We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience but don't go for wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tariri Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A wonderful family run lodge on a quiet part of the Rio Negro. It feels like you are further into the jungle than you actually are then you realise that there aren't many birds or monkeys around suggesting the presence of humans around. Comparisons with the Pantanal are unfair but there was far more wildlife when we went to the Rio Napa in Ecuador. Treat this as an Amazon experience rather than a wildlife experience and you will have a great time. The excursions are varied and interesting and you will have plenty of time for lying around in hammocks. I did find it a little odd that when going on jungle hikes the lodge's 2 dogs ran on ahead no doubt scaring anything off that happened to be around. The remains of an armadillo suggested that a jaguar or other big cat had been in the vicinity so more stealth and patience was probably required. That said we did see sloths, caiman, squirrel monkeys, the occasional osprey and some egrets and herons. The hospitality was first class and the food was fabulous - the best I ate in Brazil. However if you don't like fish you will have a problem as choices are limited and fish is abundant. Watch out for the Yellow and blue macaw and the two parrots that try to pinch your breakfast! The huts are clean but basic but that all adds to the amazon authenticity. No mosquitos!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The warmest reception we have received in Brazil! The lodge is a family business and is the vision of hosts Fabiola and Germano. It is set amongst the banks of the river in complete peace and tranquility. The lodgings are wooden huts on stilts with fully functioning bathrooms, showers and comfortable beds.

The food is served three times daily and is amongst the best we had while in Brazil, all lovingly hand made by Fabiola and her team.

Activities arranged by the exceptional tour guides include piranha fishing, a jungle walk, caiman spotting at night, a visit to a local village and many trips along the river in motorised canoe boats. And there is plenty of time to relax on a hammock and take in the views!

Admin was great and very efficiently dealt with by Mabel, Fabiola's sister. We were picked up at our hotel in Manaus and taken by car and boat to Tariri.

On the way back Mario the driver and guide even arranged for us to see the meeting of the waters which is about 20 minutes by boat from the port in Manaus.

Overall the level of service was excellent, everyone went out of there way to make it an unforgettable experience. We would recommend Tariri to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were here for our honeymoon and had an incredible time. I'm sure there are more "authentic" ways to take in the Amazon, but for those with no experience of the place will find it a good gateway to richer adventures in the region. What you get is extremely fulfilling. Germano and Fabiola make a great wife-husband team, the tours being very helpful and well-organized and the meals delicious. It's a place to just take in the whole Amazonian setting while perhaps not straying too much out of your comfort zone. The first few days you'll just be laying on a hammock in awe of where you are. It's that impressive.

Yes, some things like the dolphin tours and Facebook-photo-fodder alligator tours are touristy and perhaps not very respectful of nature, but we enjoyed them and I suppose if you want businesses to thrive in the area there's a balance to be struck. Our presence alone is intrusive, after all, and I don't know what sort of illusions we can have about travelling thousands of kilometers somewhere and thinking we're not affecting anything. I didn't get the impression of having left the place in a worse state than I found it, it was a rich and fulfilling experience.

A stay in the Amazon (especially if you've never been there before) is, for a lack of a better term, life-changing. And I can't recommend Tariri Lodge enough. Germano and Fabiola, thank you so much, hope you enjoyed the Swiss chocolates. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Tariri was exactly what we needed - beautiful surroundings, plentiful, delicious food, relaxed, varied, and interesting activities, no phone, internet, television...Reminded me so much of Maine lake lodges where I vacationed as a child, even down to the dinner bell, just reinterpreted for the Amazon. Germano and Fabiola have done an incredible job creating the Tariri experience, especially considering the challenges of living where they do. We learned so much about life on the river, life in the forest. We hiked the forest, learned about survival, canoed the igapós, saw sloths, monkeys, caimans, and toucans, fished for piranhas, talked to farinha makers and boat builders, ate tambaqui, tucunaré, and pirarucu, tasted ingá and cupuaçu, and thoroughly enjoyed sitting after dinner with Fabiola and Germano and hearing about their journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our adult family of five recently had wonderful stay at Tariri. We were all impressed with the lodge, activities, food and our hosts. As genuine an experience you can achieve staying in the Amazon. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Tariri lodge is clean and peaceful, though I wish it were a little more remote. The first night I was looking forward to sleeping to the sound of jungle noises, but instead I had to hear the music from a party across the lake. Fortunately it ended early, and later that night I swear I heard a jaguar roar. The rest of the nights were peaceful, though I preferred it before the big group with children came on my last night there.

When I made the reservation via email, I was assured that it would be no problem to accommodate my vegan diet because they would customize meals for me. I don't think they had been informed of this at the lodge, however, though it wasn't generally a problem except for one night (my last), when a big group had arrived. That night all that was available to me was rice and slice of avocado. The other days I ate well at lunch and dinner, lots of couscous and veggies and cassava things, only fruit for dessert - no goodies specially prepared. Breakfast was always just fruit and bread since all of the special items were made with dairy. What I did have, however, was always really delicious, local, and varied. I'm sure if you're not a vegan you will be even more satisfied with the food.

I spent a lot of time resting and reading in a hammock. I was delighted that there are no mosquitoes! I didn't get one bite and I even stopped using repellent. Oddly, there is a lack of big scary bugs there. I guess they don't like the black water.

The other guests went off on the optional "Dolphin interaction" tour for an extra cost. This is a bad idea. Dolphins can contract diseases from humans. More and more scientists are learning about this: Just recently a huge group of bottle nose dolphins died of measles, washed up dead on shore in New Jersey.The population of pink river dolphins in the Amazon is declining rapidly due to pollution and the expansion of urban areas into their territories. Close human contact like this is exploitative and dangerous for the dolphins! Furthermore, it's unnecessary. You will see dolphins!! I saw them jump out of the water and one flipped happily on his side beneath the setting sun! There is joy in just watching them. I wish this lodge, like all the others I'm sure, wouldn't perpetrate this kind of activity. It is not a good idea to feed or touch them. Please think twice before supporting such a practice.

This disrespect of nature was also apparent on the "cayman spotting" trip at nightfall. One of the guides jumped in the water to grab a small cayman which he proceeded to manhandle for the next ten minutes while Germano pointed out her physical features - her toes, skin etc... thereby causing great distress to the animal. At one point several people in the boat shrieked because it looked like Germano was going to twist her neck. When they finally returned her to the water on a life vest, she was in shock and wouldn't move. Someone had to throw something on top of her to get her to take off. This disturbed me. Seemed a little odd since somewhere in my communication with the lodge, it was communicated that they "Respect the laws of nature."

Depending on who's there and how long you stay, you're likely to spend lots of time reading in a hammock. For this reason especially, the lodge's lack of reading material was surprising. I would've appreciated a few books about the local flora and fauna. I wish I could've spent some of my free time learning to identify the local birds, but they don't even have binoculars there.

Don't mean to be too negative. All in all I was pleased with my stay, especially since I really wanted to just get away from the States to someplace where there is no internet. I was forced to rest and that is what I did. In addition, I got to see two monkey species, a sloth, an agouti and signs of a jaguar. I learned to row in the lake, and I learned that I love that black water. It's so mysterious and like a mirror.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Going into the Amazon has been a dream since I was young, and the Tariri Lodge was the perfect setting. The lodge itself is comfortable and clean, but it's Germano and Fabiola that make this place what it is.
Germano tailored the trips for what we wanted and even took us to this beautiful white sand beach where we slept overnight in hammocks and cooked fresh fish on a fire watching the sun set.
Fabiola's food was delicious, and if she doesn't put them out for dessert ask about her home made truffles! So good!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
74.4 mi away
Amazon Tupana Lodge
Amazon Tupana Lodge
#3 of 230 in Amazon River
259 reviews
22.0 mi away
Amazon Jungle Palace
Amazon Jungle Palace
#3 of 191 in Manaus
182 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arawak Jungle Hostel
Arawak Jungle Hostel
#5 of 19 in Iranduba
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#14 of 230 in Amazon River
67 reviews
9.6 mi away
Amazonia Jungle Hotel
Amazonia Jungle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Iranduba
58 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cirandeira Bela
Cirandeira Bela
#1 of 35 in Manacapuru
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tariri Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tariri Amazon Lodge

Address: Lago de Acajatuba | Iranduba, State of Amazonas 69450-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range: $410 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tariri Amazon Lodge, is an ecological hotel of unique architecture, a singular mix of typical regional buildings. The structure is composed by 8 independent huts - up to 20 people in total - with double and triple rooms, offering comfort, privacy and, above all, comfort.Our cuisine offers a varied range of diverse Amazon flavors. Our food is cultivated and grow by ourselves, like the fruits used on juices, vegetables, fish and birds, ensuring the quality and authenticity of our cuisine.Your stay will take place in family environment, where we can share, with exclusivity, the wealth of the place and the perfect knowledge of the region. We will grant your trip an international level of service, welfare and quality that is the motto of our family.The big goal and determination of our project is strongly linked to education, learning and discovery. Unique and intense experiences, considering your short stay in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tariri Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tariri Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing