We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous venue with fabulous hosts , fabulous food and fabulous views !”
Review of Windlestraw

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walkerburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windlestraw
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walkerburn
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous venue with fabulous hosts , fabulous food and fabulous views !”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently attended my brothers wedding which took place at WindleStraw Lodge and we had the priviledge to stay for two nights. The venue is warm and welcoming and the hosts make you feel really at home. The food served is out of this world and the views from every window were superb! I could not fault anything during our stay and nothing seemed too much trouble to the two hosts/proprietors. I would thoroughly recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and enjoyable break or to celebrate a special occassion ranging from a wedding to a birthday or an anniversary.

Room Tip: All six rooms are decorated to a very impressive and tasteful standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
112
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here to break up our long trip back from the top of Scotland and what a great find. A very warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble and as we were the only guests staying (it was mid week) our hosts laid out a lovely intimate table in the small conservatory. The food is of a very high standard and the rooms very well appointed but it is not a stuffy hotel and you can completely relax and switch off. Views over the Tweed are wonderful and we will be coming back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Well where do I start!
We were offered a warm welcome and a large pot of tea after our day long journey. Our room was beauitifully furnished with tasteful decoration and lovely antiques. The whole hotel just exuded good taste.
Our puppy dog was made most welcome and though she behaved herself, there was no evident anxiety expressed by our hosts.
We had booked for dinner B&B on the basis of Tripadvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. Dinner was simply delicious and beyond our expectations. A real gourmet treat.
We would highly recommend this stopover. No one could possibly be disappointed with their stay. We will definitely go out of our way to book there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have the view over the Tweed valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester (via boro)
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Read my review, or previous or even better visit Windlestraw Lodge ... you will not be disappointed.

We can break this down into four clear points ... location, house, food and service and i will be direct about each.

Location - sat back off the local road and easy to find the house sits proudly at the end of its inclined private driveway. The views from the house are picturesque and the gardens are lovely & peaceful.
House - the decor suits perfectly and you fell at home and at ease instantly. All the rooms are clean and full of character and i heard no noise from any other room or surroundings. Enjoy tea in the sun lounge or after dinner drinks in the drawing room ... fantastic
Food - Its very easy to oversell an experience but on this occassion i have to say this is the best culinary experience in 5 years of fine dining around the UK. Chef, Alan Reid gets a perfect 10 and i have to say i was served fautless dishes and the second night was simply the perfect menu executed precisely, Thank you! ... breakfast is the best also :-)
Service - Both Alan and Julie Reid care about what they are doing and make you feel welcome and have an eye for detail ... whether it be a pot of tea or dinner service the pair work well and so hard to ensure your stay is remembered (oh not forgetting the girls at dinner and the two four legged friends !)

Without doubt a gem in the scottish borders, FOR SURE !

Negatives - having to leave ! (and bloody rain!)
Visited 28-30 Aug (couple)

Room Tip: all rooms are good. from facing rooms get best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

On a recent week's driving trip in Scotland, the Windlestraw was an unexpected gem. We had done the west coast, Ballater and Edinburgh, and were on the (subdued) homeward leg of the journey, having had a great week.
We were late leaving Edinburgh, and, being booked in for supper at 8.45pm, had to ring to say we'd be delayed. Julie could not have been more accommodating. We arrived to a warm welcome, were showed to the exquisite rooms (beautifully appointed and comfy), and then came down to dinner

The panelled dining room is graced by a statuesque sideboard, complete with a display of excellent wines, which sets off to perfection the near-Michelin-star quality of the degustation menu we were offered. We were not expecting such a world-class standard of cuisine. Everything was superb, and the homemade bread, wine (mine a smooth, fruity Riesling; his, a complex Sauvignon Blanc), homemade petit fours and excellent coffee were the perfect complements.

Having mini board games (Noughts and Crosses on ours) on the sitting room tables is a lovely touch.

Sadly, we could only stay one night, but it was the most comfortable-come-homely night we had had on our trip.

For the quality of decor, fixtures, fittings and welcome, our doubles were a very reasonable £90 [single occupancy; for two sharing, it's cheaper) per night. We couldn't believe that the food was only £45 - that's exceptionally reasonable.

If you're looking for a high-octaine holiday, this may not be for you, but lovers of quiet, calm, luxurious surroundings should make the trip.

Shall certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms are named. Peddie faces the front, and is slightly bigger than Caberston, the other double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We has one night at Windlestraw Lodge and only wish it could have been more!
Beautiful house, peaceful, welcoming, luxurious and the best - the food! You can't eat as well as this in any of the top restaurants in Edinburgh!
We will be back of that there is no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The food and accommodation were both wonderful. We had a lovely stay, the room was huge and decor was really appropriate for that period of build. We will be back to enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walkerburn
9.3 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
751 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.3 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
6.8 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,959 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestraw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestraw

Property: Windlestraw
Address: Galashiels Road, Walkerburn EH43 6AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Walkerburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walkerburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique getaway destination close to Edinburgh but in the heart of the beautiful Border countryside with outstanding views of the River Tweed and Tweed Valley. Relax and enjoy the splendour and location of this beautiful Edwardian Manor house, combined with superb food, fine wines and relaxed but professional hospitality from owners John and Sylvia Matthews ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders Hotel Walkerburn
Windlestraw Hotel Walkerburn
Windlestraw Walkerburn, Scotland - Scottish Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing