We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute gem of a place!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Wriggly Tin

The Wriggly Tin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin BBQ Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin
BBQ Area
Living Room with Open Log Fire
Living Room
Dining room with seating for 10 at the table
Stairs to Loft bedroom
Twin beds in Loft Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Winter at The Wriggly Tin
The Wriggly Tin In snow
Main Door
3 Bedded Room
3 Bedded Room
Stairs and Hall Lower Ground Floor
1st Double Bedroom with Arched window opening to garden
2nd Double Bedroom
Garden from Dining Room Window
Gravel Area in Garden
Friendly Visitor
Main door over Foot Bridge
Floor Plan of The Wriggly Tin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Georgie G
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a place!”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just come back from a wonderful four night stay here with my husband, son, sister and nephew and we absolutely loved it! The Wriggly Tin is even better in reality than the photos and we were delighted with the welcome and the initial wander around, discovering all it had to offer. It is such a bonus not to have to take all the extras and to be presented with a huge supply of home made flapjack, some milk, loads of tea, coffee and orange juice, big chocolate bars, plus gorgeous fresh roses on the table! We were also able to arrive two hours earlier which was really appreciated.

My husband brought his bike so was able to cycle on the Monsal Trail and we all walked a good stretch of it and it was great to run along it too. Really good to walk through the old tunnels, past old stations and to see the wonderful views.

The Heights of Abraham are well worth a visit too, only 18 miles away with cable cars to take you to the top of a hill with spectacular views of Derbyshire and plenty to do and see at the top. All the details were left for us to find with an abundance of information left by Karen at the Wriggly Tin. We also visited Buxton, Bakewell and Tideswell.

It was always such a pleasure coming back to base and there was so much space for us to not feel on top of each other. The surroundings are really gorgeous too, peaceful and relaxing. Luxury accommodation in a stunning setting, well worth staying and we're so glad we did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, we know you were recommended The Wriggly Tin by a previous guest and we are so pleased it lived up to your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vtex001
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Possibly the best holiday rental we have stayed in”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for a week with our children, grandparents and aunt. The building is fascinating and almost 'tardis-like' as it extends away from the road and down a level. The standard of finish is excellent and the facilities were simply outstanding. We were all very impressed with the area and ease of access. I would like to think we will return to The Wriggly Tin in the future as we only scratched the surface of the Peak District. I would highly recommend The Wriggly Tin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: The light rain!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Thank you for your fabulous review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and that the Peak District was all you were expecting. We would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne F
Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'What a little Gem'”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at the Wriggly Tin. It is like an Aladdins Cave, it just keeps on giving.
We were 8 adults and a 3yr old and a 8month baby, plenty of room for everyone.
The little touches were really appreciated, the flapjack, chocolate plus the practical pluses, soap in all the bathrooms and bubbles, dishwasher tabs, condiments etc.
Karen and Peter offer great hospitality, warm and welcoming.
Will definitely stay again
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
Bolton
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Wriggly Tin for a week with our 3 children and their partners joining us for varying times. 7 adults in total which the Tin handles with ease. Our welcome was warm, basics to make a drink were supplied and the Flap Jacks were scrummy.

From the outside it looks a bit quirky with the corrugated iron cladding. It looks quite small, but when you go in you find it is Tardis-like. 4 Bedrooms in total, large living kitchen/diner with separate lounge. 4 showers with loads of hot water, 4 toilets. And the place is very well equipped and comfortable.

Unlike a lot of holiday rentals they provide hand wash at every sink, extra towels and air freshener in all communal toilets, washing-up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc etc ... all those things that you can never understand why the owners don't just provide them ... Here they do!

The Tin has underfloor heating which maintains a very comfortable temperature if it gets a bit cold outside.

It's also ideally situated for a range of activities and interests. Some in our group went easy bike riding on the Monsall Trail, 60+ mile bike rides through most of Derbyshire, short easy walks, longer walks (but hard to find real hills unless you drive to Kinder), visits to Eyam Hall, Haddon Hall (with Chatsworth and Hardwick also pretty near). There's really a lot to do.

Red Lion at Litton is good for food and beer, Angler's Rest in Miller's Dale does food and has good beer and a short drive away the food at the Royal Oak is worth the extra drive.

I'd recommend the Wriggly Tin to any of my friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Warmer weather would have been great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2015
Thank you very much for your review, it is lovely when guests take the time to write about us, and especially when done so favourably. We feel it of the utmost importance that our guests have the best holiday experience they can whilst they are staying here, and providing many incidentals is easy for us and saves guests so much bother.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavarcham
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,042 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us travelled here for our annual get together. Karen provided a friendly welcome with flowers and homemade flapjacks. The house looks small from outside but once inside you discover it extends up, down and back on three levels. It is warm, comfortable and well equipped. The garden is also multi levelled and must be a lovely place to sit out in the summertime. The location right next to the Monsal Trail is perfect for walkers as well as cyclists. An open plan kitchen/ dining room is always a feature we look for in choosing a place to stay so that for breakfasts and on nights we decide to eat in, we can chat and relax while preparing the meal. The spacious area here suited us very well. For eating out, I highly recommend the Bull at Foolow. We went there on our first evening and returned for 'Pie night' on our last evening. The food was absolutely delicious and good value. The pub and restaurant has a super atmosphere thanks to the landlord and his mother.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Wriggly Tin is a lovely quirky building. There is plenty of room round the table and in the sitting room - 8 of us sat round the gorgeous log fire in comfort. The location is wonderful (even if the mobile signal isn't). The Monsal Trail is literally across the road and well worth a walk or cycle along

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy log fires
Liked least: Rain on the Sunday afternoon
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome, lovely house”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here for a week, two families together. Booking was easy and lots of helpful information given by Karen. We arrived late in the evening, so the house was open for us, lights and heat on and a supermarket delivery had been received - really helpful. Arrival was lovely, there were flowers, flapjack, fudge and milk, tea and coffee. The house was spotless and everything was provided you could wish for. There were 9 of us staying, and it never got crowded. Having two lounges really helped. The fire was great for the evening, all firewood and kindling was provided.
The house is situated opposite the Monsal Trail which was great for walks straight from the house. There was a good pub in the village that served good food and ales. Altogether a great house, well cared for and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire, 3 bed room
Liked least: Patchy wifi - difficult for children doing homework
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing