We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun, gorgeous animals!!”

Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Verwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park offers a balanced educational and fun day out for all ages from todlers to grandparents. Enjoy facinating daily talks and tours delivered with passion! Free Heavy Horse Wagon rides, Tractor and trailer rides and even the chance to drive a real farm tractor, plus much more including pony rides pony grooming and pet handling sessions throughout the day. Explore exhibits from days gone by freddies blacksmiths, gypsy caravans and showmens collection.Children can let off steam in the undercover go cart arena, drop slide barn or on the pedal tractors and adventure play area. Enjoy home cooked food in the cafe set amongst a backdrop of splendid scenery.Lots undercover in case the weathers not so good, Your visit helps provide a permanent home for over 25 rescued Heavy Horses.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, gorgeous animals!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you like heavy horses, this is the place to visit. Lots of beautiful horses that you can walk up to and see in their stables. Feeding time is lots of fun, as is a trip on the 'pony express' horse and carriage. The staff are very knowledgable about their animals, and there is lots to see in addition to horses (ducks, pigs, dogs, alpacas, cows, chickens, cats, miniature ponies, etc).

Lots and lots of fun for the young and old (and inbetween)!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grannywobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    109
    20
    5
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great visit!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited at the end of the season in a year characterised by heavy rain. Despite having to deal with muddy horses and paddocks that looked more like rice paddies the staff were friendly, amusing and informative. We had a great day andwould thouroughly reccommend a visit to young and old.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unmissable - A truly unique experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited on 15 October last and cannot praise this centre and its activities too highly.

From our experience we can recommend that it is especially suitable for those with a visual disability. It is not only a great day out, but you will be supporting a truly worthy cause.

Unlike many venues, there is plenty here that is ‘hands on’ and tactile and staff and volunteers have a real understanding of what makes a memorable experience if you are unable to see the horse or are limited in other ways. Their caring attitude does not stop with the horses and other animals!

Do not miss the superlative running commentary by Richard as he introduces you to the various horses, recounts their origins and later history of the breeds and the lives of the horses before and after rescue. This is told with great panache, knowledge, humour and emotion and leaves the listener feeling uplifted at the efforts the staff and volunteers are making to preserve this unique heritage. Watch, also, as the miniature Shetland pony trots behind Richard pulling a tiny wagon behind it with food for its giant stable-mates. The contrast in scale is remarkable.

There are a host of activities for all ages and to suit the requirements of individuals, families and groups, whether you want to feed the animals, groom a pony, ride in a horse-drawn wagon or drive a tractor and much more. Also, this is the cleanest stable we have ever been to and the animals of all sizes are kept in immaculate condition.

Finally, do not leave without partaking of the Dorset Cream Tea and other delicacies.

Many thanks to Richard, Paul and Julie for making this a truly memorable experience for us. We will be back next year!

Dan & Dorothy Kane
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day out”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent the day here during half term in October 2012 and we had a great time. My children (3 and 4) loved feeding the animals, the tractor ride and the horse and cart rides. It's a very relaxed, family orientated atmosphere and the staff are knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming. They really could not do more for us and it felt at times that we were being treated to a personal service. We learnt a lot too about the different horse breeds and personalities. It's quite a non-commercial approach which is a welcome relief.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniVitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lucky horses”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place five visits this year, owners and Staff doing a wonderful job those gorgeous great horses are lucky to be there
Keep up good work and dont close down my 18th month old grandaughter loves it shame this is last week as it closes for winter. Roll on next year
Teeny
Southampton

Helpful?
2 Thank teeny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park also viewed

 

Been to Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing