We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, nice location, friendly owners”
Review of Old Mill Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Mill Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blind River
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in October. Room was very clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. Good location with a great view! It was great to have a fridge and microwave. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillou768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Old Mill Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

After driving for over 10 hours, trying to get as far as Sudbury, but getting tired and late, we decided to stop at The Old Mill motel in Blind River, Ontario to check their prices, and vacancy. It was very convenient, being right on highway 17. We have a family of 5, and are usually made take 2 rooms,but were extremely impressed with being able to get a room with 2 queen size beds, and a sofa bed in one room, at a very reasonable rate, under $100 tax in. The room was exceptionally clean, the beds were very comfortable, had extra pillows, without having to ask for them. There was even a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room, which a lot of larger hotel chains don't include.
The bathroom was also very clean with very good water pressure. My family and I were very impressed with, and had a very pleasant stay at the Old Mill Motel, and would like to thank the pleasant owners for an enjoyable stay on our quick Thanksgiving weekend trip to Northwestern Ontario!
Cory and Heather Roy, Hallville, On.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had such a wonderful stay there, the rooms were really clean and quiet! Really enjoyed that after a long trip! The beach outside was amazing, loved the view from our hotel room. The staff were really friendly and took really good care of us. Overall wonderful time and would highly recommend everyone who needs a place to stay! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The rooms themselves wern't bad, had fridge and microwaves, the view from our room looked out onto a dam/waterfall thing. Gorgeous, free coffee. Pretty much standard as far as motels go but the owners were very great and accommodating! I would recommend this to anyone planning a trip to Blind River

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My entire family came up to blind river for my wedding on july 28 2012. they had a booking for another motel for 2 nights in blind river but when they were an hour away, they called to see if the rooms were ready. the owner informed him that according to their records the booking was for one night, not two. when my brother asked him why because he booked well in advance, the owner snapped at him. I rushed over to the motel and the owner said that on one sheet the booking was for two nights, but the availability book only showed one. I went to the OLD MILL HOTEL to see if they could do anything for us as we needed 3 rooms on a moments notice. NOT ONLY DID HE HAVE ROOMS, THEY WERE READY IMMEDIATELY, CLEAN, AND HAD A BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE LAKE (especially room 20). THE OWNER WAS EXTREMELY POLITE AND SO WAS HIS WIFE AND CLEANING STAFF. When the owner found out it was a wedding, he gave my parents the best room (room 20) and I ended up using room 14 for my wedding night (also with a nice view of the lake). This could have been a disaster but they were able to help.

Room Tip: room 20 or 14 are the best
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Several other hotels were sold out do I tried the Old Mill again. I noticed the new windows and flooring in the hallways. The bathroom was outdated and the towels old a scratchy, but at least they looked and smelled clean. The location is nice and the view of the water is relaxing.

The owner is strange and acts like he doesn't want customers. Lucky for us the owner was out of town when we checked in, and Dave managing the front desk is much most pleasant. IF they continue up make improvements, this place may be worth s re-visit. Price was $69 for a single bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBuddy536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We went to the hotel and were disappointed in the quality of the room. We immediately returned to the front desk to cancel our room and left. The manager/ owner still charged us for the room this occurred on July 8 2012. He had reassured me he was not going to charge for the room.
Very dishonest stay away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blind River
0.5 mi away
Northshore Wayside Inn
Northshore Wayside Inn
#1 of 2 in Blind River
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Blind River
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auberge Eldo Inn
Auberge Eldo Inn
#3 of 5 in Blind River
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Red Top Motor Inn
Red Top Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Iron Bridge
22 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
24 reviews
3.5 mi away
MacIver's Motel & Campground
MacIver's Motel & Campground
#1 of 2 in Blind River
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Motel

Address: Hwy 17 & Woodward Ave, Blind River, Ontario P0R 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Blind River
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blind River
Price Range: $70 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Mill Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Mill Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Motel Blind River, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing