We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful host beyond boundaries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Tree Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Tree Hill
Ranked #1 of 8 Zagarolo B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful host beyond boundaries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Ivano, the host of this lovely B&B, is a wonderful person I would always cherish and remember. Beyond the lovely place, food, location and everything else, Ivano is as perfect a host as one could ask for. The delicious meals he provided, the wonderful stories shared over meals, are just some of the additional positives of this place. If you desire something truly out of the trodden path, and if you desire to experience Rome and the Lazio region beyond what typical tour guides and tour groups bring you, stay here. Ivano provides excellent travel advice; In Rome, and out of Rome. Although the place is located at Zagarolo, the journey into Rome is simple and convenient with and without a car. Without one, Ivano painstakingly provides a ferry service to and fro the train station without any extra charge. From there, it's an easy ride into Rome Termini. If you drive, your GPS will do the rest for you. Finally, I must share this amazing experience I had. Upon leaving Rome, I carelessly left my camera with the rental vehicle at Rome Fiumicino Airport. After exploring several options, I decided to ask Ivano for advice. Little did I know, a few days later, he went all the way to the airport himself to pick it up, in spite of his extremely busy schedule. I am grateful beyond words for this wonderful person and friend, Ivano. I must also add that he has a fantastic wife and two very beautiful little girls. The warmth and hospitality of this family is beyond words.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedarkone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
79
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MELBOURNE FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This past May is the second time my wife and I have had the pleasure of staying with Ivano and Tehri at their beautiful B&B. Arriving there for our 2 week stay was like coming home and they made us feel so welcome it was as if we were family. The B&B is a short 30 minute train trip into Rome and Ivano and Tehri will take you to the station help to purchase your fare, make sure you get on the proper train and pick you up upon return even if you are on the last train and it is late.
Once you arrive and learn about the surrounding area you will find so many things to see that you will probably not want to spend every minute in Rome however if you do decide to go this quiet and peaceful place is the perfect location. It was so nice to visit the city and then return to Zagarolo to the tranquility of the B&B so that we could sit back and unwind. There was nothing like the enjoyment of a good glass of wine and great conversation with Ivano and Tehri before sitting down to a wonderful dinner with their family and the other guests where we could all discuss what we did that day and our plans for the next.
Thanks Ivano and Tehri we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: If you want a really nice hideaway that is quiet and romantic try the chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
298 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The other reviews say it all - almost. When we arrived (slightly tricky to find) we met Theri who showed us our (very comfortable) room. She apologised that no dinner would be available that night, although we hadn't booked. She then drove us to a lovely local restaurant with another couple and introduced us to the owner promising to collect us later. We later found out that the reason no dinner was on offer was because her husband had spent much of the day assisting another guest who had been taken ill, driving him to a local hospital and esuring the best attention was provided. This genuine feeling of care and concern for visitors is what makes this place very special and lifts it above the ordinary. A very exceptional place and people.

Room Tip: All seemed very good, but do try to arrive before nightfall and copy the google map!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

When my boyfriend and me arrived at the airport, Ivano already waited there to drive us to there b&b.
On the way to Zagarolo he asked what plans we have for the next days and started telling us useful advices where we should go to in rome and at what time and also which areas around rome we should not miss to see.
Every insider advice they gave us was very helpful and made this short vacation even more beautiful and unforgettable.

Ivano and Terhi welcomed us in italy like family and so it felt a bit like home in there place.
The room we stayed in was nice, clean and really comfortable.

The two dinners we had in the b&b both were very delicious and typical italien. Every breakfast, that we had in the 4 days, was very good too. And even the two advices for restaurants in Rome and Tivoli have been perfekt.

Another really good thing about that b&b is, that it is in this nice little town near Rome, so it is in a calm area and has a beautiful garden, where you can easily relax after interesting but also exhausting sightseeingtour in noisy Rome.

It was a wunderful time in italy and my boyfriend and me are planing to come back latest in 2 years and we will surely again stay in Il Colle degli Ulivi!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had interacted with Ivano on emails on a decision for a quick weekend around Rome.
In the interaction we could already feel we are in good hands.

Once we found the place (which is slightly tricky without signs, so I recommend to contact Ivano before hand for exact instructions), we were welcomed by smiley Theri.

We spent the first night in the Chalet & second in a room. Both were fantastic, comfortable & gave a very homy & welcome feeling.

This is the second time in 10yrs, when there is a place where the location, the owner & the guests make a unique experience, where all the guests & the hosts interact for an enjoying staying & get together, whether its breakfast, dinner or just hanging out-side on the porch.

Ivano & Theri (as well as their sweet daugthers) are welcoming, warm people & are welcoming in every manner.

If you're looking at an escape from Rome, or a place to spend time & relax close to rome, look no further, we would highly recommend Il Colle degli Ulivi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Staying at "Il Colle degli Ulivi" with Ivano and Theri made our family's first visit to Rome more perfect than I could have imagined.
The B&B is very comfortable and clean with wonderful food and excellent touring advice provided by Ivano daily. His directions for getting around in Rome made everything easier!!
Highlights for us were the trip to Palestrina, Ivano's tour of the lovely Zagarolo, and the cooking class (small additional fee) where the girls and I learned how to make potato gnocchi.
I am so glad we found this Italian gem!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsysknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Not much to say or add here. As you can see from the 140+ reviews and the overall rating...this place is the absolute best. Ivano and Terry (owners/hosts) are truly wonderful people. Staying in Rome is just not a good idea. After a long hot day in the city...taking the train south to Zagarolo and cooling of in the country with a fantastic home-cooked meal by Ivano and Terry...you are truly in heaven.

I recommended Ivano and Terry to some friend of ours for a wedding...guess what...they took our advice and Ivano made it a truly memorable day.

If you are looking for a place to relax and truly enjoy...stay with Ivano and Terry NOT downtown Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bustedbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zagarolo
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Shanti Home
#2 of 8 in Zagarolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Tree Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Tree Hill

Property: Olive Tree Hill
Address: Via Colle Palazzola 36, 00039 Zagarolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Zagarolo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Zagarolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doublerooms with ensuite bathroom or cottage on rent. Free local transport, Airport transfer service, Satellite tv, Traditional cuisine, Safe parking area. Comfort and friendly service guaranteed. A true oasis of tranquillity in a romantic and relaxing atmosphere only 30 minutes from Rome city centre. English, German, Finnish spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olive Tree Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Tree Hill Rome, Italy - Zagarolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing