We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Hide 'n Seek house ever!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Wriggly Tin

The Wriggly Tin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin BBQ Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin
BBQ Area
Living Room with Open Log Fire
Living Room
Dining room with seating for 10 at the table
Stairs to Loft bedroom
Twin beds in Loft Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Winter at The Wriggly Tin
The Wriggly Tin In snow
Main Door
3 Bedded Room
3 Bedded Room
Stairs and Hall Lower Ground Floor
1st Double Bedroom with Arched window opening to garden
2nd Double Bedroom
Garden from Dining Room Window
Gravel Area in Garden
Friendly Visitor
Main door over Foot Bridge
Floor Plan of The Wriggly Tin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Huck675
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Hide 'n Seek house ever!”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Wriggly Tin lived up to its name both outside and in, and all three generations loved it from the word go. Karen gave us a warm welcome, and was most helpful throughout. The flowers, flapjack and chocolate helped us feel at home quickly, and the house provided everything we needed, and more.
The location was perfect, the views stunning, bird song amazing and even the weather obliged for most of the week so that we could enjoy Derbyshire at its best. The house has been lovingly restored to a very high standard, and the accommodation is flexible and worked for us on every level. We were sad to leave, and will certainly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
So glad you had a lovely holiday and everything worked well for all your Family - please come back and stay sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna B
2 reviews
“Cosy, comfortable and well equipped accommodation in a superb location”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a lovely place to stay! Spacious, warm and well equipped right in the centre of the beautiful Peak District. Friendly welcome from Karen and homely feel from the start with homemade flapjacks and fresh flowers. Interesting history to the Wriggly Tin and right on the fantastic Monsal trail.... Make sure you make the effort to climb up to Monsal Head for the breath taking scenery. We'll definitely be coming back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
969wendyh
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family break.”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a 4 day stay here, my husband and myself and our two sons with their families.
The outside gives no indication of the size of the place it easily sleeps 9 and plenty of room. There is so much thought put in to the comfort of those staying there by the owner, flowers and flapjack to greet you, lots of little touches like toiletries, and tea/coffee to get you settled in. The whole place was very clean and comfortable, lovely and warm throughout the stay and there was a plentful supply of logs for the fire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday again, would love to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheReluct...
2 reviews
“A little gem”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Myself & 6 girl friends have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Wriggly Tin. A delightful higgledy piggledy layout makes this house truly unique. Spotlessly clean & everything you could need. Felt like home from home! Not to mention the lovely welcome from the owners who are so friendly & knowledgeable and the fabulous walks right on the doorstep (something to suit all abilities!) There is also a lovely little pub within walking distance where the food was great & we were made to feel very welcome. Highly recommend the Wriggly Tin, we were all very sad to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shaniya
corfu
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, amazing place!”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I recently stayed at the Wriggly Tin, with a group of friends, to celebrate my 50th birthday. The accommodation was excellent! Karen has considered every eventually of what visitors may require during their stay.
The property was very clean and very characteristic. I loved it. I can not rate this place highly enough.
You are very close to Bakewell, which is well worth a visit. The Monsal Trail is a lovely walk. The local pub, the Anglers Rest, serve excellent food and the owners were very welcoming .
I do expect to return in the future though due to excellent reviews, availability may be difficult.
Thank you Karen for helping to make my birthday weekend one that I will remember forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you had a good time for your special Birthday.
Kind regards
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hantil
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect venue - party, walk, dine and relax”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Everything we could have needed for the perfect Hen Party.
Comfortable in every way and enough bathrooms & hot water for all 12 of us.
Different walks at every turn, Tideswell being our favourite, with plenty of watering holes, restaurants and chip shops ☺️
We particularly enjoyed the ice cream van in the station car park - ice creams on tap!!
Hope to make this a regular get-together.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing