We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Down to basics - no electricity and no hot water and lots and lots of rain when we went but we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our guide Bartholomew was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and had strong views on many things which was interesting and challenging. We trekked in the jungle, went piranha fishing and found a baby cayman - all things we do not usually do!! Food plentiful and nutrious. An experience we will not forget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

To get to the Amazon was not very cheap and we had expected more then we got for our money. Yes we enjoyed the walks and going out on the boat but there was nothing out of the ordinary the best bit of the journey was getting to and from the lodge.
The food was rather boring and tasteless. One evening we were the only people staying at the lodge and we were ignored as the people working their enjoyed playing dominoes.
The rooms are very basic and need updating. I know some people may say that what do we expect in the Amazon but I would have liked doors that closed!
Would we do it again perhaps just for 2 nights as 3 was too long when there is so much else to see in Brazil. Perhaps other Amazon hotels/lodges are better.

Room Tip: Ensure you take a torch with you as the lighting in to get to your room is not always good. ensure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachbaby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was the highlight of my trip to Brazil - it was so relaxed and good to get away from the phone and wifi. We had the excursions into the jungle, to look for crocodiles, piranha fishing and swimming in the Amazon - our guide (Alex) was brilliant at explaining everything and was really enthusiastic.

The accommodation is basic, but i liked it - we didn't have any problems with bugs or spiders in the room. We kept the door closed at all times and remembered to shake the hammock before getting in - so didn't have any problems there either. The food was really nice, especially the fried eggs for breakfast and you can help yourself to bananas all day!

The temperature was always warm so even when it was raining it was nice to sit out and read in the hammock and watch the rain fall.

You need long trousers and sleeves and some sensible foot wear, but you don’t need any particular trekking gear.

The four days we had here were amazing, but the four days was long enough for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ok: you HAVE to see the Opera House (Teatro de Amazonas) but after you've one that and strolled down to the quayside, then book yourself onto this organisation. It is terrific value for money and the company will pick you up from your hotel, and transport you to the lodge. This is no mean feat as it enatils driving out of Manaus to a ferry port and then taking a 45 min high speed boat down the Amazon and over/across/on the meeting of the waters where the Amazon proper begins as the mighty Solimoes and Negro rivers join in a creamy capuccino. You then head off into a tributary and at some point (not clear) enter a vast lake that is actually a flooded forest: your boat weaves in and out of the canopy of the jungle: really eerie. Unlike large boats you travel close to the shore so get a really good look at the rainforest.

The welcome is genuine and warm and tehre are at least two guides whose English is impeccable and are both extremely knowledgeable and passionate at their particualr slice of rainforest ecosystem. They are never at a loss to explain, show and demonstrate some fascinating further example of how perfectly intune nature is with itself and how it adapts to human intrusion. And then there are those amazing examples of how the forest can provide for us if we only weren't so stupid and insisted on tearing it all down.

The food is fabulous. I'll say it agin: it's fabulous and more than you can eat. There'sa brilliant fusion between Old World Portuguese and New World exotica: so you'll have loads of fish, but it will be exquisite Amazonian (all delicious and with over 2000 species you can eat a differnt fish every day for 4 years!) Plus loads of sweet, juicy and exotic fruits. Mango and pineapple to die for. All the food is recognisably European but with touches of Amazonia so no need to worry that you won't like it.

The lodge is so Robinson Crusoish it's not true and so shady and cool (though the mating calls of the jungle outside at night are remarkably raucous) But then that's what the jungle is. It's all very spacious so although it has capacity for 90, there are plenty of places to go to escape the crowds. You have a delightful map room and reading rooms with a superb SAunders of teh River bar. There are no generators so it's quiet from a mechanical point of view but it does mean that lighting is kerosene, candle and torch. But hey: that's part of the allure. Remember that at 3o South of the equator it is humid and hot and there is no evening: just 12 hours of day and then a 12 hour period of darkness.

The rooms are adelight. Due to ecological considerations and especially because there is no power there is NO air conditioning. I repeat: NO A/C. This will come as a blow to Emirati and Americans. But get used to it or else stay at home. There are also no fans and no hot water. Note: water in the Tropics is tepid at best (except curiously, at dawn, surprisingly chilly) You will sweat in your beds as the excellent insect meshing everywhere cuts down on the breeze and there are no fans as I have just said. But then this is the jungle and it is billed as an ecological retreat: what do you expect? Top tip: there is something deliciously naughty about taking a cold shower when you're sweaty. So if you're a couple why not spice up those long enforced nights by taking multiple showers together. Then when you get hot again, well you can take another can't you...!

Your room has a private bathroom and you lie or sit under cosy thatch on two very comfortable beds. You do get a blanket with your bed but until you acclimatise you will be gald of a sheet or less at night. You also have a sweet verandah with hammock and chair to look out into the jungle that starts where your hut ends.

There are a number of excursions that take place from the lodge with your bi and tri lingual guides. I went on the cayman (a type of snub nosed alligator) night safari, jungle exploration and jungle trek as well as visit to a rubber tapping settlement. This is a must do and see. Manaus in themid C19th was more expensive than Paris and was the scene of extraordinary wqealth (that;s how teh magnificent Opera Hse came to be built at such vast expense> All this wealth was based on rubber. So you really ought to see how this process works. And this trip takes you from tapping to production at a low tech, human scale: no machinery at all simply skill and resourcefulness which the locals have in spades. You also get to see a variety of products taht can be made onsite from the rubber including, swell, rubbers. I kid you not there is a fear inducing phallic mould on which very large condoms are made of such thickness that they could ward off any STD you care to mention and be reused a 1000 times. It does go to show that prophylactics do come in three sizes: large (Amazonian), medium and Caucasian.

The Jungle exploration is by boat and ratty got it perfectly right when in the Wind in the Willows he decalred "There is nothing- absolutely nothing- half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats." And that';s what you do as you plough up and down the igap forests (those flooded rainforests) almost touching the boughs and trunks and then stopping for a pleasant refreshment break at a local village where you can also buy various knick knacks and the like

The jungle trek is brilliant. The dense jungle isn't as dense as you imagine when you walk it and it is so much how I imagine teh Garden of Eden must have been or that delightful sequence in the Jungle Book where Baloo demonstrates the abundance of nature in the "Bear Necessities". I'm sure there;s the cure for cancer in teh Amazon and let;'s hope we find it before the loggers destroy it. And the great thing is: you just walk out of the dining room and you're on the trail. On the way we saw those ferociuous giant ants beloved of Spielberg; two accommodating Tarantulas: one devouring its mummified mate and concubine, a massive termite mound, a resin that makes a brilliant torch adn if carefully managed could be the next answer to the world's fuel crisis and 3 Toucans. There's also piranha fishing and river swimming: but as the piranha are widely dispersed and the river is very dense I wouldn't recommend the latter. And what about those fish that swim up your urine stream?

This is a perfect escape from the world All in all you HAVE to do the Amazon river and jungle. The Amazon Village Lodge in Manaus is the palce that you MUST do it all from. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the entrance overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family. I found it an utterly relaxing experience, and so lovely to get away from phone signal, internet, electricity and other things we consider so "necessary" in today's society. There were loads of activities planned so we never got bored. When we arrived we were treated to a delicious glass of juice and given time to unpack. For some reason, perhaps because it was the low season, we were allowed to take all of our luggage with us as there weren't many of us on the boat. There was a whole range of nationalities which was nice. That night we went caiman hunting which was great fun and eventually we found a little baby caiman which we all got to hold (and I dropped, oops!). The next day was piranha fishing and a walk in the jungle, the following day was a visit to the village next door where they sell a few bits of jewellery and so on, and the afternoon was meant to be free to relax but our guide offered to take us into the jungle once more and show us survival techniques. Trousers are essential for the treks, unless you want bullet ants, tarantulas and potentially poisonous snakes up your leg. The food started to get a bit samey after 2 days but other thsn that I cannot fault it. There was always too much, it was all utterly delicious and I always looked forward to mealtimes! Our biggest expense there was water. You will get through gallons, and it isn't cheap. Perhaps invest in chlorine tablets? Although having cold water from the fridge in boiling temperatures and 90% humidity in August was lovely. Bring a swimsuit - the water is safe to swim in, and there's barely any mosquitoes in the region due to the acidity of the water, which also kills microorganisms in the water. But what really made our trip was our guide. I have never met a man as passionate snd knowledgable about his surrounding as Bartholomew. He gave us a lengthy talk before the jungle trek on the history of Brazil, spoke 5 lamguages fluently so could communicate with nearly everyone, went out of his way to ensure we were all enjoying it, put on the extra walk for us, and knew the answer to every single question we picked his brains on. He got a large and extremely well deserved tip!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gem249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

An experience of a lifetime. As remote as most people will ever be. The ride down the amazon river, seeing the parting of the waters, all to arrive at this village. No power, no hot water, just an authentic jungle experience. There's always the threat of snakes and spiders. Some people in our group had tarantulas in their rooms, and our guide showed us a parrot snake. The rooms can be lit with candles at night, most will find the darkness pretty intimidating. We left a candle burning all night.

The hammock on the porch was very relaxing. My advice would be to bring bug spray, and a flexible attitude. The humidity is such that you are never truly dry. Your bath towel and clothes won't dry and you will sweat 24/7 while here. The cold d rinks in the bar area are a very welcome refreshing treat!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The highlight of our holiday in Brazil. We knew there was virtually no electricity so took wind up torches. The cold water was not a problem, refreshing in the humidity. The lodges are basic but very comfortable with a super hammock on each veranda. We were well fed during our 4 days and each trip was all that was expected and more. A very positive experience.

Room Tip: We had a room right at the jetty and it was a great position to watch the comings and goings of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bannlagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#5 of 44 in Manaus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Go Inn Manaus
#11 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Caesar Business Manaus
#4 of 44 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juma Amazon Lodge
#1 of 10 in Autazes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 12 in Careiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Village Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Village Jungle Lodge

Property: Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Address: Lago do Puraquequara | Igarapé do Rabicho -Zona Rural, State of Amazonas 69000-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amazon Village Jungle Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazon jungle lodge. The Authentic jungle lodge located in the heart of the tropical rainforest of Brazil. The most exciting and wonderful tours in the Amazon rainforest. We offer complete two, three and four-days overnight packages with guided tours and excursions, including full board & lodging, and transportation since Manaus. Lots of activities and nature tours, according to package choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amazon Village Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Village Jungle Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing