We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base at the best end of the Algarve”
Review of Paraiso Jardim

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almadena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paraiso Jardim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Paraiso Jardim with our two teenage sons. They particularly appreciated the large pool which we often had to ourselves. The western end of the Algarve is the least developed. Paraiso Jardim was a particularly great location for us as we had access to both southern coast beaches such as Salema and Zavial and the wilder and emptier western coast beaches with huge Atlantic rollers and acres of flat wet sand to do stuff with balls!.Kathy and Al were great hosts -so warm and friendly. We particularly enjoyed cooking on the BBQ in summer kitchen where we got together with people we met staying in one of the other apartments. Paraiso would be ideal if you are travelling as two or more families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 69 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

Thank you so so much for a wonderful stay, it could not have been better. The hospitality that Kathy and Alan offered was better than anywhere I've ever stayed.

We wanted a peaceful and relaxing holiday in august, and were worried this wasn't possible, but we ready needn't have. With only 5 rooms sharing a huge gorgeous pool we had many days where we were the only ones there.

We were also worried about the apartments being near the road and being noisy, but were amazed that you literally hear nothing from it. In fact, it just became very useful as it was easy to get to any of the beaches, towns and mountains. A brilliant location.

Our favourite beach was on the atlantic coast (don't go on a windy day though - ouch!) called Cordoama - Borrow the body boards from the pool area and its a fantastic day out. The water feels chilli to begin with but you soon get used to it!! Also have the Sardines and Langoustine from the cafe on the beach - Mmmm!!

The other beach we loved was Figuera just down the coast. (very sheltered from the wind) Hardly anyone on it and a lovely walk down (about 10 mins).

In terms of eating out, we went somewhere different each night. kathy & Alan were so kind that they gave us a lift every night to where ever we wanted! Totally no need for them to do it, but it was fantastic... then taxi's back were easy and cheap so no problem at all. Our favourite restaurant was no.6 in Burgau.

Really really hope to go back again sometime and would advise anyone to go here (except if you are going to ruin the peace and quiet!!)

Thanks again,

Lara and Gavin (28 & 34years old from Bristol)

Room Tip: We stayed in Jasmine - a large downstairs room with huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I have recently returned from a fantastic week in the Bird of Paradise room at Paraiso Jardim. Weather was wall to wall sunshine, apartment spacious with everything you could wish for (including some essentials in the fridge which were gratefully consumed after an extremely early flight), very comfortable beds and a huge rooftop patio ideal for an early evening drink before heading out. The grounds are well kept with a lovely decent size swimming pool and loungers. The owners Kath and Alan are extremely friendly and helpful, always happy to advise on whats near by.

In the village there is an English bar, a Scottish steak and pizza restaurant called Brodies (good home made pizzas), a couple of small Portuguese cafe's, and a great popular Portuguese restaurant called O Celeiro (search for it along with Almadena and you are sure to find lots of reviews!) that isnt cheap but really worth it for a fabulous meal with great service and some entertainment (they have the largest pepper grinder you will ever see and a port glass thats the size of the FA cup!). Nearby is Burgau that has lots of restaurants and a nice small beach with a nice bay for swimming. Easy to get to many many more beaches and towns such as Sagres, Salermo, Luz, Lagos, Alvor etc.

All in all we would highly recommend staying here. A car is recommended to explore, and to drive the hour or so from the airport, but once you arrive you'll instantly feel super relaxed and ready to unwind in fabulous tranquil surroundings. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

EXCELLENT!, lovely stay, best hotel I have ever went to HOPE TO GO THERE AGAIN NEXT YEAR thank you anty chathy and uncle alan when we got there it was very late but they still came out to say hello

Room Tip: very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieranbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed in the February half term. The cottages were really clean and well equipped. In theone we stayed in there were 2 bedrooms with single beds, a bathroom with shower,a small kitchen and a living room. Kathy, Al and Simon are a really friendly family who manage the complex and will help with anything you may need. Outside the grounds are well tended and clean as is the swimming pool.
There are a number of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walking distance which serve really good food. There is also a bus which will take you to a few of the other towns. We all really enjoyed our stay and will definately go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2502jackiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is a place where you feel you have stepped back in time and into the true essence of Portugal. A secluded courtyard with central pool and rustic individual holiday homes, and that is what it has a feel of home. Gone are the sparse hotel apartments and overcrowded sites, this is a little oasis in one of the most beautiful parts of Portugal. Visited in the Summer and went again this Autumn, will be sure to visit many more times. Owners are british and simply lovely , very friendly and welcoming. Can not recommend enough!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandySouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was our first time in Portugal and it certainly won’t be our last!

We stayed in the Bird of Paradise suite and it was fantastic, lovely and private with a fantastic terrace catching the sun all day long with great views over the hills. The Paraiso Jardim site was brilliant, very clean and tidy, pool and bbq area came in very handy. There as several quaint bars and restaurants just over the road with a convenient shop in the middle of the village.
The whole area is lovely and picturesque and we had a fantastic time visiting the surrounding towns, villages and beaches.

I would give this place a big thumbs up and well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almadena
3.7 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
1.4 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#1 of 9 in Luz
630 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luz Beach Apartments
1.9 mi away
ApartHotel Vila Luz
ApartHotel Vila Luz
#3 of 71 in Lagos
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Jardim

Address: Almadena 8600-102, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Almadena
Price Range: $41 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paraiso Jardim is idyllically located in this magnificent part of the Algarve, just a stone’s throw from Luz, Lagos and the Costa Vincentina Natural Park. The region offers many major attractions including numerous golf courses and beautiful beaches. The "Quinta" is made up 5 private self contained cottage/apartments with a range of styles and bedrooms, something to suit everyone. The typical Portuguese village of Almadena is less than 5 minutes walk away and hosts 6 bars and 3 restaurants. Our Jasmine studio has been adapted for wheelchair use and we have full access to the pool for wheelchairs ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing