We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, bright room and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Railway Hotel

The Railway Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-on-Crouch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Railway Hotel
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean, bright room and good service”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed in a room at the front of the hotel for 1 night. The room was bright with two large windows looking over the main street to the front and was well furnished with good quality soft furnishings.

The en-suite was clean and had a good shower.

We chose not to have breakfast on this occasion.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brynavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vejle
Level Contributor
197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Railway Hotel for a weekend this month September 2011 for 3 nights.
The room was large and comfortable with a good bathroom. The bathroom had a fancy gold shower unit but you not use it as a good shower as the shower head did not fit the clip on the top of the unit. The toilet was very slow to fill the cistern and needs repairing.

We had breakfast at the hotel and surprised we were charged extra for that at £7,50 ahead per day it was not value for money compared to other Hotels we have stayed in.
The other problem is they lock the entrance to the hotel at 11pm and you have no key to enterso you are asked to ring a number posted on the door and on the Sunday they locked the door at 9.30 pm and did not tell us, we did not have our Danish mobile phones with us. It was thanks to their neighbours phone we could make contact.
Overal they should fit a secure lock system and allow their guests to have a key.

Next time we will try another Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed here for one night with my partner and was pleasantly surprised by the room,a double facing the main road.As this was Sunday ,there was not much traffic around so i noise was not a problem.
The room was newly decorated,refurbished and clean.The room had a radio,tv,direct dial telephone,refreshment tray with biscuit's and a shower.The bed was comfortable and so we had a good night's sleep.I found the condom's in the bedside table a little odd but did'nt ask if they were in all the room's.
Breakfast is an extra £7.50pp on top of the room cost,our room was £60, i think is great value for a room like this which is above the usual standard for a pub.
The pub also has a lunch/dinner menu including a value two course lunch one midweek.
The only downside is the distance from the river,i am not sure about parking as we arrived by train(a very short walk from this pub-just across the road )There is a bus stop outside,service's into the main town.There is a separate entrance to the room's via the reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy60LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The room I had was largely adequate, but the curtains had clearly come from a different room, so weren't wide enough to cover the window and keep the light out.

The bathroom was nice, with a good powerful shower.

Breakfast was OK, but I was surprised that at £62/night for the room it wasn't included in the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 666SM666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this hotel - it definitely surpassed my expectations. Very clean, newly renovated, country charm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ang201045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
9.4 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
211 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#2 of 3 in Rochford
121 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#5 of 5 in Burnham-on-Crouch
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creeksea Place Barns
Creeksea Place Barns
#1 of 2 in Burnham-on-Crouch
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Smack Inn
The Oyster Smack Inn
#1 of 5 in Burnham-on-Crouch
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Hotel

Property: The Railway Hotel
Address: 12 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-on-Crouch
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing