We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oyster Smack Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Good pub with rooms. Stayed on the £100 DBB package. Lovely 3 course evening meal and good cooked breakfast. Room clean, spacious and nicely decorated. However the room overlooking the road did suffer from bar and road noise, so would recommend choosing the chalet round the back, and/or earplugs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WomblingFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights for a friend's wedding. The room was lovely, very spacious and the bed was huge! The room was above the bar which we thought would be noisy but was fine. There was more noise from the passers by after the pubs closed. The breakfast was fine choice of cooked, cereal, toast. The staff were excellent, very polite and helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyBee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed in one of the de luxe rooms in main building. Room was very spacious and furnished in a modern style with king-sized bed and a sofa. It was over the bar area which would perhaps not suit anyone who retires early when there is a busy evening on downstairs, but we did not find noise obtrusive. We also looked at rooms in courtyard before we left and they too are well furnished and comfortable.

Food in restaurant is excellent and well prepared and served. The food has an essence of original though, rather than standard gastro-pub fare. Good choice of dishes and reasonably priced wines.

Breakfast is a bit limited in week, being continental style, but considering the room rates, could find cooked breakfast locally at a reasonable price if preferred. Cooked breakfast at weekend ( when we stayed ) was a little limited, although well cooked. Breakfast arrangement perhaps a little too B & B, including tea and coffee in vacuum dispensers, but staff are helpful.

Well kept Wherry bitter. Will be returning and is suitable all year round for a break

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckslounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Our room was above the kitchen and dining room.

It was very hot and subject to kitchen noises (freezer hum etc) all night

Dining and drinking carried on loudly until around midnight.

Breakfast arrangements were laughable

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quietmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor800, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at the Oyster Smack, we have now rectified all the problems with this room.

We now have a breakfast supervisor to make sure every one enjoys a good standard of service for breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

stayed here 21-23 aug,room was immaculate & quite large,tea & coffe making facilities,flat screen tv,very modern toilet & shower area,parking a bit tight,so parked on the street,food was excellent here as it was packed out both nights,would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

A converted pub that's now more of a restaurant with bedrooms around the car park. Friendly service and a very good restaurant that's smart but relaxed. Don't expect hotel lounges etc and breakfast is good but a bit too much self service.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

This is a small proprietor owned hotel on the high street in Burnham-on-Crouch, about 5 minutes walk from the estuary. We stayed in the single storey block round the courtyard. The room was modern and clean, and the staff courteous and helpful. The room price was £65 per night, including DIY continental breakfast in the week (which was fine) and full breakfast at the weekend (didn't have the opportunity to try this). The restaurant in the hotel is excellent, particularly for seafood, and is highly recommended. There is also a bar with its own menu which also sells good food.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClearViewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burnham-on-Crouch hotels
1 mi away
Creeksea Place Barns
Creeksea Place Barns
#1 of 2 in Burnham-on-Crouch
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#4 of 6 in Burnham-on-Crouch
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-on-Crouch
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Smack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Smack Inn

Address: 112 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-on-Crouch
Price Range: $83 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oyster Smack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Smack Inn is a charming local restaurant with rooms, built in the 1800’s. The building is full of character and sets the scene for an outstanding and extremely popular local inn. Owned and run by chef patron Trevor Howell and his wife Claire, the pub has become the first port of call for those seeking excellent food in friendly, relaxed and stylish surroundings. The newly decorated dining room and bar are both classic and timeless, the coastal shades of the decor providing a serene backdrop to the dining experience. Wooden floors and hand-made furniture all work to create a feeling of quiet elegance. The coastal location means that The Oyster Smack Inn can take full advantage of the freshest of seafood and our menu utilises this to full effect. The team in the kitchen are passionate about using the finest produce from local suppliers. Changing seasonally, our dinner menu offers the best of modern British food whilst your favourite classic pub dishes can be found on our lunch menu. Whether you are looking dine out with family and friends or to entertain clients, at The Oyster Smack Inn you can celebrate a very special occasion or simply pop in for a light snack - our kitchens are happy to oblige, whatever your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Oyster Smack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oyster Smack Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch
The Oyster Smack Inn Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing