We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but room for improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oyster Smack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Smack Inn
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not bad, but room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Oyster Smack Inn as, like a lot of guests, we were in Burnham on Crouch for a wedding.

Rather than being a dedicated hotel, the Oyster Smack is a popular restaurant/bar, with some rooms within the building, as well as a few chalets at the rear.

Our chalet room was a good size, with a comfortable double bed, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, a bathroom with a stand-alone shower (no bath) as well as a flat screen TV. Unfortunately, the room didn’t have any windows, with the only natural light coming from a skylight, meaning we were woken up by the sunlight early in the morning.

Although it was only early September, we found the temperature in the room at night to be quite cold. There was a wall radiator, but as the central heating was off, it wasn’t of any use.
There were also a few minor housekeeping points that were missed, such as papers from previous guests left in drawers, and used contact lenses in a corner of the room, but the room was otherwise fairly clean.

The included breakfast, which I was looking forward to given the Oyster Smack’s good reputation, was disappointing. The continental selection was poor, with just a few packets of bread, butter, jam, yoghurt, cereal and a few fruits. After we were seated, the waitress approached and asked what we would like, but weren’t offered a menu or informed of what was actually available! We just asked for a “cooked breakfast”, as we knew they offered a cooked option. It’s a shame they charge an additional £7 for this, I think maybe just having a breakfast menu and allowing guests to select an item, included in the room rate, would be a better approach.

On the positive side, the bar staff were polite and professional, and were happy to have a chat and inform us about the local area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
I have passed on your kind words and constructive criticism to the staff.
I am glad that you had a comfortable night’s sleep, we do have rooms with baths and they can be requested when booking.
We have recently focused on upgrading our continental breakfast buffet which includes having freshly baked croissants, muffins and a cheese and meat platter option plus many other improvements.
Unfortunately on your visit it appears you were sat on a table that did not have a breakfast menu. On our breakfast menu you can order a full English breakfast, Salmon and scrambled eggs and other options.
We do hope we can accommodate you in the future so you can experience the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    42
    22
    17
    4
See reviews for
30
75
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a review for my old stay there. I used to stay there for few month. Great family owned place, you feel at home, great room service, clean ensuite rooms. bar service was great and the location is great near the river front

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafTheDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor, we always appreciate feedback and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had dinner here on a Saturday night and thought the food was really good. I had the Roast Belly of Pork and I must say it was one of the best I have had. My wife had the fish pie and she said it was very good. The food and drink was very reasonably priced and we both left saying that we would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Whicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I have passed on your kind words to the team. We hope we can accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at the Oyster Smack Inn two weeks ago and had a great time. The room was a generous size and the bed very comfortable.

I ate in the restaurant and despite it the weekend rush of locals the service was very friendly and food excellent.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I have passed on your kind words to the team. I was delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere we create at the Oyster Smack along with the service we provide. Please do let me know when you plan to return to us and I will be welcoming you back personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

i stayed for 3 nights and have to say this was not worth the money. the bed was massive and that was the best part of the room, although it had been warm in the week we stayed during a cold snap and the heating was off which led for some cold nights. had the duvet fit the bed this may not have been an issue! there was also mold on our divan. there was no hot water on our last day which did not help. our room was chalet 1 and at night (midnight) we kept getting woken up by staff clattering about and talking loudly outside which is funny as there are signs in the restuarant asking patrons to be quiet when they leave not to wake the community.
we ate in the restaurant one night and it was lovely if not a little overpriced. breakfast was a disgrace, £7 for undercooked scrambled egg and burnt bacon which we had to wait ages for. ended up finding a local cafe and getting a better full english for £4.50.
so anyway i would not stay here again, i have stayed in many 4 star hotels and this was nowhere near up to standard. in fact i would say its more 2-3 star. they need a major change in the hotel part of this business to meet there pricing.
all in all i would not stay here again

Room Tip: none of the chalets near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smurphycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Thanks for taking the time to write your review – we do appreciate all feedback here, good or bad, as we strive to provide the best value for our guests

I have communicated your feedback to the team and we have addressed the points you raised.

We did have a problem with the heating on your stay which has now been fixed.

I have addressed the price issue with the breakfast and it is charged at £4.95 for scrambled egg and bacon.

It is vital to our operation that guests are not bothered by noise during service and the cleaning down of our busy restaurant after service. We have taken certain steps to make sure that guests are not disturbed by the staff leaving.

It’s only with feedback such as yours that we can get better and better. So we appreciate you helping us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here last week, as our friends were getting Married in St. Marys Church
The room was gorgeous well decorated and plenty of space, really impressed with the facitlites available to us.
My partner had breakfast the first morning of Scrambled Egg on toast which we were charged £7 we did find this to be a little extreme as we have stayed in many different hoterls and never been charged as much as this for breakfast, we also foudn the egg was not cooked as properly as it could have been. This did let the venue down.
We stayed 3 nights on the 2nd morning we had the full english which was great very filling, there was alittle wait but that is acceptable as there were a lot of guests ordering full english.
The staff were extremely friendly and attentive anything we asked for was there which is great.
We would definately stay here again and reccomend it to friends

Room Tip: Room number 5 is very spacious great room to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammySaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted that we met your expecations in so many ways. It was our pleasure to look after you during your stay at the Oyster Smack Inn. I have also passed on your kind words to the team.

I have addressed the price issue and quality with the breakfast; it is charged at £4.95 for scrambled egg and on toast now, and we now have more options at lower prices.

It’s only with feedback such as yours that we can get better and better. So we appreciate you helping us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for a night and thought the room was very basic. And we weren't happy that the shower was in the room and not in a separate bathroom. There was a noisy fan sound that kept us up and the main light didn't work. We didn't eat here so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meljn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
9.2 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#2 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#5 of 5 in Burnham-on-Crouch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Smack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Smack Inn

Property: The Oyster Smack Inn
Address: 112 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-on-Crouch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oyster Smack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Smack Inn is a charming local restaurant with rooms, built in the 1800’s. The building is full of character and sets the scene for an outstanding and extremely popular local inn. Owned and run by chef patron Trevor Howell and his wife Claire, the pub has become the first port of call for those seeking excellent food in friendly, relaxed and stylish surroundings. The newly decorated dining room and bar are both classic and timeless, the coastal shades of the decor providing a serene backdrop to the dining experience. Wooden floors and hand-made furniture all work to create a feeling of quiet elegance. The coastal location means that The Oyster Smack Inn can take full advantage of the freshest of seafood and our menu utilises this to full effect. The team in the kitchen are passionate about using the finest produce from local suppliers. Changing seasonally, our dinner menu offers the best of modern British food whilst your favourite classic pub dishes can be found on our lunch menu. Whether you are looking dine out with family and friends or to entertain clients, at The Oyster Smack Inn you can celebrate a very special occasion or simply pop in for a light snack - our kitchens are happy to oblige, whatever your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Oyster Smack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oyster Smack Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch
The Oyster Smack Inn Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing