. The common areas of the hotel are relatively nice. The rooms felt a bit dungeon-like, but were comfortable (albeit small). The location at top of the "Norwegian Alps" is very hard to beat. There is great hiking and sightseeing in the area. Definitely worth a stop here if you are doing the train-boat tour from Oslo-Bergen. The hotel restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finse
22.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
16.0 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
22.3 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
23.8 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
24.1 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finse 1222? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finse 1222

Property: Finse 1222
Address: Finse railroad station, Finse, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ulvik Municipality > Finse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Finse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finse 1222 was built in 1909 as part of the Bergen Railway and has since been the gateway to some of Norway's most beautiful and accessible mountain areas. The Hallingskarvet National Park borders to Finse and across the lake Finsevann the mighty Hardangerjokulen glacier rises. Finse 1222 is a family owned hotel run by young and serviceminded people. Allthough the premises are old and some places worn by more than 100 years of service, focus is on providing a hospitable and keen service as well as very good food. The hotel offers bike rental and ski rental. Rooms are basic - we recommend the outdoors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Finse 1222 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finse 1222 Hotel Finse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing