We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly reccomended! ottimo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Chigi - CLOSED

Ristorante Chigi
Price range: $16 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Milan, Italy
1 review
“highly reccomended! ottimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

an excellent meal in friendly family environment that is also extremely sophisticated, with the added advantage of good english. The garden is wonderful for outside summer eating. I've eaten here at every possible occasion during my stay here in Formello and have found an interesting and continually changing menu. FANTASTIC!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    31
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When in formello, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I was impressed from the vivid imagination of the cook, which turns every dish into a really pleasant surprise with combinations of first materials that surpassed my gastronomic experience and made me very, very happy and content! This is good. Really good!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Some of the best food in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I really can't say enough wonderful things about this restaurant. I was in Formello for work for a couple weeks and this was one of the restaurants recommended to us. Ever since my first meal there I haven't really been able to go anywhere else (and when I have wandered into another establishment, I've kicked myself several times for doing so). Lovely setting in an old castle (now a museum) and great service. You are most likely to be greeted by the matriarch of the restaurant or her daughter. Both are quite fun and very helpful and clearly express a passion for great food. Between myself and the others in our group I believe we've had just about everything on the menu (and some that aren't) and have LOVED everything. Pasta cooked to perfection. Great twists on more common Italian dishes (like a prosciutto infused ricotta based antipasta topped with green figs with a melon puree...unbelievably good). Each meal has a few meat dishes, a few seafood dishes, and a few vegetarian dishes to offer, with great attention and passion devoted to each. And every day something a little different depending on what's fresh or something dreamt up in the kitchen earlier that day. Whether you are in Formello, or need an escape from Rome, I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you awy from rome thie plase is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nice food nice service, this place worth vist even when you live or stay away

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thamer2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
252 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“You can't not enjoy this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

The desserts are sublime and all made by 'mamma'. Her homemade bread is wonderful too. The wine list is excellent.
We loved the little room inside which was almost like a grotto. "Mamma" was so kind and so pleased to share her recipes and love of cooking. This was slow-food at its very best.
Formello is also a little jewel and honestly not that far from Rome.
We shall definitely come here again.
The only negative point, parking is not that easy as it is on the main road.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Chigi also viewed

Formello, Province of Rome
Formello, Province of Rome
 
Formello, Province of Rome
Formello, Province of Rome
 
Formello, Province of Rome
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing