We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle for Softies?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I would echo the other reviews, in that the boat tours and jungle treks were great. Alex, our guide, was knowledgeable, witty and helpful. The village is almost exactly what we had expected, with the room basic but adequate (no creepy-crawlies managed to get in) and the buffet meals were pretty good. However, this is rain forest and doesn't it just rain, every day, and for varying lengths of time. We were soaked to the skin for most of the time and there is no drying/laundry service and, in 100% humidity, there is no point in using a washing line! And you have only taken a small weight of luggage with you - so very few extra clothes. The 12v lighting seemed to fail quickly each night so visitors must take a torch, perhaps a head torch would be a good idea, and a cigarette lighter (because the matches soon get wet and don't work) is a must to light the hotel-issue candles.
The wildlife is exciting and varied - it even comes to see you, in that there was a large tarantula living in the restaurant cactus!
On balance we were ready to leave after 2 nights and the third day was uncomfortable and we were counting down to our release back to Manaus and to our luggage with clean clothes!
Take, and use, lots of Deet. You should also consider having a yellow fever jab and a daily malarone pill against malaria.

Room Tip: Hope to get a hut with a number of 9 or higher - numbers 1-8 are right down by the waterside.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lundydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

Four girlfriends and I visited around Earth Day 2010 - what a trip! Piranha fishing, jungle treks, flooded forest boat tours, caiman, bullet ants, and spiders, oh my. The food was great, the tours were exciting, and the "rooms" were decent, and good enough to keep us dry and safe (well, with the exception of the venomous spider I found on the window my last morning). If you want a real jungle experience, this place delivers!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TaraLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

It is necessary to leave all but 5kgs of your luggage in Manaus so make sure you don't forget the mosquito repellent !
It is a wonderful two hour boat trip from Manaus to get to the Amazon Village. We were greeted on arrival with glasses of Guava juice and supplied with our room key and a box of matches! The matches are for the candles in the room which are necessary to supplement the very dim battery lighting. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we did not have to share a bathroom - all rooms do have their own bathroom contrary to what is written on the website. The rooms are basic with single beds and the shower is cold.
There is a restaurant and a bar in the main building and breakfast, lunch and dinner are provided buffet style for the guests. A bell rings when the food is ready. The food was fine considering it is being served in the middle of the jungle!
A two night stay is really enough here to do all the available excursions on the river and there is really nothing to do in the evenings except sit in the bar - it was difficult even to read because of the low lighting.

Room Tip: Bring a torch!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maryuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

When we landed in Manaus, we were happy to be greeted by Rudolpho who timely picked us up at the airport. He accompanied us on the hour boat journey to the Amazon Village Lodge where we had a 3 night stay. Our Lodge had a thatched roof with a hammock hanging in the front porch. The accomodations were clean and adequate. The entire staff was friendly and attentive. The food however, was the most impressive of our stay. For every breakfast, lunch and dinner there were many different varieties of fresh baking, local fruits and meat. The food was absolutely excellent at every meal and a definite highlight. Alex was our guide who took us on intruiging daily excursions. Alex took us on an ecological boat tour, a hike in the jungle and caiman spotting. We were also lucky enough to visit a few local homesteads near the Lodge. We spent many entertaining evenings in the lobby of the Lodge conversing with other Lodgers visiting from different parts of the world, sipping Caipirinhna and singing to a guitar-playing Rudolpho's rendition of 'No Woman No Cry.' Good times.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0ni0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amazon Village Jungle Lodge for 3 days and 2 nights and we loved it! Our guide Rudolpho was fantastic and we were the only English speaking group there at the time so it was like we were on a private tour. The buffet meals were delicious and the staff was incredibly friendly and accomodating. Our little jungle lodge was so cute with a thatched roof and hammock on the front porch, just the right amount of comfort and conveniance while still being rustic. We saw Tucans, pink dolphins, tarantulas, a sloth, and went pirahna fishing and caiman spotting as well. We had a ton of fun and also felt very relaxed. The only down side was that it was not very far from Manaus and there was definately still a lot of civilization within a close distance but still a lot of nature as well. Overall our experience was fantastic and I would definately recommend it, especially for your first time to the Amazon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

As others have stated this lodge is a 2-3 hour boat ride from Manaus. First you travel by fast boat down the Rio Negro down to the main Amazon itself. Here you find the 'meeting of the waters' where the two rivers, one clear, one brown flow together without mixing. The fast boat then travels up a backwater where you transfer to a smaller boat for the last thirty minutes or so. As it was the dry season (December) there was then a 10 minute walk from the jetty to the lodge itself.

We were on a two night/three day package which we both felt was about right. One night would certainly have been too little but we were somewhat 'jungled out' after the two and were glad to get back to town with our onward flight to the north coast and the beach beckoning.

The lodges themselves are spread out along paths from the central area. They are pretty basic but clean and comfortable. There is no electricity in them, lighting is battery operated. The shower and toilet are in a small area. My only criticism is that the wall with the adjacent lodge is paper thin. You can hear everything going on next door and vice versa.

In the central area are a restaurant, reception/lounge are and a small bar. Food comes via a buffet and is good quality given the difficulty of the location. Drinks at the bar cost a little more than in Manaus itself but again given the location the prices are not unreasonable. A can of beer cost R$5.

They keep you quite busy with boat trips and walks, you can of course opt out of these. Personally I found our jungle trek, although interesting, a bit tame. It was in an area adjacent to the lodge, there was thus lots of evidence of human activity. We could also at times see or hear another group which was being brought in a reverse loop to ours. Amongst other things, our guide teased a huge tarantula from under a tree for us to see. This was fascinating the first time, the novelty wore off somewhat by the third.

On our last 'reconnaissance' tour, amongst other things, we were brought to the neighbouring village. It was connected to the highway by a dirt road and had a mains electricity supply. Many of those who worked in the hotel lived here. This actually turned out to be only a short walk, probably 500m or so, from the hotel itself. The previous feeling of remoteness proved to be false.

Would I recommend this place to others? Yes, it represents decent value and is a reasonable introduction to the jungle. Would I stay here again? No, I've ticked that box and, not having any special interest in the rain forest, feel no great urge to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianc_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I LOVED THIS PLACE!

Our guide was Alex. He is knowledgeable and so friendly and we had a great laugh with him. We always talk about him when describing our holiday. When i return, i will request Alex.

You are picked up and taken to the port (alex picked out things to show us on the way to the port). You travel down river to tne meeting of the waters, alex explained it all to us.We also saw some pink amazon river dolpins.

I'm sure it was 2/3 hours on the boat until we got to the jungle lodge. We were welcomed with drinks and big smiles.

Our room was basic. 2 beds, clean, hammock for lying in outside - alex kept giving us a row for leaving our door open and letting bugs in!!..which didn't happen. There were not many about.

The food for the middle of the amazon was great! There was a good choice, it was warm and lots of it. Alex always sat with us and ate.

At night there was a little bar, where we all sat and had a few drinks. The staff and guests sang along - it was really nice.

The trips that we were taken on were great. Pirhana fishing, night time caiman hunting, visiting local villages, local families - they sell some really cool stuff (blowpipes etc).

The staff were great, friendly and informative. The little lodge was great.

If you are planning on staying in the Amazon, stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 46 in Manaus
109 reviews
Juma Amazon Lodge
#1 of 10 in Autazes
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amazon Tupana Lodge
#3 of 228 in Amazon River
256 reviews
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 15 in Careiro
89 reviews
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
#4 of 15 in Careiro
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Village Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Village Jungle Lodge

Address: Lago do Puraquequara | Igarapé do Rabicho -Zona Rural, State of Amazonas 69000-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range: $333 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amazon Village Jungle Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazon jungle lodge. The Authentic jungle lodge located in the heart of the tropical rainforest of Brazil. The most exciting and wonderful tours in the Amazon rainforest. We offer complete two, three and four-days overnight packages with guided tours and excursions, including full board & lodging, and transportation since Manaus. Lots of activities and nature tours, according to package choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amazon Village Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Village Jungle Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing