We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rustic getaway with good access to great beaches, restuarants”
Review of Paraiso Jardim

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almadena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paraiso Jardim
GreenLeadersBronze level
sutton coldfield
2 reviews
“a rustic getaway with good access to great beaches, restuarants”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we stayed at paraiso jardim in august 2012.we were warmly greeted by kath who settled us in and gave us loads of advice on what was where.[45 mins drive from faro, hire car a must for all the algarve has to offer] accommodation was very pleasant and homely.we did find the beds alittle hard and kath immediately offered to change them.lovely restaurants in bergau and almadena.dolphin safari came up trumps, we used beach hut watersports on beach in luz.all in all a lovely family holiday. every afternoon we came back to a great pool and cooled the kids down till teatime. you might need insect repellant at bedtime just in case.you wont find anywhere like this but it is near a road and a cockeral does reside nearby.having said that, we would definitely come back

Room Tip: the appartments are suited to different sized families.i viewed all of them whilst there,and they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessabinnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A big thank you to Kathy and Alan for being fantastic hosts, nothing was too much trouble and you go out of your way to make a memorable trip. You have a traditional, idyllic, peaceful paradise. The pool area was immaculately kept and was a great size, the teenage children loved this as they nearly always had it to themselves.

We had a particularly lovely time at the BBQ area where you could get to know other guests. We never felt our private space over looked or intruded upon.

The location of your paradise was ideal very close to many fabulous beaches, Lagos, Luz, Burgau and many more quiet hidden beautiful coves .The West Coast was a lovely, a beautiful National Park and again fabulous beaches one in particular had great waves which would be great for surfing.

The apartment Vine was delightful, clean and spacious and had everything in it that we needed.

The only bad point was we had to come home.

From Sue, Dave, Adam and James

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanw535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Fantastic location with easy access to everything you need on holiday.......but isolated enough for peace and quiet if desired. Everything so relaxed and this part of the Algarve is much better than the eastern area. Apartment was ideal and pool and surroundings so traditional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Paraiso Jardim with our two teenage sons. They particularly appreciated the large pool which we often had to ourselves. The western end of the Algarve is the least developed. Paraiso Jardim was a particularly great location for us as we had access to both southern coast beaches such as Salema and Zavial and the wilder and emptier western coast beaches with huge Atlantic rollers and acres of flat wet sand to do stuff with balls!.Kathy and Al were great hosts -so warm and friendly. We particularly enjoyed cooking on the BBQ in summer kitchen where we got together with people we met staying in one of the other apartments. Paraiso would be ideal if you are travelling as two or more families.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Thank you so so much for a wonderful stay, it could not have been better. The hospitality that Kathy and Alan offered was better than anywhere I've ever stayed.

We wanted a peaceful and relaxing holiday in august, and were worried this wasn't possible, but we ready needn't have. With only 5 rooms sharing a huge gorgeous pool we had many days where we were the only ones there.

We were also worried about the apartments being near the road and being noisy, but were amazed that you literally hear nothing from it. In fact, it just became very useful as it was easy to get to any of the beaches, towns and mountains. A brilliant location.

Our favourite beach was on the atlantic coast (don't go on a windy day though - ouch!) called Cordoama - Borrow the body boards from the pool area and its a fantastic day out. The water feels chilli to begin with but you soon get used to it!! Also have the Sardines and Langoustine from the cafe on the beach - Mmmm!!

The other beach we loved was Figuera just down the coast. (very sheltered from the wind) Hardly anyone on it and a lovely walk down (about 10 mins).

In terms of eating out, we went somewhere different each night. kathy & Alan were so kind that they gave us a lift every night to where ever we wanted! Totally no need for them to do it, but it was fantastic... then taxi's back were easy and cheap so no problem at all. Our favourite restaurant was no.6 in Burgau.

Really really hope to go back again sometime and would advise anyone to go here (except if you are going to ruin the peace and quiet!!)

Thanks again,

Lara and Gavin (28 & 34years old from Bristol)

Room Tip: We stayed in Jasmine - a large downstairs room with huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I have recently returned from a fantastic week in the Bird of Paradise room at Paraiso Jardim. Weather was wall to wall sunshine, apartment spacious with everything you could wish for (including some essentials in the fridge which were gratefully consumed after an extremely early flight), very comfortable beds and a huge rooftop patio ideal for an early evening drink before heading out. The grounds are well kept with a lovely decent size swimming pool and loungers. The owners Kath and Alan are extremely friendly and helpful, always happy to advise on whats near by.

In the village there is an English bar, a Scottish steak and pizza restaurant called Brodies (good home made pizzas), a couple of small Portuguese cafe's, and a great popular Portuguese restaurant called O Celeiro (search for it along with Almadena and you are sure to find lots of reviews!) that isnt cheap but really worth it for a fabulous meal with great service and some entertainment (they have the largest pepper grinder you will ever see and a port glass thats the size of the FA cup!). Nearby is Burgau that has lots of restaurants and a nice small beach with a nice bay for swimming. Easy to get to many many more beaches and towns such as Sagres, Salermo, Luz, Lagos, Alvor etc.

All in all we would highly recommend staying here. A car is recommended to explore, and to drive the hour or so from the airport, but once you arrive you'll instantly feel super relaxed and ready to unwind in fabulous tranquil surroundings. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2011

EXCELLENT!, lovely stay, best hotel I have ever went to HOPE TO GO THERE AGAIN NEXT YEAR thank you anty chathy and uncle alan when we got there it was very late but they still came out to say hello

Room Tip: very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieranbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almadena
3.9 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
1.4 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 8 in Luz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AlmaVerde Village & Spa
AlmaVerde Village & Spa
#3 of 8 in Vila do Bispo
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
6.9 mi away
Good Feeling Hostel
Good Feeling Hostel
#1 of 20 in Sagres
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Jardim

Property: Paraiso Jardim
Address: Almadena 8600-102, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Almadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paraiso Jardim is idyllically located in this magnificent part of the Algarve, just a stone’s throw from Luz, Lagos and the Costa Vincentina Natural Park. The region offers many major attractions including numerous golf courses and beautiful beaches. The "Quinta" is made up 5 private self contained cottage/apartments with a range of styles and bedrooms, something to suit everyone. The typical Portuguese village of Almadena is less than 5 minutes walk away and hosts 6 bars and 3 restaurants. Our Jasmine studio has been adapted for wheelchair use and we have full access to the pool for wheelchairs ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing