We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Gullfoss
from $58.47
More Info
from $82.40
More Info
from $134.00
More Info
from $79.83
More Info
Reviews (11,778)
Filter reviews
11,778 results
Traveler rating
9,066
2,397
288
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,066
2,397
288
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden circle tour niagara falls lamb soup beautiful waterfall gift shop viewing area snow and ice wrap up warm car park awe inspiring natural wonder sunny day worth the trip be careful parking lot winter power
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 11,778 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The visitor centre is on the west bank of the falls and can be very busy. Put Gullfoss in your satnav and i will take you to the east bank. A kilometer walk is needed but the path is fairly easy. We were the only people there at the time, watching the hundreds over the other side.

Views of the upper falls are much better from here, although the lower fall is probably not so good.

If you have time do both sides for the full experience.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank B6094NIianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s immense and breathtaking. The water falls to the bottom with such force that the spray will drench you (rain jackets or ponchos are suggested for ANY waterfall explorations no matter the time of year). There are several waterfalls within fairly close proximity of Reykjavik. We visited them over the course of a day and a half and didn’t feel “if you’ve seen one? then you’ve seen them all.” We had a guide book with us and marked the dates when we were at each waterfall and place. We marked it in the table of contents as well as in the book itself. It was so helpful to map out where we were and when.

Gullfoss is astonishing and magnificent and powerful. Take aaaaaalllll the pictures. I have such a longing to return.

Oh. We didn’t go with a tour group. We rented a van for our ten-day adventure and it worked so well for us.

Get over there because wow.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank sweetcreekmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another beautiful part of Iceland. From the parking lot there are plenty of photo opportunities. Beautiful spot.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Charlene351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our favorite stop on our Golden Circle tour. With the exception of Niagara Falls, this was the largest and most powerful waterfalls we have seen. During our one hour stop, the wind was blowing mist sideways, the sun was shining, and the water was roaring; it was a multi sensory experience. We walked from the middle parking lot ¼ mile down to the lower observation point just feet away from the actual water.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful, amazing, powerfull Got lots of amazing pics. Glad we had this on our list. Second week of sept so its not real crowded.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews